Computer Science (Part-time) (Master)

Brief overview

DegreeMaster of Science (M. Sc.)
DepartmentDepartment of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
SiteSteinfurt
Special type of studypart-time, executive
IntakeWinter semester & summer semester
Standard period of study6 semesters
Semester fee€ 276,21 / semester
Tuition feeno longer applicable since winter semester 2011/2012

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions No local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementNo
Additional entrance requirements

First professional degree:
In order to be admitted to the degree programme, you must demonstrate that you have an undergraduate degree in Computer Science or a related subject with an overall grade of ‘good’ (2.5) or better. In exceptional cases, you may also prove your eligibility by demonstrating that you have carried out particularly impressive achievements after completing your undergraduate degree, such as in your professional work, or in the second half of your Bachelor’s programme, or that your final thesis had a particular relevance to computer science.

ApplicationThe closing date for applications
is on 28.02.2018.

Apply online

Detailed description of the degree programme

Software has become an integral part of our daily life: from mobile apps and cloud computing, to embedded systems and complex industrial plants. Sound knowledge is required in order to devise and implement solutions in the dynamic sphere of computer science. In this respect, the lines between research and development, application orientation and practical implementation are blurred. With your Master’s degree, you will be able to meet these high demands.

Objectives

You will expand and enhance your specialist knowledge, creating the basis for undertaking a role of responsibility in a company or for working in an academic environment. In the Master’s programme, you will be intensively engaged in complex issues that are often of an interdisciplinary nature. You will work on current topics from the field of research and development, requiring and promoting the use of academic methods and working practices.

Occupational fields

After completing the degree programme, you will be in high demand wherever both theoretical understanding and practical implementation skills are expected. Many areas of activity will be open to you. You could work for a software company, in the IT department of a medium-sized or large company, in an industrial environment or in an interdisciplinary manner in various fields of work. At work, you will devise and implement complex software solutions. Or you may make a major contribution to a product that can only be accomplished through cooperation across several departments.

Content and course sequence

For four semesters of the three-year part-time degree programme, you will study half of the modules intended for a full-time programme a few days a week. Of these six semesters, one semester – always in winter – is set aside for full-time study.

You will take basic modules such as Mathematical Methods and Embedded Systems. You will expand your research abilities in your Master’s seminar by working with academic publications and new topic areas. Modules such as Information Law and Business Management will ensure that you develop your skills beyond computer science, qualifying you for management tasks. In the Technology and Society module, you will also reflect on ethical issues concerning the use of technology.

In the course of your studies, you will encounter up-to-date specialist modules on topics such as Distributed Information Systems, Quantum Computing, Pattern Recognition and Machine Learning, Cryptography and Security.

By choosing your core elective modules carefully, you will be able to raise your individual profile. Thematic areas such as Internet Engineering, Parallel Systems, Ubiquitous Computing, and Contemporary Web Software Architectures as well as modules at the intersection of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering will offer you the necessary flexibility to shape your studies to your needs.

Why choose us

  • Practice-relevant project orientation: Working in teams, you will develop solutions or products, often in the context of research projects with partners from industry and business. Special emphasis is placed here on the two-semester Master’s project, where you will concentrate intensely on your own chosen topic for a longer period.
  • Flexibility: You will be well oriented to the needs of today’s job market because the programme offers a wide choice of subject-specific areas of study as well as in-depth core elective modules.
  • Industry contacts: In your projects, you will directly apply your knowledge to real-world situations, simultaneously preparing you for tasks in a professional environment. Our many contacts will make this easier for you.
  • Technology and more: The Master’s programme is not only limited to specialised training. On the contrary, you will also concern yourself with issues and consequences surrounding current and future solutions to everyday life.

Informatik in Teilzeit (Master)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradMaster of Science (M. Sc.)
FachbereichElektrotechnik und Informatik
StudienortSteinfurt
StudienformTeilzeitstudium, berufsbegleitend
StudienbeginnWintersemester & Sommersemester
Regelstudienzeit6 Semester
Semesterbeitrag276,21 € (Sommersemester 2018)
Studiengebührenentfällt seit dem Wintersemester 2011/2012

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Nein
VorpraktikumNein
Weitere Zugangsvoraussetzungen

Erster Hochschulabschluss:
Für die Zulassung müssen Sie einen Hochschulabschluss auf dem Gebiet der Informatik oder verwandten Fachrichtung mit einer Gesamtnote von mindestens „gut“ (2,5) nachweisen. In Ausnahmefällen können Sie den Nachweis auch durch besonders qualifizierte Leistungen nach dem ersten Hochschulabschluss erbringen, etwa in der beruflichen Tätigkeit oder einer besonders informatikrelevanten Abschlussarbeit. In Ausnahmefällen können Sie den Nachweis auch durch besonders qualifizierte Leistungen in der beruflichen Tätigkeit in der zweiten Hälfte oder nach dem ersten Hochschulabschluss oder durch eine besonders informatikrelevante Abschlussarbeit erbringen.

