Clinical Casework – Psychosocial Assistance for Vulnerable, Ill and Disabled Persons (Master)

Brief overview

DegreeMaster of Arts (M.A.)
DepartmentDepartment of Social Work
SiteMünster
Special type of studypart-time, executive, self-improvement
IntakeWinter semester
Standard period of study5 semesters
Semester feeJe nach gewähltem Hörerstatus 261,94 € oder 85,44 €
Tuition fee1600 Euro / Semester

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions No local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementNo
Additional entrance requirements

First professional degree:
In order to be admitted to the programme, you will need to have completed a degree in Germany or abroad in the field of social sciences, or in fields of study dealing with psychology, education or therapy with an overall grade of ‘good’ (2.3) or better. If this requirement does not apply to you, you may be able to demonstrate your qualification in another way. For more information, please visit our website.


Occupation:
You must demonstrate that you have had at least one year’s relevant work experience since completing your undergraduate degree.
ApplicationThe programme begins every two years, starting in winter semester 2016/2017 and then again in winter semester 2018/2019. In individual cases, students may be admitted for winter semester 2017/2018 who study the content in reverse order (first the specialisations, then the foundations); in this case, admission will only be possible if there are places left in the chosen specialisations. The closing date for applications for winter semester 2017/2018 ends on 15 July 2017. Once the admissions committee for the degree programme has carried out a substantive preliminary check, applicants may formally register by applying online on the website of the Service Office for Students.

Detailed description of the degree programme

Specialist knowledge and function capabilities are increasingly required in the health system and in work involving the elderly and the disabled. Moreover, professionals working in counselling centres, youth and social welfare offices, and employment agencies also increasingly must deal with clients’ health-related problems and complex aspects that go beyond their original area of expertise. Broad-based perspectives are in high demand, particularly at the crossroads of health, social welfare and education systems. Our Master’s programme in Clinical Casework will prepare you for these challenges.

Objectives

After completing the programme, you will have an in-depth knowledge of the health system and related areas. You will be aware of the latest health and social policy debates and their impact on target groups and stakeholders. We will teach you the tools for diagnosis and methods of intervention in the case of health-related issues. Depending on your field of activity, you will apply these directly, or will stand by as a competent partner for other disciplines. All modules are derived from the most up-to-date research in social work, and encourage the same perspective from students. This will enable you to take on a ‘pilot’ function in a complex area.

Occupational fields

In accordance with the current regulatory framework, this Master’s programme will give you access to train for a licence in child and adolescent psychotherapy, paving the way for you to undertake highly qualified freelance work. Other graduates work in the health system as experts, core staff, or managers, or they work with disabled people and in neighbouring fields. Germany’s only university qualification in evidence-based autism therapy will also mean that you will have a head start for work in therapy centres in this field. Yet another field of work that will be open to you is ‘inclusive schools’. Finally, your Master’s degree will enable you to pursue further academic qualification, possibly continuing with a doctorate.

Content and course sequence

Our degree programme will enable you to study, work and have a family life simultaneously. Most of the periods of mandatory attendance take place on Friday and Saturdays during the semester. In addition, one- to two-week block courses are held each semester. Some of the content will also be offered in the future as online modules and in correspondence units.

In the first two semesters, you will attend basic modules such as Social Work in the Health System, Physical and Mental Illnesses and Disabilities, and Methods and Tools of Diagnosis and Intervention. Building on the knowledge gained, you will then develop your skill set by choosing two specialisation modules, such as in Child and Adolescent Psychotherapy, Promotion of Children with Development and Learning Difficulties, Social Work with Senior Citizens, Case Management and Evidence-Based Autism Therapy. In the final semester, you will have sufficient time to prepare your Master’s thesis and the final colloquium. In our ‘Studium generale’, we also offer external events and courses in which overarching aspects are addressed.

