Vocational Education in Health Care - subject area Therapy (Bachelor)

Brief overview

DegreeBachelor of Arts (B.A.)
DepartmentMünster School of Health
SiteMünster
IntakeWinter semester
Standard period of study6 semesters
Semester fee€ 276,21 / semester

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions Local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementNo
Additional entrance requirementsIn order to enrol for this degree programme, you must have completed an apprenticeship in physiotherapy, occupational therapy or speech therapy. The Examination Office may accept academic achievements from a Bachelor’s degree in therapeutic professions on request.
ApplicationThe next application phase
commences in Mai 2018.

Detailed description of the degree programme

The professional therapy of people in need is a central task in the health system – and an occupational field that is becoming increasingly challenging. It is increasingly important that staff in the therapeutic professions receive training and continuing education, hence the growing need for qualified educationalists. Our degree programme is the ideal way to get you started in the varied vocational education involved in the therapeutic professions.

Objectives

Changes in social, economic, health policy and demographic framework conditions are leading to a shift in the fields of activity and the importance of the therapeutic professions. The further development of the therapeutic professions is already apparent in changes to training structures. For example, the changes in undergraduate, dual and part-time degree programmes brought about by legislators enable students to obtain a university degree in Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy and Speech Therapy.

So far, however, therapists have mainly undergone continuing education in order to gain the educational qualification required to teach at schools in the health system, for example. By studying Vocational Education in Health Care - subject area Therapy, graduates will be able to work in vocational education for the therapeutic professions with an academic qualification. Students gain extensive expertise for vocational education activities in therapy by pursuing a Bachelor programme, followed by a Master’s degree.

One central objective of the Bachelor programme is for qualified therapists to gain a teaching qualification, enabling them to pursue this profession. Great importance is attached to transferring theory to practice; small study groups are conducive to intense, interdisciplinary work, particularly in vocational studies.

Occupational fields

Our Bachelor programme will qualify you to teach within training and continuing education, and to provide advice, counselling and instruction to staff in the therapeutic professions, patients and their relatives. Adult education institutions will be your main potential employers. If you wish to teach at schools for health and therapeutic professions, you will also need to complete a Master’s degree. Münster University of Applied Sciences offers a Master’s programme in Education of Health Professionals.

Content and course sequence

The first four semesters of the programme are divided into three conceptual areas. In Therapy and Health Sciences, you will learn the principles of evidence-based practice and therapeutic sciences. In simulated situations, you will learn, for example, how to come to a good clinical conclusion and how to communicate with patients professionally.

In the second area, you will acquire a basic knowledge of Selected Related Disciplines. How, for example, should conflicts be moderated? Which sociological or ethical models are useful for resolving practical problems? How can therapeutic services be classified and evaluated? And which legal framework applies in the health system?

To practice teaching and counselling, you will, of course, also need teaching skills. For this, you will learn the relevant methods, concepts and models in the third area: Education – Theory and Practice.

The fifth semester begins with a 12-week block of teaching practice, which will give you a deep insight into educational work in the health system. The syllabus also includes planning, implementing and evaluating a project of your choice. You will gain further insight into your future professional field if you conduct your project in cooperation with a health-care institution.

You will obtain your Bachelor of Arts degree after writing a Bachelor thesis in the sixth semester.

Why choose us

What characterises our degree programme is that theory and practice are closely interlinked. Our teaching always centres around specific practical situations to which we apply the findings from the different academic disciplines. We also attach importance to ensuring continuous exchange with health care facilities. This way, you can forge links with potential employers whilst still at university.

Berufspädagogik im Gesundheitswesen - Fachrichtung Therapie (Bachelor)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradBachelor of Arts (B.A.)
FachbereichGesundheit
StudienortMünster
StudienbeginnWintersemester
Regelstudienzeit6 Semester
Semesterbeitrag276,21 € (Sommersemester 2018)

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Ja
VorpraktikumNein
Weitere ZugangsvoraussetzungenVoraussetzung für die Einschreibung ist eine Berufsausbildung in der Physiotherapie, Ergotherapie oder Logopädie. Studienleistungen aus einem Bachelorabschluss in den Therapieberufen können auf Antrag beim Prüfungsamt anerkannt werden.
Bewerbung zum StudiengangDie nächste Bewerbungsphase
beginnt im Mai 2018.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Die professionelle Therapie hilfsbedürftiger Menschen ist eine zentrale Aufgabe des Gesundheitswesens – und ein Berufsfeld, das zunehmend anspruchsvoller wird. Die Bedeutung der Aus-, Fort- und Weiterbildung des Personals in Therapieberufen wächst und damit auch der Bedarf an entsprechend ausgebildeten Pädagogen. Unser Studiengang bietet Ihnen einen idealen Einstieg für die vielfältige Arbeit in der Berufspädagogik für Therapieberufe.

Ziele

Veränderungen sozialer, ökonomischer, gesundheitspolitischer und demographischer Rahmenbedingungen führen zu einem Wandel der Tätigkeitsfelder und der Bedeutung der Therapieberufe. Eine Weiterentwicklung der Therapieberufe zeigt sich bereits in Veränderungen der Ausbildungsstrukturen. So ermöglichen es die vom Gesetzgeber geschaffenen Änderungen in grundständigen, dualen oder berufsbegleitenden Studiengängen einen Hochschulabschluss in Physiotherapie, Ergotherapie und Logopädie zu erwerben.

Die pädagogische Qualifizierung von Therapeutinnen und Therapeuten zu z.B. Lehrerinnen und Lehrern an Schulen im Gesundheitswesen erfolgt jedoch bislang überwiegend durch Weiterbildungen. Durch das Studium der Berufspädagogik im Gesundheitswesen mit der Fachrichtung Therapie eröffnet sich die zukunftsfähige Möglichkeit einer akademischen Qualifikation für das Arbeitsfeld der Berufspädagogik in den Therapieberufen. In einer konsekutiven Bachelor-Master Abfolge erreichen die Studierenden umfassende Kompetenzen für berufspädagogische Tätigkeiten in der Therapie.

Ein zentrales Ziel des Bachelor-Studiengangs ist es, ausgebildeten Therapeutinnen und Therapeuten den Erwerb einer ersten berufsbefähigenden pädagogischen Qualifizierung zu ermöglichen. Der Theorie-Praxis-Transfer wird großgeschrieben und das Studieren in einer kleinen Gruppe ermöglicht speziell in der Berufswissenschaft ein intensives, interdisziplinäres Arbeiten.

Berufsfelder

Unser Bachelorstudiengang qualifiziert Sie für die pädagogische Arbeit in der Aus-, Fort- und Weiterbildung sowie für die Beratung und Anleitung von Personal in Therapieberufen, Patienten und Angehörigen. Als Arbeitgeber kommen vor allem Einrichtungen der Erwachsenenbildung infrage. Wenn Sie an Schulen für Gesundheits- und Therapieberufe lehren möchten, benötigen Sie ein weiterführendes Masterstudium. Die FH Münster bietet hierfür den Masterstudiengang „Bildung im Gesundheitswesen“ an.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Die ersten vier Semester Ihres Studiums gliedern sich in drei konzeptionelle Felder. In den „Therapie- und Gesundheitswissenschaften“ vermitteln wir Ihnen Grundlagen der evidenzbasierten Praxis und der Therapiewissenschaft. Nah an der beruflichen Praxis lernen Sie hier zum Beispiel, wie Sie zu einer guten klinischen Schlussfolgerung gelangen oder professionell mit Patienten kommunizieren.

Im zweiten Feld erwerben Sie ein Basiswissen in ausgewählten Bezugsdisziplinen. Wie zum Beispiel moderiert man Konflikte? Welche soziologischen oder ethischen Modelle helfen bei der Lösung von praktischen Problemen? Wie lassen sich Therapieangebote klassifizieren und evaluieren? Und welche rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen gelten im Gesundheitswesen?

Für Ihre Tätigkeit in der Lehr- und Beratungspraxis benötigen Sie natürlich auch pädagogische und didaktische Kompetenzen. Entsprechende Methoden, Konzepte und Modelle eignen Sie sich im dritten Feld „Bildungswissenschaften – Theorie und Praxis“ an.

Das fünfte Semester startet dann mit einer 12-wöchigen Praxisphase. Hier erhalten Sie einen tieferen Einblick in die pädagogische Arbeit im Gesundheitswesen. Zum Studienprogramm zählt darüber hinaus die Planung, Durchführung und Evaluation eines selbst gewählten Projektes. Auch hierbei erhalten Sie Einblicke in Ihre spätere Berufspraxis, wenn das Projekt in Kooperation mit einer Einrichtung aus dem Gesundheitsbereich erfolgt.

Im sechsten Semester schreiben Sie dann Ihre Bachelorarbeit und schließen damit Ihr Studium mit dem Titel „Bachelor of Arts“ ab.

Das spricht für uns

Was unseren Studiengang auszeichnet, ist die enge Verknüpfung von Theorie und Praxis. Im Zentrum unserer Lehre steht immer die konkrete Praxissituation, auf die wir die Erkenntnisse der verschiedenen Wissenschaftsdisziplinen anwenden. Zudem legen wir Wert auf einen kontinuierlichen Austausch mit Einrichtungen des Gesundheitsbereichs. So können Sie schon während des Studiums wertvolle Kontakte zu späteren potenziellen Arbeitgebern knüpfen.

Studienverlaufsplan