Electrical Engineering (dual degree course) (Bachelor)

Brief overview

DegreeBachelor of Science (B. Sc.)
DepartmentDepartment of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
SiteSteinfurt
Special type of studydual study, including apprenticeship
IntakeWinter semester
Standard period of study8 semesters
Semester fee€ 264,94 / semester
Tuition feeno longer applicable since winter semester 2011/2012

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions No local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementNo
Additional entrance requirements

To be accepted on this Bachelor programme, you will need to have an apprenticeship position as an:

  • Electronics Technician for Industrial Systems
  • Electronics Technician for Devices and Systems

If your chosen apprenticeship trade is not included in this list, please contact us. We will check whether you can be admitted to the dual study programme nonetheless.

First of all, apply with a company that offers an apprenticeship position in combination with a dual study programme. You will find a current list of companies on our website. As soon as you have signed the apprenticeship contract, we will reserve a place for you at Münster University of Applied Sciences. For more detailed information, please consult our departmental website.

ApplicationThe closing date for applications
is on 30.09.2017.

Apply online (in German)

Detailed description of the degree programme

How are mobile phones produced? Can I operate a robot remotely via the internet? How does a wind turbine work, and what will tomorrow’s energy grids look like? In our Bachelor programme, your will learn the answers to these questions and many others concerning electrical engineering – in an active, practice-oriented manner.

Objectives

After completing your degree in Electrical Engineering, you will be qualified as an engineer to develop electrotechnical products, and to plan and monitor their production. You will be able to analyse technical issues and challenges using engineering methods on the basis of mathematical and scientific knowledge. You will also be able to find solutions, and to assess these solutions in terms of their feasibility, impact and costs. During your technical training, you will gain the expertise and methodological skills that will qualify you to become an engineer.

Occupational fields

As a sought-after expert, you will have the opportunity to actively and creatively shape technology of today and tomorrow, considering that electrical engineering is a key technology. Your fields of activity will range from development to quality management and production, to technical sales. If you would like to enhance your electrical engineering skills after completing the Bachelor programme, you can progress to our Master’s programme in Electrical Engineering, which we also offer as a part-time programme. Here, occupation and study – practice and further training are closely connected.

Content and course sequence

The programme takes four years (eight semesters) altogether, during which time you will complete your apprenticeship and earn your Bachelor’s degree. In the first year, you will focus on your vocational training. Although there is no obligation to attend vocational school, we recommend that you visit vocational college. Several vocational colleges adapt their classes to our study model.

After the first year, you will take your preliminary exam and then start studying at Münster University of Applied Sciences. You will attend courses during term time. During the second year, you will additionally attend vocational college one day a week. You will continue your company based-training outside term time. After two-and-a-half years, you will be able to take your skilled workers’ exam, which will be your first qualification. The final half-year of the four-year programme is dedicated to a block of practice and the Bachelor thesis, which you will complete at your company. You will now be able to apply the experience gained from your practical training and the engineering skills gained at university to tackle a demanding assignment. For example, you might undertake a software project to control a complex system or develop hardware in your company-specific environment.

With regard to content, your university education is divided into two stages: at the start of the programme, you will first learn the fundamentals of engineering, such as mathematics, physics, electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. By then, you will have the foundations required to pursue in-depth studies based on your interests in one of our specialisations:

  1. Automation Technology: Automation Technology is the basis of contemporary industrial production. Using sensors, electric drives and smart control systems, this technology ensures that products are manufactured in a cost-effective, energy-efficient way. In this specialisation, you will deal with control engineering and the interconnection of plants via bus systems. With a high degree of practical relevance, you will programme the processes of a model factory and teach a robot how to recognise objects.
  2. Renewable Energies: Renewable energies have developed to become a mainstay of our supply of energy. In this specialisation, you will learn about the structure of wind turbines and deal with energy storage devices. In the solar lab, you will examine solar modules and inverters, and plan photovoltaic systems. In order to ensure the energy generated will reach the customer, you will design energy grids of the future.
  3. Embedded Engineering: How can hardware and software be synchronised in order to find the optimum solution for a given technical problem? Which chip is the most effective one for the software? Does the software know the CPU it runs on best? These are the questions tackled in Embedded Engineering. Gaining a sound knowledge of hardware-relevant subjects including bus systems, circuitry and computer architecture is therefore an equally important aim of the training as gaining expertise in software development.
  4. Information Technology/Communications Engineering: Whether mobile technology, navigation or multimedia applications – all these topics are addressed in this specialisation. You will study the structure of contemporary communications systems, design electronic circuits, including the construction of circuit boards, programme microprocessors and examine the characteristics of antennae.

