Youth Welfare Service - Concept Development and Organisational Design (Master)

Brief overview

DegreeMaster of Arts (M.A.)
DepartmentDepartment of Social Work
SiteMünster
Special type of studyfull-time
IntakeWinter semester
Standard period of study4 semesters
Semester fee€ 276,21 / semester

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions Local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementNo
Additional entrance requirements

First professional degree:
In order to apply, you must have an undergraduate degree (with a normal programme length of at least six semesters) in a social science discipline with an overall grade of ‘good’ (2.3) or better.

You may not have to demonstrate that you have an undergraduate degree in a social science discipline if, in exceptional cases, you can prove that you focused on a relevant specialisation or completed an excellent relevant final thesis in your undergraduate programme, or if you have several years of relevant qualifying work experience. Our department will decide whether or not you qualify for the programme.

Aptitude test:
Please refer to the degree programme website to find out about the selection procedure and how to apply.
ApplicationYou will only be able to apply for a place in the degree programme at Münster University of Applied Sciences once the selection procedure has been completed. Application to the selection procedure does not take the place of applying online centrally to Münster University of Applied Sciences.

Detailed description of the degree programme

Successful youth welfare services require a powerful strategy. Only then will it be possible for institutions to direct their services in a targeted manner. Above all, this requires one thing: the careful planning of all processes involved.

Our Master’s programme in Youth Welfare – Concept Development and Organisational Design will instil in you the expertise required for this challenging task. It will qualify you to conduct specialist counselling services and to take on advanced training and management positions in institutions of youth welfare services.

The degree programme is geared toward graduates with degrees in Social Work and Social Education or similar disciplines who wish to develop their profile by academically exploring central themes in this field of study.

Objectives

Concept development, organisational design, and cooperation management are the three core competencies that you will develop during the degree programme. After completing the degree programme, you will be able to draw up and further develop powerful concepts in youth welfare. In addition, you will develop appropriate forms of organisation and processes for implementing these concepts with the use of academic methods. You will design these processes in a manner tailored to social and living environments by encouraging cooperation between institutions outside youth welfare.

Occupational fields

Our degree programme will prepare you for all planning and coordinating activities within youth welfare. You will be able to work in professional specialist counselling and to take on advanced training and management positions, whether for public or voluntary youth welfare organisations and associations. After completing the degree, you will also have the professional skills to qualify for positions in the senior civil service.

Content and course sequence

The Master’s programme is divided into six module areas:

1. History and Fields of Action covers the historical and comparative foundations of the field.

2. Concept Development and Life Situations focuses on social science and the socio-educational analysis of the life situations of young people. You will explore the socio-economic, health-related and socio-cultural circumstances of children, young people and families.

3. In Communication and Reflection, you will learn how to develop and evaluate concepts, and actively shape and present processes. You will take courses on quality development and evaluation, structuring and planning support, and presentation and communication.

4. How your development efforts as a specialist are received and processed in practice depends on the institution’s structures and processes. In Organisation and Management, you will therefore address the administrative and economic conditions of institutions of youth welfare services.

5. Courses in Planning and Cooperation concentrate on shaping socio-spatial cooperation networks. You will gain the necessary specialist knowledge in modules such as Youth Welfare Planning as Part of Infrastructure Development or Shaping Cooperation with Other Organisational Areas.

6. Finally, in Empirical Research and IT, you will have the opportunity to explore your own research issues within a practical research project. You will also deal with information technologies, which are essential in youth work.

Our Master’s programme is designed for full-time study. The period of mandatory attendance is two whole working days a week, as well as one or two weeks of block classes per semester.

Why choose us

Our degree programme, which is unique in Germany, is characterised by its creative environment. We enable the pursuit of a study programme that is oriented closely to everyday professional life, integrating and taking into account the latest trends in youth welfare. You will learn in a productive, practice-oriented manner, while you work in small groups to help comprehend subject content. During your practical research project, you will be able to gain knowledge that can then be applied directly to professional practice.




Further information:

Jugendhilfe - Konzeptionsentwicklung und Organisationsgestaltung (Master)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradMaster of Arts (M.A.)
FachbereichSozialwesen
StudienortMünster
StudienbeginnWintersemester
Regelstudienzeit4 Semester
Semesterbeitrag259,54 € (Wintersemester 2016/2017)
Studiengebührenentfallen seit Wintersemester 2011/2012

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Ja
VorpraktikumNein
Weitere Zugangsvorraussetzungen

Erster anerkannter berufsqualifizierender Hochschulabschluss (mit einer Regelstudienzeit von mindestens 6 Semestern) aus dem Bereich der sozialwissenschaftlichen Fachrichtungen mit einer Gesamtnote von mindestens „ gut“ (2,3).

Von dem ersten berufsqualifizierenden Hochschulabschlusses aus dem Bereich der sozialwissenschaftlichen Fachrichtungen kann ausnahmsweise dann abgesehen werden, wenn ein einschlägiger Studienschwerpunkt oder eine besonders ausgezeichnete einschlägige Abschlussarbeit des ersten berufsqualifizierenden Hochschulstudiums oder eine qualifizierte mehrjährige einschlägige Berufserfahrung nachgewiesen wird. Die insoweit erforderlichen Feststellungen trifft der Fachbereich.

