Logo der FH-Münster
Einrichtungs-Logo
Einrichtungs-Logo
DE

Job prospects

Job prospects for young engineers are very good. Each year, there are currently twice as many vacancies for physicists and physics engineers as graduates. One of the reasons for this imbalance is the age structure.

Engineering Physics graduates' extensive knowledge and technological skills stand them in good stead. They are quick to grasp new tasks, and have the ability to drive forward innovative developments.

Besides vacancy notices calling explicitly for physicists, you will often read job adverts along the lines of "We are looking for an Electrical Engineering or Engineering Physics graduate to undertake research and development ..." or "We are looking for a Mechanical Engineering or Engineering Physics graduate ...". As a physics engineer, you will be a flexible all-rounder, highly sought after by employers in the following sectors:

  • The automotive industry
  • Communications & telecommunications, and computer technology
  • Laser technology, optoelectronics and the optical industry
  • Environmental engineering, environmental agencies and testing agencies
  • Clinics and hospitals
  • Biotechnology and medical technology sectors
  • Research institutions and higher education institutions
  • Public sector

Or you may decide to become self-employed. In this case, we will provide support in the form of coaching. Our students find it particularly useful to have the opportunity to establish contacts with attractive companies throughout Europe and the rest of the world while still at university, above all during the practical stage and the Bachelor's thesis. It therefore comes as no surprise that many students already have a job waiting for them upon graduation.

sp_imageText

What are our graduates doing today?

Dr. Hagen Zimer, Director of Technology Development at TRUMPF Laser GmbH

Dr. Hagen Zimer is responsible for the research and development of high-power diode lasers at TRUMPF Laser GmbH. His degree in Engineering Physics, specialising in Laser Engineering, laid the foundation for his professional success. He completed his degree programme in 1997, after writing a Diplom thesis on diode-pumped disk lasers.

Following a 1.5-year stint abroad, he returned to our department in 1999 to embark on doctoral studies under Professor Wittrock in the Photonics Laboratory. Once he had earned his doctorate in 2005, he started working as a laser developer and project manager in the R&D department of TRUMPF Lasermarking Systems AG in Grüsch, Switzerland. After working for other companies for a few years, he returned to TRUMPF Laser GmbH in 2013, where he was responsible for the research and development of innovative high-power diode lasers in Schramberg. He has been Director of Research and Development for TRUMPF's diode lasers in Princeton, NJ, USA since 2016, and was appointed Chief Executive Officer there in March 2018.

Nora Oellers, graduate of the Master's degree programme in Biomedical Engineering

Nora Oellers is a graduate of the Master's degree programme in Biomedical Engineering. Before embarking on the Master's programme, the qualified nurse earned a Bachelor's degree in Biology from the University of Münster. She chose our Master's programme because she wanted to pursue a practice-based degree. "I was really interested in taking the Master's degree programme in Biomedical Engineering because I had a free choice of modules and the opportunity to study abroad," she explained.

The Master's thesis that Nora Oellers wrote was the ideal preparation for starting her career as a Research & Marketing Assistant at 3D Biomatrix in Ann Abor, Michigan, where she was first engaged in research and development, and then moved to marketing. One year later, she joined Medicago in Durham, North Carolina, where she worked as an Analytical Development Specialist in plant vaccine production.

 

Charlotte Franke, Deputy Head of the Technology and Innovation Department of VEKA AG

Charlotte Franke is the Deputy Head of the Technology and Innovation Department of VEKA AG in Sendenhorst. Before taking on this position, she completed the Bachelor's degree programme in Engineering Physics at Münster University of Applied Sciences. While studying Engineering Physics, Franke realised that she wanted more than a pure engineering degree, so she decided to pursue the Bachelor's degree programme in Industrial Engineering - Engineering Physics at the same time.

Charlotte Franke started her career at VEKA AG in 2012 during her practical stage in product management, before graduating.

As Deputy Head of the Technology and Innovation Department, she is happy to offer students the opportunity to complete their practical stage or a dissertation at VEKA AG.

Um unsere Webseite für Sie optimal zu gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Weitere Informationen und die Möglichkeit zum Widerruf finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.
Seite drucken

Logo der FH-Münster
Einrichtungs-Logo
Einrichtungs-Logo
EN

Berufschancen

Die Berufschancen für junge Ingenieure und Ingenieurinnen sind sehr günstig. Auch aufgrund der Alters­struk­tur gibt es derzeit jährlich doppelt so viele freie Stellen für Physiker und Physik-Ingenieure wie Absolventen.
Inge­ni­eure des Physikingenieurwesen profitieren von ihren umfassenden Kennt­nissen und technolo­gischen Fertig­keiten. Sie können sich schnell in neue Arbeitsfelder hineindenken und innovative Entwicklungen vorantreiben.

