Construction in Existing Contexts (Bachelor)

Brief overview

DegreeBachelor of Engineering (B.Eng.)
DepartmentDepartment of Civil Engineering
SiteMünster
IntakeWinter semester
Standard period of study6 semesters
Semester fee€ 276,21 / semester
Tuition feeThis is a fee-paying course. Please contact our cooperation partner to find out the course fee.

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions No local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementBefore you can start this Bachelor programme, you must have completed a 13-week pre-study placement, including at least six weeks on a building site. Relevant apprenticeships and employment will count towards your work placement.
The placement must generally be completed before starting your degree programme, and must be verified upon enrolment. If you are unable to complete all 13 weeks before starting your programme, you must make up for the remaining weeks as soon as possible and demonstrate its completion by the start of the third semester.
ApplicationPlease apply via the Akademie Bauhandwerk at the Training Centre of Münster Chamber of Handicrafts (HBZ). Selection interviews are held there throughout the year; decisions on the allocation of places are taken at short notice. Once you have been accepted to the academy, enrol online at Münster University of Applied Sciences after 15 July.

Detailed description of the degree programme

Making existing buildings fit for the future is a trend that will increase in the years to come. In a bid to protect the climate, old houses are being better insulated and equipped with energy-efficient technology. Modern households want more generous layouts, involving the additional use of basements and attics. Demographic change requires conversions to make housing accessible for people with disabilities. This opens up a professional field for experts who are able to combine technical knowledge with creative skills. Construction in Existing Contexts, our degree programme at the juncture between civil engineering and architecture, will prepare you for this very task.

Objectives

As an expert of construction in existing contexts, you will know exactly what is required when it comes to constructing new buildings and modernising old ones. Not only will you use scientific/technical methods to analyse existing buildings with regard to their potential for improvement and to calculate the cost effectiveness of improvement measures, you will also have the skills required to develop and present new concepts creatively. In addition, you will know about the need for interdisciplinary collaboration, and will have great capacity for teamwork.

Occupational fields

As a graduate of our degree programme, you will be in high demand in the job market, for example

  • in building companies, large craft firms and building authorities as a site manager, planner or cost estimator,
  • in architect’s offices as a planner, site manager or building energy consultant,
  • in refurbishment companies as a site manager,
  • as an expert for building defects and deficiencies,
  • in the construction materials industry as an expert advisor or product manager.

If you decide not to enter the job market straight after completing your Bachelor’s degree, you can become further qualified and specialised – for example, in historic preservation, fire protection, construction management or damage restoration.

Content and course sequence

Our degree programme is mainly geared towards the refurbishment and modernisation of buildings. During the programme, you will get to know all of the phases involved – both in theory and practice. In particular, during project work lasting several months you will be part of a small group, developing new concepts for the new use of existing buildings and implementing them from a planning perspective up to the calculation of costs. In the process, you will need not only technical expertise, but also creativity. Unlike in classic civil engineering programmes, our degree programme covers additional topics from architecture, as well as from the restoration of buildings, building services engineering, and business management.

The programme is divided into four areas of knowledge:

  1. Foundation Engineering (including mathematics, statics, building construction, building materials science, buildings physics)
  2. Planning Expertise (drafting, building history, planning, management)
  3. Building Maintenance/Restoration of Buildings
  4. Areas of Application (construction management, building construction, technical building equipment, energy rehabilitation, business administration)

If you wish, you can decide in the fifth semester to extend your programme by a seventh practical semester.

Why choose us

Our innovative degree programme was developed jointly by our Department of Civil Engineering and the Training Centre of Münster Chamber of Handicrafts. Teaching is also delivered cooperatively.

Münster University of Applied Sciences assumes the scientific direction of the course and administers exams. Our modern labs offer ideal conditions for your practical training. You will also have access to all the facilities at Münster University of Applied Sciences, such as the library.

The Training Centre of Münster Chamber of Handicrafts (HBZ), one of the largest and most modern training centres in Germany, organises and delivers the teaching. Most courses are held at the refurbished historic farmstead Haus Kump. In addition, HBZ’s demonstration centre for construction and energy will be the ideal place for you to learn: hands-on construction engineering and building equipment, as well as measurement engineering at a scientific level will give you a good insight into how various types of buildings function, from old buildings to zero-energy houses.

The number of students is limited to around 25 per semester. This way, you are guaranteed to have a pleasant learning climate and personal contacts with members of the teaching staff. Numerous cooperation partners from industry support our degree programme by becoming involved in teaching, offering field trips, work placements and jobs, or by supervising Bachelor theses.

Bauen im Bestand (Bachelor)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradBachelor of Engineering (B.Eng.)
FachbereichBauingenieurwesen
StudienortMünster
StudienbeginnWintersemester
Regelstudienzeit6 Semester (7 mit Praxissemester)
Semesterbeitrag276,21 € (Sommersemester 2018)
StudiengebührenDer Studiengang ist gebührenpflichtig. Die Höhe der Gebühren erfragen Sie bitte bei unserem Kooperationspartner.

