Architecture (Bachelor)

Brief overview

DegreeBachelor of Arts (B.A.)
DepartmentMünster School of Architecture
SiteMünster
IntakeWinter semester
Standard period of study6 semesters
Semester fee€ 276,21 / semester

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions No local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementBefore you can start this Bachelor programme, you must have completed a construction site placement lasting at least 13 weeks. You can complete your placement in various areas of construction; however, you must work for the same establishment for a minimum of four weeks. By the time you start studying, you will need to demonstrate that you have completed at least six weeks of your placement. You have until the start of the third semester to demonstrate that you have completed the remaining weeks of your placement.
Additional entrance requirementsWe will decide whether you can be admitted to the programme in the course of a two-part application process. This process will also give you a first impression of the subject of architecture, enabling you to perhaps reconsider your study choice. The first part of the application process involves testing your artistic/creative aptitude. All students must pass this test before being admitted to the second part of the application process. To demonstrate your artistic/creative aptitude, you must prepare a portfolio containing 15 to 20 samples of your work, at least five of which should address a specific topic. If you pass the artistic/creative aptitude test, we will invite you for an interview. During the interview, you and two professors will reflect on your decision to study architecture.
ApplicationThe closing date for applications to take the aptitude test is 7 May 2017. Please apply online to Münster School of Architecture (see above for the link). Only those who pass the aptitude test can enrol at Münster University of Applied Sciences; this must be done online by 15 August.

Detailed description of the degree programme

Architects produce buildings, working creatively with a variety of media and methods – nowadays, they have a multitude of skills. They have broad specialist knowledge covering disciplines such as design and construction, as well as economic, social and cultural aspects.

Objectives

After completing your Bachelor programme at Münster University of Applied Sciences, you will possess skills in the various areas of architecture, including design, construction and technical skills. You will be able to identify architectural problems, develop and communicate solutions, and manage complex projects. During the process, you will weigh up the different approaches and develop your own architectural position.

Occupational fields

With a Bachelor’s degree in Architecture, you will be able to enter the world of work straight away. Possible fields include building planning, site management, project development and management, facility management or creative occupational fields – our application-oriented study programme will ensure that you are perfectly prepared for this work. Alternatively, you may want to enhance your knowledge and pursue a Master’s degree, which would enable you to use the protected professional title of ‘Architect’. With this title, you would be able to work as a self-employed architect.

Content and course sequence

In the Bachelor programme in Architecture, you will learn basic expertise and methodological skills in the core areas of the building and construction industry.

Which factors make a building safe and stable? You will learn the answers to questions like this in your first academic year, in modules on Materials Technology, Structures, and Structural Design. At a later stage of the programme, you will take modules from the multifaceted area of architecture – from Construction Management to the History of Architecture. Our wide range of courses will give you considerable freedom and many options: after all, many roads lead to Rome!

Our ‘toolbox’ of skills will accompany you throughout your studies. This toolbox will help you to understand and take in the complex design process – a central element of the course. You will start using these tools in the first semester, beginning with simple spatial exercises in design basics, and will progress to design individual buildings and even plan a whole city.

Why choose us

  • Creative environment: MSA | Münster School of Architecture is located on the Leonardo Campus, a stone’s throw from the Academy of Fine Arts and Münster School of Design. Here you will have the use of studios, workshops, a modern photo studio, 3D printers, robots, laser cutters and a specialist library. Take advantage of the special atmosphere of this creative environment to bring your ideas to life!
  • Special teaching culture: We teach architecture in an application-oriented manner. Each topic area is addressed by highly qualified professors with an international track record in design. Teaching takes place in small groups, involving discussions with your professors. Student tutors also assist in the teaching.
  • International outlook: You will learn about architecture from a number of angles. We involve international visiting professors in our teaching, and offer various seminars in English from the first semester. You can also opt to take other foreign languages.
  • High standards: Münster School of Architecture has an outstanding reputation, not only in Germany but also internationally. The quality of our training is reflected in the top ratings achieved in university rankings.

Architektur (Bachelor)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradBachelor of Arts (B.A.)
FachbereichArchitektur
StudienortMünster
StudienbeginnWintersemester
Regelstudienzeit6 Semester
Semesterbeitrag276,21 € (Sommersemester 2018)