Neben den expliziten Stellenaus­schreibungen für Physiker gibt es häufig Aus­schrei­bungen, wie etwa "Gesucht wird für Forschung und Entwicklung ein Absolvent der E-Technik oder der Physika­lischen Technik ..." oder "Gesucht wird ein Absolvent des Maschi­nenbauwesens oder des Physikingenieurwesens ..." Als Physik-Ingenieur sind Sie flexibel und werden als "Allrounder" von Arbeitgebern der folgenden Branchen gesucht:

  • Automobilindustrie
  • Kommunikation u. Nachrichtentechnik, Computertechnologie
  • Lasertechnik, Optische Industrie, Optoelektronik
  • Umwelttechnik, Umweltämter, Prüfämter
  • Kliniken und Krankenhäuser
  • Bio- und Medizintechnische Branche
  • Forschungseinrichtungen und Hochschulen
  • Öffentlicher Dienst

Ebenso können Sie sich selbständig machen, wobei wir Sie in Coaching Programmen begleiten.  Ex­trem vorteilhaft für unsere Studierenden ist die Möglich­keit schon während des Studiums, vor allem während der Praxisphase und Bachelorarbeit, Kontakte zu attraktiven Unternehmen europa- und weltweit aufzubauen. Deshalb erfolgt oft die Unter­zeich­nung des ersten Arbeitsvertrages zeitgleich mit dem Abschluss des Studiums.

sp_imageText

Was machen unsere Absolventen heute?

Dr. Hagen Zimer, Director of Technology Development bei TRUMPF Laser GmbH

Dr. Hagen Zimer leitet die Forschung und Entwicklung von Hochleistungsdiodenlasern bei der TRUMPF Laser GmbH. Den Grundstein für seinen beruflichen Erfolg legte er mit dem Studiengang Physikalische Technik mit der Studienrichtung Lasertechnik. Seine Diplomarbeit zum Thema "Diodengepumpte Scheibenlaser" fertigte er 1997 an und schloss damit sein Studium ab.
Nach 1,5 Jahren im Ausland kehrte er 1999 an unseren Fachbereich zurück um bei Prof. Wittrock im Labor für Photonik zu promovieren. Als er 2005 seine Promotion abschloss nahm er eine Stelle als Laserentwickler und Projektleiter in der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsabteilung bei der TRUMPF Lasermarking Systems AG in Grüsch, Schweiz, an. Nachdem er einige Jahre in anderen Firmen tätig war kehrte er im Jahr 2013 zur TRUMPF Laser GmbH zurück und verantwortete dort die Forschung und Entwicklung neuartiger Hochleistungsdiodenlaser in Schramberg. Seit 2016 leitet er in Princeton, NJ, USA die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsabteilung von TRUMPF für die Diodenlaser und hat im März 2018 dort die geschäftsführende Verantwortung (CEO) übernommen.

 

Nora Oellers, Absolventin Masterstudiengang Biomedizinische Technik

Nora Oellers ist Absolventin des Masterstudiengangs Biomedizinische Technik. Zuvor hat die gelernte Gesundheits- und Krankenpflegerin einen Bachelorabschluss in Biologie an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität erlangt. Da sie ein praxisorientiertes Studium einschlagen wollte entschied sie sich für unseren Masterstudiengang. "Der Masterstudiengang Biomedizinische Technik war für mich sehr reizvoll, da ich meine Fächer individuell zusammenstellen konnte und die Chance auf einen Auslandsaufenthalt hatte.", sagt sie.
Die Masterthesis bereitete Frau Oellers auf ihren Berufseinstieg als Research & Marketing Assistant bei 3D Biomatrix in Ann Abor, Michigan, vor, wo sie zunächst in Research and Development und dann im Marketing tätig war. Nach einem Jahr wechselte sie zu Medicago in Durham, North Carolina, wo sie sich als Analytical Development Specialist mit der Impfstoffherstellung in Pflanzen beschäftigte.


Charlotte Franke, stellvertretende Leiterin der Abteilung Technologie und Innovation bei der VEKA AG


Charlotte Franke arbeitet als stellvertretende Leiterin der Abteilung Technologie und Innovation bei der VEKA AG in Sendenhorst. Zuvor studierte sie an der Fachhochschule Münster im Bachelorstudiengang Physikalische Technik. Bereits während ihres Studiums wurde Franke bewusst, dass ihr ein rein technisches Studium nicht reichen würde und entschloss sich, parallel den Bachelorstudiengang Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen Physikalische Technologien zu absolvieren.

Ihren beruflichen Einstieg bei der VEKA AG schaffte Franke 2012 bereits während ihrer Praxisphase im Produktmanagement noch vor Abschluss ihres Studiums.
Heute ist sie stellvertretende Leitung der Abteilung Technologie und Innovation und bietet Studierenden gerne die Chance ihre Praxisphase oder Abschlussarbeiten bei der VEKA AG zu absolvieren.

Um unsere Webseite für Sie optimal zu gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Weitere Informationen und die Möglichkeit zum Widerruf finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.
Seite drucken