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Nein
VorpraktikumFür die Studienaufnahme müssen Sie ein 13-wöchiges Vorpraktikum mit mindestens sechs Wochen Baustellentätigkeit nachweisen. Einschlägige Ausbildungs- und Berufstätigkeiten rechnen wir auf das Praktikum an.
Das Praktikum ist grundsätzlich vor Aufnahme des Studiums abzuleisten und bei der Einschreibung nachzuweisen. Fehlende Zeiten des Praktikums sind zum frühestmöglichen Zeitpunkt nachzuholen; der entsprechende Nachweis ist bis zum Beginn des dritten Fachsemesters vorzulegen.
Bewerbung zum StudiengangDie Bewerbung erfolgt über die Akademie Bauhandwerk im Bildungszentrum der Handwerkskammer Münster. Auswahlgespräche mit kurzfristiger Entscheidung über einen Studienplatz finden dort ganzjährig statt. Nach Ihrer Aufnahme an der Akademie können Sie sich nach dem 15. Juli online an der FH Münster einschreiben.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Bestehende Gebäude fit für die Zukunft zu machen ist ein Trend, der in den nächsten Jahren weiter zunehmen wird. Im Sinne des Klimaschutzes werden alte Häuser besser gedämmt und mit energieeffizienter Technik ausgestattet. Moderne Haushalte wünschen sich großzügigere Wohnungszuschnitte, Keller- und Dachgeschosse sollen zusätzlich genutzt werden. Der demografische Wandel fordert barrierefreie Umbauten. Hier eröffnet sich ein Berufsfeld für Fachleute, die technische Kenntnisse mit kreativer Kompetenz verbinden. Auf genau diese Anforderung bereitet Sie „Bauen im Bestand“, unser Studiengang an der Schnittstelle von Bauingenieurwesen und Architektur, vor.

Ziele

Als Experte für das Bauen im Bestand wissen Sie genau, worauf es beim Neubau und bei der Modernisierung ankommt. Einerseits setzen Sie naturwissenschaftlich-technische Verfahren ein, um Bestandsbauten auf technisches Verbesserungspotenzial hin zu analysieren und die Wirtschaftlichkeit der Maßnahmen zu berechnen. Andererseits verfügen Sie über die notwendigen Kompetenzen, um neue Konzepte kreativ zu entwickeln und darzustellen. Zudem wissen Sie um die Notwendigkeit interdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit und verfügen über ein hohes Maß an Teamfähigkeit.

Berufsfelder

Als Absolvent unseres Studiengangs sind Sie am Arbeitsmarkt gefragt, zum Beispiel

  • in Bauunternehmen, größeren Handwerksbetrieben und Bauämtern als Bauleiter, Planer oder Kalkulator,
  • in Architekturbüros als Planer, Bauleiter oder Gebäude-Energieberater,
  • in Sanierungsunternehmen als Bauleiter,
  • als Sachverständiger für Bauschäden,
  • in der Baustoffindustrie als Fachberater oder Produktmanager. 

Falls Sie nach dem Bachelorabschluss nicht sofort in den Beruf einsteigen möchten, können Sie sich auch durch ein Masterstudium weiterqualifizieren und spezialisieren – zum Beispiel in der Denkmalpflege, im Brandschutz, im Baumanagement oder in der Schadensanierung.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Unser Studiengang ist vorrangig auf die Sanierung und Modernisierung von Gebäuden ausgerichtet. Während des Studiums lernen Sie alle entsprechenden Phasen kennen – theoretisch und praktisch. Insbesondere in den mehrmonatigen Projektarbeiten entwickeln Sie in Kleingruppen neue Nutzungskonzepte für Bestandsgebäude und setzen sie planerisch um bis zur Kostenkalkulation. Hier ist neben technischem Know-how auch Ihre Kreativität gefragt. Thematisch ergänzt unser Studiengang die klassischen Bauingenieurfächer um Inhalte aus der Architektur, aber auch aus der Bausanierung, der Versorgungstechnik und der Betriebswirtschaft.

Das Studium gliedert sich in vier Wissensbereiche:

  1. ingenieurwissenschaftliche Grundlagen (unter anderem Mathematik, Statik, Baukonstruktion, Baustofflehre, Bauphysik)
  2. Planungskompetenz (Entwerfen, Baugeschichte, Planung, Management)
  3. Bauerhaltung/Bausanierung
  4. Anwendungsfächer (Baumanagement, Ingenieur-Hochbau, Technische Gebäudeausrüstung, Energetische Sanierung, Betriebswirtschaftslehre)

Auf Wunsch können Sie Ihr Studium um ein siebtes Praxissemester verlängern. Die Entscheidung darüber treffen Sie im fünften Semester.

Das spricht für uns

Unser innovativer Studiengang wurde gemeinschaftlich von unserem Fachbereich Bauingenieurwesen und dem Bildungszentrum der Handwerkskammer Münster entwickelt. Auch die Lehre erfolgt kooperativ.

Die FH Münster hat die wissenschaftliche Leitung und nimmt die Prüfungen ab. Unsere modernen Labore bieten Ihnen die idealen Voraussetzungen für die praktische Ausbildung. Zudem stehen Ihnen alle Einrichtungen der FH Münster zur Verfügung, zum Beispiel die Bibliothek.

Die Organisation und Durchführung der Lehre übernimmt das Bildungszentrum der Handwerkskammer Münster (HBZ), eins der größten und modernsten Bildungszentren der Bundesrepublik. Die Veranstaltungen finden hauptsächlich auf der sanierten historischen Hofanlage „Haus Kump“ statt. Daneben bietet das HBZ mit seinem Demonstrationszentrum „Bau und Energie“ einen für Sie optimalen Lernort: Bautechnik und Gebäudeausrüstung „zum Anfassen“ sowie Messtechnik auf wissenschaftlichem Niveau geben Ihnen einen guten Einblick in die Funktionsweisen diverser Gebäudetypen, von Altbauten bis zu modernen Passivhäusern.

Die Anzahl der Studierenden pro Semester ist auf circa 25 begrenzt. Das garantiert Ihnen ein angenehmes Lernklima und einen persönlichen Kontakt zu den Lehrenden. Zahlreiche Kooperationspartner aus der Praxis unterstützen unseren Studiengang lehrend sowie durch Exkursions-, Praktikums- und Stellenangebote oder die Betreuung von Bachelorarbeiten.

Studienverlaufsplan