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Nein
VorpraktikumBevor Sie Ihr Bachelorstudium aufnehmen können, müssen Sie ein Baustellenpraktikum von mindestens 13 Wochen absolvieren. Das Praktikum kann in verschiedenen Bereichen des Hochbaus absolviert werden, wobei mindestens vier Wochen im selben Betrieb abzuleisten sind. Zu Studienbeginn benötigen wir von Ihnen den Nachweis über mindestens sechs Praktikumswochen. Die verbleibende Praktikumszeit können Sie auch nachträglich bis zum Beginn des dritten Semesters nachweisen.
Weitere ZugangsvoraussetzungenÜber Ihre Zulassung zum Studium entscheiden wir in einem zweiteiligen Bewerbungsverfahren, das auch Ihnen die Chance geben soll, erste Einblicke in das Thema Architektur zu gewinnen und Ihre Studienentscheidung zu überprüfen. Das Bewerbungsverfahren beinhaltet zum einen die Prüfung Ihrer künstlerisch-gestalterischen Eignung, deren Bestehen Zulassungsvoraussetzung Nummer eins ist. Sie fertigen dazu eine Arbeitsmappe mit 15 bis 20 Arbeitsproben an, von denen mindestens fünf ein spezielles Thema behandeln. Zum anderen laden wir Sie zu einem persönlichen Bewerbungsgespräch ein. Hier wägen Sie gemeinsam mit zwei Professoren Ihren Entschluss für das Architekturstudium ab.
Bewerbung zum StudiengangDer Bewerbungsschluss für die Prüfung zur Eignungsfeststellung ist der 07. Mai 2017. Sie bewerben sich online im Fachbereich (Link siehe oben). Erst nach bestandener Eignungsprüfung können Sie Ihre Einschreibung bis zum 15.08. an der Fachhochschule Münster online beantragen.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Sie erschaffen Gebäude, arbeiten kreativ, multimedial und methodisch – Architekten sind heute echte Allrounder. Sie verfügen über ein breites Fachwissen, das neben den Disziplinen, wie Entwerfen und Konstruieren, auch wirtschaftliche, soziale und kulturelle Aspekte umfasst.

Ziele

Nach Ihrem Bachelorstudium an der FH Münster verfügen Sie über Kompetenzen in den verschiedenen architektonischen Handlungsfeldern. Dazu gehören beispielsweise der Entwurf und die Konstruktion aber auch technische Fähigkeiten. Sie sind in der Lage, architektonische Probleme zu identifizieren, Lösungen zu entwickeln und zu kommunizieren sowie komplexe Projekte zu steuern. Dabei wägen Sie verschiedene Herangehensweisen gegeneinander ab und entwickeln eine eigene architektonische Position.

Berufsfelder

Mit Ihrem Bachelorabschluss in Architektur können Sie direkt in die Praxis einsteigen, zum Beispiel in der Gebäudeplanung, Bauleitung, Projektentwicklung und -steuerung, im Facility Management oder in gestalterischen Berufsfeldern – unser anwendungsorientiertes Studium bereitet Sie bestens darauf vor. Alternativ können Sie Ihr Wissen auch in einem Masterstudium vertiefen und so den geschützten Berufstitel „Architekt“ erwerben und damit die Berechtigung zur selbstständigen Arbeit.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Das Bachelorstudium Architektur vermittelt Ihnen grundlegendes Fachwissen und Methodenkompetenz in den Kernbereichen des Bauwesens.

Welche Faktoren machen ein Gebäude sicher und stabil? Antworten auf diese und andere Fragen erhalten Sie im ersten Studienjahr, in den Modulen „Materialtechnologie“, „Tragwerkslehre“ oder „Baukonstruktion". Im weiteren Studienverlauf belegen Sie dann Module aus dem breiten Spektrum der Architektur – vom Baumanagement bis zur Architekturgeschichte. Unsere vielfältigen Lehrangebote bieten Ihnen viele Freiheiten und Wahlmöglichkeiten: Es gibt nicht nur den einen Weg zum Ziel!

Das gesamte Studium über begleitet Sie unsere sogenannte „Toolbox“. Diese Werkzeugkiste hilft Ihnen dabei, den komplexen Entwurfsprozess – ein zentrales Thema des Studiums – zu verstehen und zu verinnerlichen. Bereits ab dem ersten Semester wenden Sie die „Tools“ an, beginnend mit einfachen räumlichen Übungen in den „Design Basics“ über den Entwurf einzelner Gebäude bis hin zur Planung einer ganzen Stadt.

Das spricht für uns

  • Kreatives Umfeld

    Die MSA | Münster School of Architecture befindet sich auf dem Leonardo-Campus, in direkter Nachbarschaft zur Kunstakademie und dem Fachbereich Design. Hier stehen Ihnen Studios und Werkstätten, ein modernes Fotostudio, 3D-Drucker, Roboter und Laser Cutter sowie eine fachspezifische Bibliothek zur Verfügung. Nutzen Sie die besondere Atmosphäre dieses kreativen Umfelds für die Umsetzung Ihrer Ideen!

  • Besondere Lehrkultur

    Unsere Architekturlehre ist anwendungsorientiert. Jedes Themenfeld besetzen hoch qualifizierte Professoren, die auch in der Praxis international erfolgreich sind. Die Lehre erfolgt in kleinen Gruppen und in engem Austausch mit den Professoren. Als Tutoren gestalten auch die Studierenden die Lehre verantwortungsvoll mit.

  • Internationalität

    Sie lernen die Architektur aus vielen Blickwinkeln kennen. Wir beziehen internationale Gastprofessoren in die Lehre ein und bieten ab dem ersten Semester diverse Seminare auch auf Englisch an. Weitere Fremdsprachen gehören zum Wahlprogramm.

  • Hohe Standards

    Unser Fachbereich genießt in Deutschland auch international einen hervorragenden Ruf. Die Qualität unserer Ausbildung belegen die Spitzenpositionen in den Rankings.

Studienverlaufsplan