Why choose us

Our dual programme enables you to combine university study with stages of practical and skilled worker training. As a result, practice and theory are closely linked. You will be able to finance your degree, enabling you to concentrate fully on your studies during your three years at university. You will gain an education in engineering, with a constant reference to practice.

Elektrotechnik (dualer Studiengang) (Bachelor)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradBachelor of Science (B. Sc.)
FachbereichElektrotechnik und Informatik
StudienortSteinfurt
Studienformduales Studium, ausbildungsintegriert
StudienbeginnWintersemester
Regelstudienzeit8 Semester
Semesterbeitrag276,21 € (Sommersemester 2018)
Studiengebührenentfällt ab Wintersemester 2011/2012

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Nein
VorpraktikumNein
Weitere Zugangsvoraussetzungen

Für die Aufnahme des Studiums benötigen Sie einen Ausbildungsplatz als:

  • Elektroniker/-in für Betriebstechnik
  • Elektroniker/-in für Geräte und Systeme

Ist Ihr Ausbildungsberuf nicht dabei? Wenden Sie sich an uns. Wir prüfen, ob Sie dennoch zum dualen Studium zugelassen werden können.

Sie bewerben sich zunächst in einem Unternehmen, das einen Ausbildungsplatz in Kombination mit einem dualen Studium anbietet. Eine laufend aktualisierte Liste finden Sie auf unserer Homepage. Sobald Sie den Ausbildungsvertrag unterschrieben haben, wird für Sie ein Studienplatz bei uns reserviert. Detailinformationen finden Sie auf den Seiten unseres Fachbereichs.

Bewerbung zum StudiengangEine Bewerbung ist
im Moment nicht möglich.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Wie wird eigentlich ein Mobiltelefon gebaut? Kann ich Roboter über das Internet fernsteuern? Wie funktioniert eine Windkraftanlage und wie sehen die Energienetze der Zukunft aus? In unserem Bachelorstudiengang lernen Sie die Antworten auf diese und viele andere Fragen der Elektrotechnik, und zwar aktiv und praxisnah.

Ziele

Das Studium der Elektrotechnik befähigt Sie, als Ingenieur elektrotechnische Produkte zu entwickeln, sowie ihre Produktion zu planen und zu überwachen. Sie können technische Frage- und Aufgabenstellungen mithilfe ingenieurwissenschaftlicher Methoden auf der Basis mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse analysieren, finden Lösungen und beurteilen diese hinsichtlich ihrer Umsetzbarkeit, Folgen und Kosten. In Ihrer technischen Ausbildung entwickeln Sie die Fachkompetenz und gewinnen die Methodenkompetenz, die Sie zum Ingenieur qualifiziert.

Berufsfelder

Unsere anwendungsorientierte Ausbildung und die Vertiefungsmöglichkeiten machen Sie nach Ihrem Abschluss zur gefragten Fachkraft. Sie haben die Chance, die Technik von heute und morgen aktiv und kreativ mitzugestalten, denn die Elektrotechnik ist eine der Schlüsseltechnologien. Die Elektrotechnik bildet einen zentralen Baustein inaktuellen Anwendungsfeldern, zum Beispiel in der Kommunikation, Messtechnik, Informationsverarbeitung, Medizintechnik, Automatisierung und Produktion oder bei der regenerativen Energiegewinnung.

Ingenieure arbeiten in Unternehmen unterschiedlicher Größe – vom Ingenieurbüro über mittelständische Unternehmen bis hin zum multinationalen Konzern. Dabei variiert der Praxisanteil: vom Hardwareentwickler oder Messtechniker im Versuchslabor bis hin zum Berechnungsingenieur, der sein Arbeitsfeld überwiegend in Simulationen mit mathematischen Expertensystemen findet. Von der Entwicklung über Qualitätsmanagement und Produktion bis hin zum technischen Vertrieb: Ingenieure können in sehr unterschiedlichen Umgebungen und an sehr unterschiedlichen Aufgaben arbeiten. Dadurch bleibt Ihr Arbeitsleben immer spannend und herausfordernd.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Das Studium dauert insgesamt vier Jahre (acht Semester), in denen Sie Ihre Ausbildung abschließen und Ihren Bachelorabschluss erwerben. Im ersten Jahr steht Ihre berufliche Ausbildung im Vordergrund. Die Berufsschulpflicht entfällt, wir empfehlen Ihnen dennoch, das Berufskolleg zu besuchen. Einige Berufskollegs stimmen den Unterricht auf unser Studienmodell ab.