Why choose us

  • An international perspective: Visiting lecturers from abroad are a key part of our study programme. In addition, we conduct practical and research projects with other universities.
  • Evidence-based autism therapy: Our degree programme offers Germany’s only university training in this area.
  • Practical relevance: We always involve partners from practice. Depending on your specialisation, work placements and field trips will be a standard aspect of the programme.
  • Support: We will provide support during the study programme, e.g. in the form of advisory seminars on Master’s theses.
  • Responsiveness: Legal and administrative changes, such as the forthcoming amendment of the Psychotherapy Act (PsychThG), the trend towards greater scientific rigour and evidence basing in integration assistance, and changes in guardianship law are promptly taken into account in the curriculum.
  • Acceptance of external equivalent academic qualifications in the specialisation modules: If you already have external qualifications, such as courses in the IFA/DGVT curriculum for autism therapy or the DGCC certification in case management, these can be credited towards your academic achievements in your specialisation.

Therapie, Förderung, Betreuung (Clinical Casework) – Psychosoziale Hilfen für gesundheitlich gefährdete, erkrankte und behinderte Menschen (weiterbildender Master)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradMaster of Arts (M.A.)
FachbereichSozialwesen
StudienortMünster
Studienformberufsbegleitend
StudienbeginnWintersemester
Regelstudienzeit5 Semester
SemesterbeitragJe nach gewähltem Hörerstatus 259,54 € oder 85,44 €
Studiengebühren1600 Euro

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Nein
VorpraktikumNein
Weitere Zugangsvoraussetzungen

Für die Studienaufnahme benötigen Sie einen in- oder ausländischen Hochschulabschluss aus dem Bereich der sozialwissenschaftlichen, psychologischen, pädagogischen oder therapeutisch ausgerichteten Studienfachrichtungen mit einer Gesamtnote von mindestens „gut“ (2,3). Treffen diese Voraussetzung nicht auf Sie zu, können Sie die Qualifikation ausnahmsweise auch anderweitig nachweisen. Genaue Informationen finden Sie auf unserer Homepage.


Einschlägige Berufstätigkeit (mindestens 1.800 Stunden) nach dem ersten berufsqualifizierenden Hochschulabschluss.
Bewerbung zum StudiengangDas Studium beginnt im Zweijahresturnus zum Wintersemester 2016/2017 und dann wieder zum Wintersemester 2018/2019. In Einzelfällen kann eine Zulassung in umgekehrter Studienreihenfolge (erst Vertiefungen, dann Grundlagen) zum Wintersemester 2017/2018 erfolgen; hier sind die Kapazitäten in den gewählten Vertiefungen für die Zulassung entscheidend. Die Bewerbungsfrist für das WS 2016/17 endet am 15. Juli 2016. Erst nach der inhaltlichen Vorprüfung durch den Zulassungsausschuss des Studiengangs erfolgt die formale Registrierung in der Online-Bewerbung des Service Office für Studierende.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Im Gesundheitswesen sowie in der Alten- und Behindertenarbeit werden zunehmend spezialisierte Kenntnisse und Handlungskompetenzen benötigt. Aber auch Berufstätige in Beratungseinrichtungen, der Jugend- und Sozialhilfe oder der Arbeitsvermittlung werden zunehmend mit gesundheitsbezogenen Problemen sowie mit komplexen, den jeweils originären Zuständigkeitsbereich überschreitenden Aspekten konfrontiert. Gerade an den Schnittstellen zwischen Gesundheits-, Sozial- und Bildungssystem sind übergreifende Perspektiven gefragt. Unser Masterstudiengang Clinical Casework bereitet Sie auf diese Herausforderungen vor.

Ziele

Nach dem Studienabschluss verfügen Sie über vertiefte Kenntnisse im Gesundheitssystem und seinen angrenzenden Bereichen. Sie kennen die aktuellen gesundheits- und sozialpolitischen Diskussionen und deren Auswirkungen auf Adressaten und Akteure. Wir vermitteln Ihnen Instrumente der Diagnostik und Methoden der Intervention bei gesundheitsbezogenen Fragestellungen. Je nach Tätigkeitsfeld setzen Sie diese selbst ein oder sind kompetenter Kooperationspartner für andere Disziplinen. Evidenzbasierung und Orientierung am aktuellen wissenschaftlichen Kenntnisstand ziehen sich durch alle Module, sodass Sie eine Lotsenfunktion in einem unübersichtlichen Feld übernehmen können.

