Excellent framework conditions and development opportunities at Münster University of Applied Sciences

Career Coaching at Münster University of Applied Sciences

Münster University of Applied Sciences is working continuously to develop the conditions under which its faculty and staff work and conduct research. In autumn 2015, we received the HR Excellence in Research award for our endeavours, making us one of the first higher education institutions in Germany to gain such an award.
In February 2018, we received the best assessment possible from the European Commission, on the basis of an interim evaluation carried out in autumn 2017 (German press release).
This documents the fact that our university subscribes to the principles set out in the "European Charter for Researchers" and the "Code of Conduct for the Recruitment of Researchers". Consequently, we offer researchers a good framework for research projects, fair recruitment procedures, a stimulating working environment and attractive PATHS TO SUCCESS.

HR Strategy for Researchers

Our HR Strategy for Researchers covers four areas of development. Several themes and principles are assigned to each area. In this respect, we are always on the look-out for possibilities for improvement, and undergo continuous development as a university. The individual areas of development:

  1. Ethical and professional aspects
  2. Recruitment and selection
  3. Working conditions and social security
  4. Training and development

In each field of action, measures are regularly defined, implemented and evaluated.

Actions of implementation and examples of success

Spring/Summer 2018: Securing knowledge when staff changes

  • The leaving and changing of employees is a particular challenge for teams and work areas. Often there is also the threat of a loss of important empirical knowledge. In order to further promote the proactive and systematic handling of knowledge at our university, a work aid was published. Individual consultations and workshops  are also offered.

Spring/Summer 2018: New coaching programs

  • The overarching goal of four new coaching offers for different groups of scientists at our university is to successfully and enthusiastically shape most challenges as well as one's own career path.

February 2018: Best assessment by the European Commission

  • In autumn 2017, we conducted a self-evaluation to critically reflect on the extent to which we have implemented the measures associated with the HRS4R. In February 2018, we received the best assessment (German press release) from the European Commission. We are very pleased about this.

December 2017: Exchange of experience between young professors

  • The trainee professorship is an important funding programme on the way to a FH professorship. In December 2017, we met for the first time with our junior professors in a quality circle in order to jointly reflect on challenges, opportunities and offers of support. 

October 2017: Adoption of an HR strategy

  • The further improvement of our working and general conditions for researchers is our central concern. We have summarised key points for the period 2017-2020 in an HR strategy (download below).

October 2017: New offer: Successful doctoral studies

  • Doctoral candidates need good self-management, must be able to deal with stress situations and face up to problems. HR development manager Dr. Marc Lindart is now offering help (internal link). He advises doctoral candidates in conflict situations, for example, and supports them in developing and restoring a good working basis.

July 2017: Adoption of a recruitment policy

  • A high level of professionalism in selection procedures is important to us. We follow standards that we have summarized in a guideline (download below).

Summer 2017: Internal Review

  • As part of the internal review, we critically reflected on the implementation of the measures in the various fields of action. The results are highly positive (in the download area as part of the HR strategy).

May 2017: New offer: Career advice for researchers

  • In order to further improve the career opportunities for academic employees at our university, there is now an offer for career coaching (internal link).

January 2017: A-Z brochure for new research assistants

  • To make the start at our university as pleasant as possible for new scientists, we have developed an information brochure. In this section you will find answers to questions that new employees often ask themselves at the start of their careers.




Um unsere Webseite für Sie optimal zu gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Weitere Informationen und die Möglichkeit zum Widerruf finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.
Seite drucken

Ausgezeichnete Rahmenbedingungen und Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten an der FH Münster

Karriercoaching an der FH Münster (Foto: R. Emmerich)

Die FH Münster arbeitet kontinuierlich an der Weiterentwicklung ihrer Forschungs- und Arbeitsbedingungen. Im Herbst 2015 haben wir hierfür als eine der ersten deutschen Hochschulen die Auszeichnung HR Excellence in Research erhalten.
Im Februar 2018 haben wir auf Basis einer im Herbst 2017 durchgeführten Zwischenevaluation von der Europäischen Kommission die Bestbewertung erhalten (Pressemitteilung).
Das dokumentiert, dass sich unsere Hochschule zu den Prinzipien der "Europäischen Charta für Forscher" und des "Verhaltenskodex für die Einstellung von Forschern" bekennt. Wir bieten Forschenden damit einen guten Rahmen für Forschungsprojekte, faire Rekrutierungsverfahren, ein anregendes Arbeitsumfeld sowie attraktive ERFOLGSWEGE.