Nach diesem Jahr machen Sie Ihre Zwischenprüfung und steigen dann in das Studium an der FH Münster ein. Sie besuchen während der Vorlesungszeit die Veranstaltungen. In Ihrem zweiten Studienjahr sind Sie zusätzlich einen Tag in der Woche am Berufskolleg. Ihre betriebliche Ausbildung setzen Sie in der vorlesungsfreien Zeit fort. Nach zweieinhalb Jahren können Sie Ihre Facharbeiterprüfung ablegen und haben so schon den ersten Abschluss. Das letzte halbe Jahr des vierjährigen Studiums besteht aus Praxisphase und Bachelorarbeit, die Sie in Ihrem Unternehmen durchführen. Sie setzten jetzt Ihre Erfahrungen aus der praktischen Ausbildung und Ihre im Studium erworbene Ingenieurkompetenz zur Bearbeitung einer anspruchsvollen Aufgabe ein, zum Beispiel bearbeiten Sie ein Softwareprojekt zur Steuerung einer komplexen Anlage oder entwickeln Hardware in Ihrem firmenspezifischen Umfeld. 

Inhaltlich gliedert sich Ihr Hochschulstudium in zwei Stufen: Zu Beginn befassen Sie sich mit den ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Grundlagenfächern wie Mathematik und Physik sowie der Elektrotechnik, Informatik und Elektronik. Dadurch schaffen Sie die Basis für das Vertiefungsstudium entsprechend Ihren Interessen aus einem unserer Schwerpunkte:

  1. Automatisierungstechnik: Die Automatisierungstechnik ist die Grundlage heutiger industrieller Produktion. Mit Hilfe von Sensoren, elektrischen Antrieben und intelligenten Steuerungen sorgt sie dafür, dass Produkte kostengünstig und energiesparend hergestellt werden. In dieser Vertiefungsrichtung befassen Sie sich mit Regelungstechnik und der Vernetzung von Anlagen über Bussysteme. Praxisnah programmieren Sie selbst die Abläufe einer Modellfabrik und bringen einem Roboter das Erkennen von Gegenständen bei.
  2. Erneuerbare Energien: Die erneuerbaren Energien entwickeln sich zur tragenden Säule unserer Energieversorgung. In diesem Schwerpunkt lernen Sie den Aufbau von Windkraftanlagen kennen und befassen sich mit Energiespeichern. Im Solarlabor untersuchen Sie Solarmodule und Wechselrichter und planen Photovoltaikanlagen. Damit die erzeugte Energie auch beim Kunden ankommt, konzipieren Sie die Energienetze der Zukunft.
  3. Embedded Engineering: Wie können Hardware und Software aufeinander abgestimmt werden, um eine optimale Lösung für technische Probleme zu erreichen? Welcher Chip führt die Software am schnellsten aus? Kennt die Software die CPU, auf der sie laufen soll? Mit diesen Fragen beschäftigt sich das Embedded Engineering. Fundierte Kenntnisse in hardwarenahen Fächern wie Bussysteme, Schaltungstechnik und Rechnerarchitektur sind daher genauso Ziel der Ausbildung, wie eine professionelle Kenntnis der Softwareentwicklung.
  4. Informationstechnik/Nachrichtentechnik: Ob Mobilfunk, Navigation oder Multimediaanwendungen – all diese Themen sind Bestandteil dieser Vertiefungsrichtung. Sie lernen den Aufbau heutiger Kommunikationssysteme kennen, entwerfen eigene Elektronikschaltungen einschließlich Platinenerstellung, programmieren Mikroprozessoren und untersuchen die Charakteristiken von Antennen.

Das spricht für uns

Unser dualer Studiengang kombiniert das Studium mit Phasen der praktischen Ausbildung und einer Facharbeiterausbildung. Damit werden Praxis und Theorie eng aneinander gekoppelt. Ihre Studienfinanzierung ist gesichert und Sie können sich während der drei Jahre an der Hochschule ganz auf das Studium konzentrierten. Sie werden ingenieurwissenschaftlich ausgebildet und haben immer den Bezug zur Praxis.

Unsere ehemaligen Studierenden loben an unserem Fachbereich insbesondere:

  • den angenehmen Umgang mit Mitstudierenden und Lehrenden,
  • die gute Organisation des Studiums,
  • die vielfältigen Unterstützungsangebote in ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Grundlagenfächern: Vorkurse, Tutorien und Mentoren.
  • die praxisrelevante und hochwertige Ausstattung vom aktuellen FPGA-Board bis hin zum Industrieroboter
  • die hohe Praxisnähe

Studienverlaufsplan