Berufsfelder

Der Masterstudiengang ermöglicht Ihnen nach derzeitiger Rechtslage den Zugang zur Approbationsausbildung für die Kinder- und Jugendlichenpsychotherapie und eröffnet Ihnen dadurch eine hochqualifizierte freiberufliche Laufbahn. Andere Absolventen übernehmen spezialisierte Fach-, Stabs- oder Leitungsfunktionen im Gesundheitswesen, der Behindertenarbeit und deren Nachbarbereichen. Die bundesweit einzige Hochschulqualifikation in evidenzbasierter Autismustherapie prädestiniert Sie zudem für eine Tätigkeit in entsprechenden Therapiezentren. Ein weiteres Arbeitsfeld stellt die „inklusive Schule“ dar. Zudem können Sie sich mit Ihrem Masterabschluss auch wissenschaftlich weiterqualifizieren und ggfs. eine Promotion anschließen.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Unser Studiengang gibt Ihnen die Möglichkeit, Studium, Arbeit und Familie zu vereinbaren. Die Präsenzphasen finden überwiegend freitags und samstags in der Vorlesungszeit statt. Hinzu kommen Blockveranstaltungen über ein bis zwei Wochen pro Semester. Teile der Inhalte werden in Zukunft auch als Onlinemodul und in Studienbriefen angeboten.

In den ersten beiden Semestern besuchen Sie Grundlagenmodule, zum Beispiel „Soziale Arbeit im Gesundheitswesen“, „körperliche und psychische Erkrankungen und Behinderungen“ oder „Methoden und Instrumente der Diagnostik und Intervention“. Aufbauend schärfen Sie durch die Wahl zweier Vertiefungsmodule zielgerichtet Ihr Profil, zum Beispiel in Richtung Kinder- und Jugendlichenpsychotherapie, Förderung von Kindern mit Entwicklungs- und Lernbeeinträchtigungen, Sozialer Altenarbeit, Case Management oder evidenzbasierter Autismustherapie. Im letzten Semester haben Sie dann ausreichend Zeit für Ihre Masterarbeit und das Abschlusskolloquium. Im Rahmen des „Studium generale“ bieten wir zudem externe Angebote und Veranstaltungen an, in denen übergreifende Aspekte bearbeitet werden.

Das spricht für uns

  • Internationalität: In unserem Studienprogramm wirken auswärtige Gastdozenten mit. Zudem führen wir gemeinsame Praxis- und Forschungsvorhaben mit anderen Hochschulen durch.
  • „Evidenzbasierte Autismustherapie“: In diesem Bereich bietet unser Studiengang die einzige Hochschulausbildung in Deutschland.
  • Praxisnähe: Wir binden stetig Partner aus der Praxis ein. Je nach Vertiefungsmodul sind daher Praktika und Exkursionen feste Bestandteile der Ausbildung.
  • Unterstützung: Wir unterstützen Sie im Studium, zum Beispiel durch Begleitseminare zu den Masterarbeiten.
  • Aktualität: rechtliche und administrative Neuerungen wie die anstehende Novellierung des PsychThG und die Entwicklung hin zu mehr Wissenschaftlichkeit und Evidenzbasierung in der Eingliederungshilfe, aber auch Veränderungen im Betreuungsrecht werden jeweils zeitnah curricular berücksichtigt.
  • Anerkennung externer wissenschaftlich gleichwertiger Qualifikationen in den Vertiefungsmodulen: Wenn Sie bereits über externe Qualifikationen wie das IFA/DGVT-Curriculum Autismustherapie oder die DGCC-Zertifizierung im Case Management verfügen, können diese auf die Studienleistungen im Vertiefungsbereich angerechnet werden.