Social Management (Master)

Brief overview

DegreeMaster of Arts (M.A.)
DepartmentDepartment of Social Work
SiteMünster
Special type of studypart-time, executive, self-improvement, distance learning
IntakeWinter semester & summer semester
Standard period of study5 semesters
Semester feeVollzahler 259,54 Euro / Teilzahler 85,44 Euro
Tuition fee1150,00 Euro / Semester
CharacteristicsA fee of €1150 per semester is charged for this postgraduate Master’s programme. The fee covers all costs incurred by the postgraduate degree programme (administration costs, expenses for correspondence units, expenses for face-to-face seminars and exams).

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions No local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementNo
Additional entrance requirements

First professional degree:
A degree in Social Work, Social Education or another subject relevant to social work with an overall grade of 2.3 or better.


Occupation:
By the time you start studying, you must demonstrate that you have had at least one year’s relevant work experience since completing your undergraduate degree. Vocational training or work experience counts towards this time. If you completed a degree in a different subject than Social Work/Social Education, you will need to demonstrate that you have at least two years’ work experience. Since this Master’s programme is a part-time postgraduate programme pursued while working, you will need to be employed throughout the programme.
ApplicationThe closing dates for applications are: 30 June for winter semester applicants and 15 January for summer semester applicants. Please apply directly to the Department of Social Work.

Detailed description of the degree programme

Social work institutions need to be managed well. Effectiveness, economic considerations and organisation-shaping strategies are required to be able to provide reliable support to people in difficult life situations. At the same time, however, management tools must take into account the special technical, legal and value-based features of social work. Our postgraduate Master’s programme combines such knowledge and skills into one course, preparing you optimally for managerial tasks within social work.

Objectives

In our degree programme in Social Management, spanning five semesters, you will learn the differentiated skills required to manage social work institutions. After completing the degree programme, you will be able to apply economic and organisational strategies, taking into account the special features of social work institutions. You will recognise, analyse and tackle structuring and managerial tasks at different hierarchy levels. In the process, you will always consider the tasks from the economic, legal, social policy, personnel and organisational perspective. You will also have skills that cut across these areas of management: systematic assessment skills (evaluation), conveying facts and preparing them for specific target groups (communication/presentation/chairing) as well as IT skills (community informatics).

Occupational fields

After completing the degree programme, you will have the qualifications required to apply for management positions and positions with an executive role in social work organisations. You will also be qualified to pursue a doctorate at a university.

Content and course sequence

The time structure of our degree programme will enable you to easily combine study and work with family life. Around 70% of teaching is designed for distance learning. The remaining 30% of the time will be spent on-site at Münster University of Applied Sciences. Your distance learning will involve working on the teaching materials we provide you with – correspondence units. You will also participate in online-based methods of teaching and read academic literature to prepare yourself for face-to-face seminars and exams. On-campus seminars are held every Friday from 14:00 to around 21:00 and every Saturday from 09:00 to 17:00. Five weekend blocks are held in the first two semesters; there are three in the third and fourth semesters. Two four-day seminar blocks are additionally held during the week at the start of the third and the fourth semester.

With regard to content, the study programme is divided into the areas that are important for reflective management in social work organisations: in the first two semesters, you will take modules on Evaluation, Social Policy, Community Informatics, Business Administration and Organisational Analysis. In the third and fourth semesters, you will attend courses on Quality Management, Law and Marketing in Social Work, as well as courses involving leadership and human resources management. You will also take a module on the thematic issues concerning communication, presentation and leading discussions. Finally, you will write your Master’s thesis and attend the associated colloquium in the fifth semester. In one overarching module spanning all semesters, the course content will be applied to the institution that employs you throughout the entire degree programme. This ability to link theory to practical experience is a key element of the degree programme.

Please contact us if the study workload is hard to reconcile with the time you have available for your private or professional life. In exceptional cases, it may be possible to postpone individual modules and to complete the programme over the course of six or seven semesters. We will be happy to advise you.