HR-Strategie für den Bereich Forschung

Unsere HR-Strategie für den Bereich Forschung umfasst vier Entwicklungsfelder. Jedem Feld sind mehrere Themen und Prinzipien zugeordnet. Dabei suchen wir stetig nach Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten und entwickeln uns als Hochschule kontinuierlich weiter. Die Entwicklungsfelder im Einzelnen:

  1. Grundsätze und ethische Prinzipien
  2. Rekrutierung und Auswahl
  3. Arbeitsbedingungen und soziale Sicherheit
  4. Training und berufliche Weiterentwicklung

In jedem Handlungsfeld werden regelmäßig Maßnahmen definiert, implementiert und evaluiert.

Umsetzungsmaßnahmen und Erfolgsbeispiele

Frühjahr/Sommer 2018: Wissen sichern bei Personalwecheln

  • Austritte und Wechsel von Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern stellen Teams und Arbeitsbereiche vor besondere Herausforderungen. Nicht selten droht dabei auch ein Verlust von wichtigem Erfahrungswissen. Um den proaktiven und systematischen Umgang mit Wissen an unserer Hochschule weiter zu fördern, wurde eine Arbeitshilfe veröffentlicht. Zudem werden individuelle Beratungen und Workshops angeboten.

Frühjahr/Sommer 2018: Neue Coachingprogramme

  • Herausforderungen meisten sowie den eigenen Berufsweg erfolgreich und mit Freude gestalten - das ist das übergreifende Ziel von vier neuen Coachingangeboten für unterschiedliche Gruppen von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern unserer Hochschule.

Februar 2018: Bestbewertung durch die Europäische Kommission

  • Im Herbst 2017 haben wir eine Selbstevaluation durchgeführt, um kritisch zu reflektieren, inwieweit wir die mit dem HRS4R verbundenen Maßnahmen umgesetzt haben. Im Februar 2018 haben wir dafür von der Europäischen Kommission die Bestbewertung erhalten. Darüber freuen wir uns sehr.

Dezember 2017: Erfahrungsaustausch Nachwuchsprofessur

  • Die Nachwuchsprofessur ist ein wichtiges Förderprogramm auf dem Weg zur FH-Professur. Im Dezember 2017 haben wir uns erstmalig mit unseren Nachwuchsprofessorinnen zu einem Qualitätszirkel getroffen, um gemeinsam Herausforderungen, Möglichkeiten und Unterstützungsangebote zu reflektieren. 

Oktober 2017:Verabschiedung einer HR-Strategie

  • Die weitere Verbesserung unserer Arbeits- und Rahmenbedingungen für Forschende ist unser zentrales Anliegen. Wichtige Eckpunkte für den Zeitraum 2017-2020 haben wir in einer HR-Strategie zusammengefasst (unten als Download).

Oktober 2017: Neues Angebot: Erfolgreich Promovieren

  • Wer promoviert, braucht ein gutes Zeit- und Selbstmanagement, muss mit Stresssituationen umgehen und sich Problemen stellen können. Hilfe dabei bietet ab sofort Personalentwickler Dr. Marc Lindart. Er berät Promovierende z. B. in Konfliktsituationen und unterstützt sie bei der Entwicklung und Wiederherstellung einer guten Arbeitsbasis.

Juli 2017: Verabschiedung einer Rekrutierungsrichtlinie

  • Ein hohe Professionalität in Auswahlverfahren ist uns wichtig. Dabei orientieren wir uns an Standards, die wir in einer Richtlinie zusammengefasst haben (unten als Download).

Sommer 2017: Internes Review

  • Im Rahmen des internen Reviews haben wir die Umsetzung der Maßnahmen in den unterschiedlichen Handlungsfeldern kritisch reflektiert. Die Ergebnisse sind überaus positiv (im Downloadbereich als Teil der HR-Strategie).

Mai 2017: Neues Angebot: Karriereberatung für Wissenschaftler

  • Um die Karrieremöglichkeiten für wissenschaftlich Beschäftigte unserer Hochschule noch weiter zu verbessern, gibt es ab sofort ein Angebot zur Karriereberatung.

Januar 2017: A-Z-Broschüre für neue wissenschaftliche Mitarbeitende

  • Um neuen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern den Start an unserer Hochschule so angenehm wie möglich gestalten, haben wir eine Informationsbroschüre entwickelt. In dieser finden Sie Antworten auf Fragen, die sich neue Beschäftigten gerade zu Beginn ihrer Tätigkeit oft stellen.


Um unsere Webseite für Sie optimal zu gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Weitere Informationen und die Möglichkeit zum Widerruf finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.
Seite drucken