Bewerbung zum StudiengangDie Bewerbungsfrist
endet am 28.02.2018.

Zur Online-Bewerbung

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Software ist im täglichen Leben nicht mehr wegzudenken: Von mobilen Apps bis hin zum Cloud Computing, von eingebetteten Systemen bis hin zu komplexen Industrieanlagen. Die Konzeption und Implementierung von Lösungen im dynamischen Feld der Informatik erfordert fundierte Kenntnisse. Dabei sind die Grenzen zwischen Forschung und Entwicklung, Anwendungsorientierung und praktischer Umsetzung fließend. Mit Ihrem Masterabschluss sind Sie in der Lage, diese hohen Anforderungen zu bewältigen.

Ziele

Sie erweitern und vertiefen Ihr Fachwissen und schaffen die Grundlage zur Übernahme einer verantwortlichen Rolle in einem Unternehmen oder die Tätigkeit im wissenschaftlichen Umfeld. Im Masterstudiengang Informatik setzen Sie sich mit komplexen, oft interdisziplinären Fragestellungen intensiv auseinander. Die Arbeit an aktuellen Themen aus Forschung und Entwicklung fordert und fördert den Einsatz wissenschaftlicher Methoden und Arbeitsweisen.

Berufsfelder

Nach Ihrem Studium sind Sie dort gefragt, wo neben Theorieverständnis auch praktische Umsetzungskompetenz erwartet wird. Ihre Einsatzgebiete gestalten sich vielfältig. Sie können in Software-Unternehmen arbeiten, in IT-Abteilungen mittelständischer und großer Konzerne, im industriellen Umfeld oder auch interdisziplinär in unterschiedlichsten Arbeitsfeldern. Hier konzeptionieren und implementieren Sie komplexe Software-Lösungen. Oder Sie tragen zentral zu einem Produkt bei, das nur durch die fächerübergreifende Zusammenarbeit realisiert werden kann.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

In dem dreijährigen Teilzeit-Studiengang studieren Sie vier Semester jeweils die Hälfte der Module eines Vollzeitstudiums an wenigen Tagen in der Woche. Eines der insgesamt sechs Semester - immer ein Wintersemester - ist ein Vollzeitsemester.

Sie belegen Basismodule wie Mathematische Methoden und Eingebettete Systeme. Ihre wissenschaftliche Kompetenz erweitern Sie im Masterseminar, in dem Sie sich mit wissenschaftlichen Publikationen und neuen Themenfeldern auseinandersetzen. Module wie Informationsrecht und Unternehmensführung erweitern Ihre Kompetenzen über die Informatik hinaus und qualifizieren Sie für Managementaufgaben. Zudem reflektieren Sie im Modul Technik und Gesellschaft ethische Fragen des Einsatzes von Technologie.

Im Studienverlauf treffen Sie dann auf aktuelle fachspezifische Module zu Themen wie verteilte Informationssysteme, Quantum Computing, Mustererkennung und maschinelles Lernen, Kryptografie und Security.

Durch eine zielgerichtete Auswahl von Wahlpflichtmodulen können Sie Ihr individuelles Profil schärfen. Themenfelder wie Internet Engineering, Parallele Systeme, Ubiquitous Computing, aktuelle Web-Softwarearchitekturen sowie auch Module an der Schnittstelle zwischen Informatik und Elektrotechnik bieten dazu die notwendige flexible Studiengestaltung.

Das spricht für uns

  • Praxisnahe Projektorientierung: In Teamarbeit entwickeln Sie Lösungen oder Produkte, häufig im Rahmen von Forschungsprojekten mit Kooperationspartnern aus der Industrie und Wirtschaft. Hier ist das zweisemestrige Masterprojekt hervorzuheben, in dem Sie sich intensiv über einen längeren Zeitraum einem Thema widmen.
  • Flexibilität: Hohe Arbeitsmarktorientierung durch das Studium mit fachbezogener breiter Ausbildungsrichtung und vertiefenden Wahlpflichtmodulen.
  • Unternehmenskontakte: In Ihren Projekten wenden Sie Wissen direkt in der Praxis an und bereiten sich gleichzeitig auf die Aufgaben in der Berufswelt vor. Dabei unterstützen wir Sie mit unseren zahlreichen Kontakten zu Unternehmen.
  • Technologie und mehr: Der Master beschränkt sich nicht auf die Fachbildung. Vielmehr befassen Sie sich darüber hinaus mit den Fragestellungen und Konsequenzen für heutige und zukünftige Lösungen in unserem Alltag.