Informationen und Anmeldung zum Auswahlverfahren finden Sie auf der Homepage des Studiengangs.
Bewerbung zum StudiengangErst nach durchgeführtem Auswahlverfahren können Sie sich bis an der FH Münster für den Studiengang bewerben. Die Anmeldung zum Auswahlverfahren ersetzt nicht die zentrale Online-Bewerbung an der FH Münster.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Erfolgreiche Jugendhilfe benötigt eine leistungsfähige Strategie. Nur so lassen sich die Angebote der Institutionen zielgerichtet steuern. Das macht vor allem eines notwendig: eine sorgfältige Planung aller eingebundenen Prozesse.

Unser Masterstudiengang „Jugendhilfe – Konzeptionsentwicklung und Organisationsgestaltung“ vermittelt Ihnen das für diese anspruchsvolle Aufgabe nötige Know-how. Sie qualifizieren sich direkt für die Fachberatung, Fortbildung und Leitung in Einrichtungen der Jugendhilfe.

Das Studienangebot richtet sich an Absolventen der Studiengänge Sozialarbeit und Sozialpädagogik oder vergleichbarer Disziplinen, die Ihr Profil durch die wissenschaftliche Auseinandersetzung mit zentralen Themenstellungen des Fachgebiets schärfen wollen.

Ziele

Konzeptionsentwicklung, Organisationsgestaltung und Kooperationsmanagement sind die drei Kernkompetenzen, die Sie in unserem Studiengang entwickeln. Nach Abschluss des Studiums sind Sie in der Lage, leistungsfähige Konzepte der Jugendhilfe zu erarbeiten und weiterzuentwickeln. Weiterhin gestalten Sie angemessene Organisationsformen und Prozesse zur Umsetzung dieser Konzepte mithilfe wissenschaftlicher Methoden. Die Prozesse gestalten Sie sozialraum- und lebensweltorientiert, indem Sie Institutionen außerhalb der Jugendhilfe kooperativ zusammenführen.

Berufsfelder

Unser Studiengang bereitet Sie auf alle planenden und koordinierenden Tätigkeiten innerhalb der Jugendhilfe vor. Sie können in der professionellen Fachberatung arbeiten, in der Fortbildung und Leitung, bei öffentlichen und freien Trägern sowie Verbänden der Jugendhilfe. Nach erfolgreichem Studienabschluss verfügen Sie über die beruflichen Kompetenzen für die laufbahnrechtliche Einstufung für den Höheren Dienst.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Der Masterstudiengang gliedert sich in sechs Modulbereiche:

1. Der Bereich „Geschichte und Handlungsfelder“ umfasst die historischen und vergleichenden Grundlagen der Fachrichtung.

2. Im Mittelpunkt des Modulbereichs „Konzeptionsentwicklung und Lebenslagen“ steht die sozialwissenschaftliche und sozialpädagogische Analyse der Lebenslagen junger Menschen. Hier befassen Sie sich mit den sozioökonomischen, gesundheitlichen und soziokulturellen Umständen von Kindern, Jugendlichen und Familien.

3. Konzepte zu entwickeln und zu evaluieren, Prozesse aktiv zu gestalten und zu moderieren, lernen Sie im Modulbereich „Kommunikation und Reflexion“. Hier belegen Sie Kurse zur Qualitätsentwicklung und Evaluation, zur Hilfestrukturierung und Hilfeplanung sowie zur Moderation und Kommunikation.

4. Wie Ihre fachlichen Entwicklungsimpulse in der Praxis aufgenommen und verarbeitet werden, hängt von den Strukturen und Prozessen der jeweiligen Institution ab. Im Modulbereich „Organisation und Leitung“ beschäftigen Sie sich daher mit den administrativen und betriebswirtschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen in Einrichtungen der Jugendhilfe.

5. Die Veranstaltungen im Themenbereich „Planung und Kooperation“ konzentrieren sich auf die Gestaltung von sozialräumlichen Kooperationsnetzwerken. Das notwendige Fachwissen erwerben Sie unter anderem in den Modulen „Jugendhilfeplanung als Teil von Infrastrukturentwicklung“ oder „Kooperationsgestaltung zu anderen Organisationsbereichen“.

6. Der Modulbereich „Empirische Forschung und EDV“ bietet Ihnen schließlich die Möglichkeit, Ihre eigenen Forschungsfragen in einem Praxisforschungsprojekt zu bearbeiten. Zudem setzen Sie sich mit den heute unabdingbaren IT-Technologien in der Jugendarbeit auseinander.

Unser Masterstudiengang ist als Vollzeitstudium angelegt. Die Präsenzzeit umfasst zwei ganze Werktage pro Woche plus jeweils ein bis zwei Blockwochen pro Semester.

Das spricht für uns

Das besondere Kennzeichen unseres bundesweit einzigartigen Studiengangs ist sein kreatives Umfeld. Wir ermöglichen Ihnen ein Studium, das sich nah am beruflichen Alltag orientiert und die aktuellen Trends der Jugendhilfe berücksichtigt und integriert. Sie lernen produktiv und praxisnah. Die Fachinhalte erarbeiten Sie überwiegend in Kleingruppen. Während Ihres Praxisforschungsprojekts können Sie Wissen erwerben, das Sie unmittelbar in der beruflichen Praxis anwenden.




Lesen Sie auch hier: