Counselling, Mediation, Coaching (Master)

Brief overview

DegreeMaster of Arts (M.A.)
DepartmentDepartment of Social Work
SiteMünster
Special type of studypart-time, executive, self-improvement
IntakeSummer semester
Standard period of study5 semesters
Semester feeFull rate € 276,21 / reduced rate € 92,81
Tuition fee1852,00 Euro / Semester

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions No local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementNo
Additional entrance requirements

First professional degree:
You will need an undergraduate degree in Social Work, Education, Nursing or Health with a grade of 2.3 or better. Exceptions will be examined on a case-by-case basis.


Occupation:
You must demonstrate that you have had at least one year’s relevant work experience since completing your undergraduate degree.
ApplicationPlease apply first to the Department of Social Work.

Once the programme-specific admission requirements have been verified and you have received confirmation from the course director, apply online to enrol at the university.

Detailed description of the degree programme

People generally have more options about how they want to live their lives than ever before. At the same time, these options and development processes are often limited by inner and outer conflict. This leads to an increased demand for counselling, mediation and coaching. Our Master’s programme will train you to become an expert who is able to counsel and coach people professionally and to solve conflict in a forward-looking manner.

Objectives

During the programme, you will develop your own counselling, mediation and coaching style. After completing the programme, you will be conversant with psychological and social science communication models, and will be aware of the legal possibilities and limitations. You will address ethical issues and develop your own stance. After completing your degree, you will be able to apply the techniques required to enable you to deal with situations professionally and appropriately.

Occupational fields

The Master’s degree will enable you to gain access to positions in the senior civil service. You will also meet the educational requirements of the Bundesverband Mediation (BM) for certification as a Mediator, the Deutscher Coaching Verband (DCV) for certification as a Coach, and the Berufsverband für Beratung, Pädagogik und Psychotherapie (BVPPT) for classification as a Counsellor or Educational/Therapeutic Counsellor. You will also be entitled to pursue a doctorate.

Content and course sequence

Our degree programme accentuates the similarities of formats in counselling, mediation and coaching. It deals with these formats in parallel, enabling you to familiarise yourself with a wide range of methods. We focus on application and self-experience, which is why you will study in small groups and participate in peer coaching and supervision. In the second half of the programme, you will start work on your theoretical and practical project, which will lead into your Master’s thesis. In your thesis, you will develop and evaluate innovative forms of communicative intervention.

Most on-campus classes are held on the weekend (Fridays from 14:00 to 21:00 and Saturdays from 09:00 to 17:00). Moreover, a week of mandatory attendance is held at the start of the programme as well as up to two weeks in the classroom in the first two academic years. All course dates through to the degree ceremony will be scheduled by the time you start studying.

Why choose us

  • Our walk-in counselling, mediation and coaching clinic at the department will enable you to learn from real-life cases and to experience your new role first hand.
  • We professionally film real-life procedures at the walk-in clinic, and use this footage as teaching material in class and during supervision.

Beratung Mediation Coaching (Master)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradMaster of Arts (M.A.)
FachbereichSozialwesen
StudienortMünster
StudienformTeilzeitstudium, berufsbegleitend, weiterbildend
StudienbeginnSommersemester
Regelstudienzeit5 Semester
SemesterbeitragVollzahler 261,94 Euro / Teilzahler 85,44 Euro
Studiengebühren1852,00 Euro / Semester

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Nein
VorpraktikumNein
Weitere Zugangsvoraussetzungen

Erster Hochschulabschluss:
Erforderlich ist ein erster Hochschulabschluss in der Sozialen Arbeit, der Pädagogik, der Pflege oder der Gesundheit mit einer Note von mindestens 2,3. Bei Abweichungen sind Einzelfallprüfungen möglich.


Berufstätigkeit:
Nachweis einer mindestens einjährigen einschlägigen Berufstätigkeit nach dem ersten Hochschulabschluss.
Bewerbung zum StudiengangDie Anmeldung erfolgt zunächst direkt über den Fachbereich Sozialwesen.

Erst nach Überprüfung der studiengangspezifischen Zugangsvoraussetzungen und der Bestätigung der Teilnahme durch die Studiengangsleitung können Sie in der Online-Bewerbung die Zulassung beantragen.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Die Handlungsoptionen haben im Leben vieler Menschen zugenommen. Zugleich werden Optionen und Entwicklungsprozesse oft durch innere und äußere Konflikte eingeschränkt. Dadurch steigt die Nachfrage nach Beratung, Mediation und Coaching. Unser Masterstudiengang bildet Sie zur Fachkraft aus, die Menschen professionell berät und coacht sowie die Konflikte zukunftsorientiert löst.

Ziele

Während Ihres Studiums entwickeln Sie Ihr eigenes Beratungs-, Mediations- und Coachingprofil. Nach Studienabschluss beherrschen Sie psychologische und sozialwissenschaftliche Kommunikationsmodelle und kennen rechtliche Möglichkeiten und Grenzen. Sie setzen sich mit ethischen Fragen auseinander und entwickeln eine eigene Haltung. Nach Ihrem Studium verfügen Sie über Techniken, mit deren Hilfe Sie professionell und situationsangemessen handeln.

Berufsfelder

Mit Ihrem Masterabschluss haben Sie Zugang zum Höheren Dienst in der öffentlichen Verwaltung. Zudem erfüllen Sie die Ausbildungsvoraussetzungen des Bundesverbands Mediation (BM) für die Zertifizierung als Mediator/in, des Deutschen Coaching Verbands (DCV) für die Zertifizierung als Coach sowie des Berufsverbands für Beratung, Pädagogik und Psychotherapie (BVPPT) für die Graduierung als Counselor/Pädagogisch-Therapeutischer Berater. Außerdem sind Sie zur Promotion berechtigt.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Unser Studiengang betont die Gemeinsamkeiten der Formate Beratung, Mediation und Coaching. Sie setzen sich parallel mit den Formaten auseinander und können auf diese Weise eine größere Vielfalt an Methoden kennenlernen. Anwendung und Selbsterfahrung stehen bei uns im Vordergrund. Sie studieren daher in kleinen Gruppen und nehmen an Inter- und Supervisionen teil. In der zweiten Studienhälfte startet Ihr Theorie- und Praxisprojekt, das in die Masterarbeit mündet. Darin entwickeln und evaluieren Sie innovative Formen kommunikativer Intervention.

Die Präsenzzeiten liegen zumeist an Wochenenden (freitags von 14 bis 21 Uhr, samstags von 9 bis 17 Uhr). Daneben gibt es zu Beginn Ihres Studiums eine Präsenzwoche und in den ersten beiden Studienjahren jeweils bis zu zwei Präsenzwochen.  Wenn Sie mit dem Studium beginnen, stehen alle Studientermine bis zur Abschlussfeier fest.

Das spricht für uns

  • Unsere Beratungs-/Mediations- und Coaching-Ambulanz am Fachbereich bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit, an echten Fällen zu lernen und sich in Ihrer neuen Rolle zu erfahren.
  • Wir filmen echte Verfahren in der Ambulanz professionell und machen diese zum Gegenstand von Lehrveranstaltungen und Supervision.