Why choose us

Our part-time degree programme is pursued while working, enabling you to put your knowledge into practice, and to reflect on it; you will be expected to vice versa incorporate and make use of your professional experience in the programme. The Practical Reflection on Management Behaviour in Social Work Institutions module, held throughout the degree programme, will give you the opportunity to address issues and problems from your everyday working environment. You will also have the option to utilise topics from your professional experience as the topic for research papers and your Master’s thesis.

Another advantage of our degree programme is that you will be working in small set groups with a maximum of 25 students. This facilitates productive cooperation, leading to a culture of debate and mutual support within the group.




Further information:

Sozialmanagement (Master)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradMaster of Arts (M.A.)
FachbereichSozialwesen
StudienortMünster
StudienformTeilzeitstudium, berufsbegleitend, weiterbildend, Fernstudium
StudienbeginnWintersemester & Sommersemester
Regelstudienzeit5 Semester
SemesterbeitragVollzahler 259,54 Euro / Teilzahler 85,44 Euro
Studiengebühren1150,00 Euro / Semester
BesonderheitenFür den weiterbildenden Masterstudiengang fallen Teilnahmegebühren in Höhe von 1150,00 € pro Semester an. Aus den Teilnahmegebühren werden alle Kosten des weiterbildenden Studiengangs (Verwaltungskosten, Kosten für Studienbriefe, Kosten für Präsenzseminare und Prüfungen) finanziert.

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Nein
VorpraktikumNein
Weitere Zugangsvoraussetzungen

Erster Hochschulabschluss:
Hochschulabschluss in Sozialarbeit, Sozialpädagogik oder ein anderer für die Soziale Arbeit relevanter Abschluss mit einer Gesamtnote von mindestens 2,3.


Berufstätigkeit:
Nachweis zu Studienbeginn einer mindestens einjährigen einschlägigen Berufstätigkeit nach dem ersten Hochschulabschluss. Ein Berufspraktikum wird angerechnet. Bei einem anderen Studienabschluss als Sozialarbeit/ Sozialpädagogik ist eine mindestens zweijährige Berufstätigkeit erforderlich.
Da es sich um einen weiterbildenden, also berufsbegleitenden Master-Studiengang handelt, ist eine Berufstätigkeit während des Studiums erforderlich.
Bewerbung zum StudiengangDie Fristen für eine Bewerbung sind: 30.06 für eine Zulassung zum Wintersemester und 15.01. für eine Zulassung zum Sommersemester. Die Bewerbung erfolgt direkt im Fachbereich.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Einrichtungen der Sozialen Arbeit brauchen ein gutes Management. Effektivität, ökonomisches Kalkül oder organisationsgestaltende Strategien sind nötig, um Menschen in schwierigen Lebenssituationen verlässlich unterstützen zu können. Die Managementinstrumente müssen aber zugleich die besonderen fachlichen, rechtlichen und wertgebundenen Besonderheiten der Sozialen Arbeit berücksichtigen. Unser weiterbildender Masterstudiengang führt die Vermittlung eben dieser Kenntnisse und Kompetenzen in einem Angebot zusammen und bereitet Sie damit optimal auf Leitungsaufgaben innerhalb der Sozialen Arbeit vor.

Ziele

Unser auf fünf Semester angelegter Studiengang Sozialmanagement vermittelt differenzierte Kompetenzen zur Leitung in Einrichtungen der Sozialen Arbeit. Nach Abschluss des Studiums sind Sie in der Lage, ökonomische und organisationsgestaltende Strategien mit Blick auf die besonderen Bedingungen in Einrichtungen der Sozialen Arbeit anzuwenden. Sie erkennen, analysieren und bewältigen Strukturierungs- und Leitungsaufgaben auf verschiedenen Hierarchieebenen. Dabei betrachten Sie die Aufgaben stets aus betriebswirtschaftlicher, rechtlicher, sozialpolitischer, personaler und organisationsbezogener Perspektive. Zudem verfügen Sie über Kompetenzen, die „quer“ zu diesen Steuerungsbereichen liegen: Das sind Kompetenzen zur systematisierten Bewertung (Evaluation), zur Vermittlung von Sachverhalten und zur zielgerichteten Gestaltung in Gruppen (Kommunikation/Präsentation/Moderation) sowie Kompetenzen im Umgang mit der Informationstechnologie (Sozialinformatik).

