Technical Orthopaedics (Bachelor)

Brief overview

DegreeBachelor of Engineering (B.Eng.)
DepartmentDepartment of Engineering Physics
SiteSteinfurt
IntakeWinter semester
Standard period of study6 semesters
Semester fee€ 276,21 / semester

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions No local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementNo
Additional entrance requirementsTo be admitted to this degree programme, you must have completed an apprenticeship in this specific field (journeyman’s examination), for example, as an orthopaedic technician or an orthopaedic shoemaker, or have comparable qualifications.
ApplicationIt is not possible
to apply at present.

Detailed description of the degree programme

Orthopaedic technicians and orthopaedic shoemakers enable people to lead a normal life despite amputations, paralysis and other physical limitations. Modern production methods and the use of new materials such as carbon and microprocessor-controlled components have changed the profession considerably in recent years. Our programme in Technical Orthopaedics combines the apprenticeship you have already completed with university education in science and engineering, optimally preparing you for new challenges.

Objectives

Our study modules are focused on business practice and will teach you the necessary biomechanical and medical/clinical expertise for your work in technical orthopaedics. After obtaining your degree, you will be able to successfully put into practice the engineering methods and knowledge that you have gained.

Occupational fields

Our degree course combines theory and practice of technical orthopaedics, and is therefore a programme that keeps up with the latest trends. With the expertise you will have acquired here, you will be able to keep pace with the sector’s rapid developments. This will make you attractive to technical and industrial employers alike, and offer you a wide range of career opportunities. Many of our students find a job immediately after graduating. Some embark on a career in industrial product development. Others conduct research in institutes and labs on new care concepts in the biomechanical and clinical area. Product management, sales or product authorisation are also possible professional fields. Last but not least, the Bachelor’s degree opens the door to numerous Master’s programmes, such as in Rehabilitation Technology, Medical Engineering or Kinesiology.

Content and course sequence

The standard period of study is six semesters. Initially, the curriculum covers various modules on the fundamentals of mathematics, science and engineering. From the third semester, the specialist stage begins, in which you will apply your basic knowledge to issues concerning orthopaedic technology and orthopaedic footwear technology and improve your technical skills in measurement engineering, construction design and rehabilitation technology or biomechanics. In addition, you will acquire a basic knowledge of business administration, medical products legislation and the health system at this stage. In the sixth semester, you will write your Bachelor thesis.

Why choose us

In Germany, our Bachelor programme is still unique. We collaborate closely with the Bundesfachschule für Orthopädie-Technik, the University Hospital Münster and Orthopädie Schuhtechnik Möller. In the final third of the degree course, you will implement small-size projects independently. In these projects, you will tackle issues from real life and pool the skills you have acquired during your studies and your vocational training. In this way, we can offer you a multifaceted degree course.

Technische Orthopädie (Bachelor)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradBachelor of Engineering (B.Eng.)
FachbereichPhysikalische Technik
StudienortSteinfurt
StudienbeginnWintersemester
Regelstudienzeit6 Semester
Semesterbeitrag289,94 € (Sommersemester 2019)

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Nein
VorpraktikumNein
Weitere ZugangsvoraussetzungenVoraussetzung für die Einschreibung ist eine erfolgreich abgeschlossene Berufsausbildung (Gesellenprüfung) im entsprechenden Fachgebiet wie zum Beispiel als Orthopädiemechanikerin/Orthopädiemechanikerin, Orthopädieschuhmacher/Orthopädieschuhmacherin oder vergleichbare Qualifikationen.
Bewerbung zum StudiengangDie nächste Bewerbungsphase
beginnt am 07. Mai 2019.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Orthopädietechniker und Orthopädieschuhtechniker sorgen dafür, dass Menschen trotz körperlicher Einschränkungen ein normales Leben führen können. Moderne Mess- und Fertigungsverfahren sowie neue Materialien haben das Berufsbild in den letzten Jahren verändert. Unser Studiengang verbindet Ihre Ausbildung zum Orthopädie(schuh)techniker mit einem ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Hochschulstudium und bereitet Sie optimal auf die neuen und zukünftigen Anforderungen vor.

Ziele

Unser Bachelorstudiengang legt den Fokus auf eine fundierte ingenieurwissenschaft­liche Ausbildung, ist dabei aber durch Kooperationen mit der Industrie, dem Handwerk und der Klinik eng mit der Praxis verzahnt. Unsere an den Anforderungen Ihrer späteren beruflichen Praxis orientierten Studienmodule ver­mitteln Ihnen zudem die notwendigen biomechanischen, medizinisch-klinischen und wissenschaftlich-methodischen Kompetenzen.

Berufsfelder

Unser Studiengang kombiniert Theorie und Praxis der Technischen Orthopädie und ist damit eine Ausbildung am Puls der Zeit. Dank der erworbenen Kompetenzen können Sie mit den rasanten Entwicklungen der Branche Schritt halten. Das macht Sie für handwerkliche wie industrielle Arbeitgeber interessant und bietet Ihnen vielfältige berufliche Perspektiven. Viele unserer Studierenden finden nach Abschluss des Studiums unmittelbar einen Arbeitsplatz. Einige starten eine Karriere in der industriellen Produktentwicklung. Wieder andere forschen in Instituten und Laboren zu neuen Versorgungskonzepten im biomechanischen und klinischen Bereich. Auch das Produktmanagement, der Vertrieb oder die Produktzulassung sind mögliche Berufsfelder. Nicht zuletzt eröffnet der Bachelorabschluss Ihnen den Zugang zu diversen Masterstudiengängen, zum Beispiel in der Rehabilitationstechnik, der Medizintechnik oder den Bewegungswissenschaften.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Die Regelstudienzeit beträgt sechs Semester. Zunächst stehen verschiedene Module zu den mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlichen und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Grundlagen auf dem Lehrplan. Ab dem dritten Semester beginnt die Spezialisierungsphase, in der Sie die erlernten Grundlagen auf die orthopädietechnischen und orthopädieschuhtechnischen Fragestellungen anwenden und Ihre technischen Kompetenzen in Bereichen wie Messtechnik, Konstruktion und Rehatechnik oder Biomechanik erweitern. Darüber hinaus erwerben Sie in dieser Phase Grundlagenwissen in der Betriebswirtschaftslehre sowie in den Bereichen Medizinproduktrecht und Gesundheitswesen. Ihre Bachelorarbeit verfassen Sie dann im sechsten Semester.

Das spricht für uns

Unser Studiengang ist in Deutschland einzigartig. Wir arbeiten eng mit dem Universitätsklinikum Münster sowie der Orthopädie-Schuh-Technik Möller zusammen.

Studienverlaufsplan

Studienverlaufsplan



Um unsere Webseite für Sie optimal zu gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Weitere Informationen und die Möglichkeit zum Widerruf finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.