Berufsfelder

Sie besitzen nach Abschluss des Studiums die notwendigen Qualifikationen, um sich auf Leitungspositionen und Positionen mit steuernden Stabsfunktionen in Organisationen der Sozialen Arbeit zu bewerben. Zudem eröffnet Ihnen das Studium die Perspektive, nachfolgend an einer Universität zu promovieren.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Mit der Zeitstruktur unseres Studienganges lassen sich Studium, Beruf und Familie gut verbinden. Die Lehre ist zu etwa 70 Prozent als Fernstudium konzipiert. Die restlichen ca. 30 Prozent verbringen Sie vor Ort an der FH Münster. Im Fernstudium bearbeiten Sie das von uns zur Verfügung gestellte Lehrmaterial – die sogenannten „Studienbriefe“ –, beteiligen sich an online-gestützten Lehrverfahren, verarbeiten Fachliteratur und bereiten sich damit auf die Präsenzseminare und Prüfungen vor. Die Präsenzseminare finden jeweils freitags von 14 bis ca. 21 Uhr und samstags von 9 bis 17 Uhr statt. In den ersten beiden Semestern gibt es fünf, im dritten und vierten Semester drei Wochenendblöcke. Zu Beginn des dritten und vierten Semesters stehen ferner zwei jeweils viertägige Seminarblöcke innerhalb der Woche an.

Inhaltlich gliedert sich das Studium in diejenigen Bereiche, die für eine reflektierte Steuerung in Organisationen der Sozialen Arbeit bedeutsam sind: In den ersten beiden Semestern belegen Sie Module zur Evaluation, Sozialpolitik, Sozialinformatik, Betriebswirtschaftslehre und Organisationsanalyse. Im dritten und vierten Semester besuchen Sie Veranstaltungen zum Qualitätsmanagement, Recht, Marketing in der Sozialen Arbeit sowie zu den Bereichen Leitung und Personalmanagement. Hinzu kommt ein Modul zum Themenkomplex Kommunikation, Präsentation und Moderation. Im fünften Semester erstellen Sie Ihre Masterarbeit und besuchen das zugehörige Kolloquium. In einem übergreifenden, alle Semester durchdringenden Modul werden die jeweiligen Modulinhalte bezogen und angewendet auf die Einrichtung, in der Sie während des Studiums beruflich tätig sind. Die Verkoppelung mit Erfahrungen in der Praxis bildet ein wesentliches Profilelement des Studiengangs.

Sprechen Sie uns an, falls die Studienlast mir Ihren privaten oder beruflichen Zeitkontingenten nur noch schwer zu vereinbaren ist. In Ausnahmefällen ist es möglich, einzelne Module zu verschieben und das Studium in sechs oder sieben Semestern zu absolvieren. Wir beraten Sie dazu gern.

Das spricht für uns

Unser Studiengang ist berufsbegleitend und ermöglicht Ihnen somit, das erworbene Wissen direkt in der Praxis anzuwenden und zu reflektieren. Andersherum können und sollen Sie Ihre eigene berufliche Erfahrung in das Studium einbringen und nutzbar machen. Das Modul „Praxisreflexion zum Managementhandeln in Einrichtungen der Sozialen Arbeit“ gibt Ihnen über die gesamte Studiendauer hinweg die Gelegenheit, Fragen und Probleme aus Ihrem Berufsalltag zu bearbeiten. Zudem steht es Ihnen offen, Themen aus der beruflichen Praxis zum Gegenstand Ihrer Hausarbeiten sowie der Masterarbeit zu machen.

Ein weiterer Vorteil unseres Studiengangs ist, dass Sie in festen und überschaubaren Gruppen von maximal 25 Studierenden arbeiten. Das ermöglicht den Aufbau einer produktiven Zusammenarbeit, einer Diskussionskultur und die gegenseitige Unterstützung innerhalb der Gruppe.




Lesen Sie auch hier: