Social Work – distance learning BASA online (Bachelor)

Brief overview

DegreeBachelor of Arts (B.A.)
DepartmentDepartment of Social Work
SiteMünster
Special type of studyexecutive, online
IntakeWinter semester & summer semester
Standard period of study8 semesters
Semester fee€ 276,21 / semester
CharacteristicsStudy material fees: €65 for each online module (a maximum of €195 per semester)

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions No local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementNo
Additional entrance requirementsOccupation:
You must have three years’ experience working in the social sector (at least 19 hours per week) before pursuing this degree programme.

You must also perform relevant work (at least 15 hours per week) during the degree programme.


Aptitude test:
Before you can enrol for the online Bachelor programme in Social Work (BASA online), you must first pass a selection procedure. This procedure involves a written application, a computer skills test, and a selection interview. For more detailed information about the admission procedure, please visit our website.
ApplicationOnce you have passed the aptitude test, you can apply to enrol online.

Detailed description of the degree programme

In social work, you will face the social problems of an increasingly complex society. You will develop and coordinate support programmes, and will help people in difficult life situations to cope with everyday life. Expert knowledge is required to achieve this. If you would like to develop your skills in the social sector without having to give up paid employment, our part-time BASA online programme is ideal for you. A high proportion of online teaching and mandatory attendance in blocks will enable you to combine work with study.

Objectives

The study programme will enable you to learn the professional skills required for all areas of social work. The courses we offer focus initially on knowledge spanning all fields of work. You will learn the basic knowledge required in your profession and will become familiar with contemporary expert debates. You will learn how to substantiate your professional work, to reflect on your actions as a social worker, and to communicate with others about information, ideas, problems and solutions. At a later stage, you will extend your specialist and methodological skills by choosing a core activity. Examples of core activities include social work with children and youths or with the elderly, intergenerational work, rehabilitation, education or working with delinquents. At the end of the programme, you will be able to continue learning and to engage in discussions on the topic to a largely autonomous extent.

Occupational fields

Do you want to pursue a degree because your employer has offered you the prospect of a management function? Or because you would like to change to a different field of work? Or perhaps because you need to underpin your career or you feel underqualified for your area of responsibility? Our degree programme will prepare you for a wide range of tasks in social work, such as:

  • Youth welfare, educational support
  • Disability assistance
  • Addiction counselling, social psychiatry
  • Work with migrants
  • Children and youth work, child protection
  • Social services
  • Social planning, social management
  • Adult education
  • Geriatrics
  • Social rehabilitation
  • Debt counselling
  • School social work

If you complete the necessary blocks of practice during your studies, you will also receive state recognition as a social worker/pedagogue with your Bachelor’s degree certificate. Your Bachelor’s degree will also enable you to pursue a Master’s programme. Our department offers the following Master’s programmes:

  • Social Work and Research
  • Youth Welfare
  • Social Management
  • Clinical Casework
  • Counselling, Mediation, Coaching

Content and course sequence

BASA online is a part-time programme involving a workload of around 20 to 25 hours each week. The study duration is eight semesters. In addition, you must perform relevant work for at least 15 hours a week throughout the degree programme.

Our study concept combines periods of mandatory attendance with virtual learning.

In online seminars (approximately 75% of the programme), you will gain expert knowledge of the theory and practice of social work, and of the academic disciplines related to it, such as education science, psychology, sociology, law, medicine and economics. You will learn the course content during private study and/or in a small group, enabling you to engage in constant exchange. Our teaching staff will support and accompany you via the internet. Study materials and communications tools (forums, chat rooms, email, live classroom, etc.) will be provided on an online learning platform.

During mandatory attendance seminars (approximately 25% of the programme), you will learn course content involving practical exercises, intense reflection and direct communication. You will learn how to develop concepts, implement projects and design counselling settings. Six mandatory attendance seminars are held each year, lasting all day, on three consecutive weekdays.

You will study as a member of a study group, enabling you to support each other and engage in exchange throughout the programme. A predefined course timetable and early scheduling ensure planning reliability. During the online seminars, you will be able to organise your periods of learning yourself to a great extent, enabling you to study whenever and wherever it suits you.

We offer this degree programme in cooperation with several German universities (BASA online alliance). At the in-depth study stage, you may select online seminars from other university locations.

Why choose us

Practical approach:

  • Reflection on practice and accompaniment of practice
  • Field trips
  • Practical project
  • Professional cooperation partners

International outlook:

  • Geographical flexibility for study abroad
  • Support programmes for international students
  • The possibility to complete a practical project abroad

Culture of teaching and learning:

  • Activating teaching
  • Self-organised study
  • Learning in small groups, including virtual learning
  • Tutor-supported introductory stage

Facilities:

  • Methods labs
  • Workshops
  • IT suites



Further information:

Soziale Arbeit berufsbegleitend - BASA-online (Bachelor)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradBachelor of Arts (B.A.)
FachbereichSozialwesen
StudienortMünster
Studienformberufsbegleitend, online gestützt
StudienbeginnWintersemester & Sommersemester
Regelstudienzeit8 Semester
Semesterbeitrag264,94 € (Wintersemester 2017/2018))
BesonderheitenStudienmaterialbezugsgebühren: 65 € pro Onlinemodul (max. 195 € im Semester)

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Nein
VorpraktikumNein
Weitere ZugangsvoraussetzungenBerufstätigkeit:
Dreijährige einschlägige Berufspraxis im Sozialen Bereich (mind. 19 Wochenstunden) vor dem Studium.

Einschlägige Berufstätigkeit (mind. 15 Wochenstunden) während des Studiums.

Eignungsprüfung:
Bevor Sie sich für BASA-online einschreiben können, müssen Sie ein Auswahlverfahren bestehen. Dieses umfasst eine schriftliche Bewerbung, einen Test Ihrer Computerkenntnisse und ein Auswahlgespräch. Genauere Informationen zum Zulassungsverfahren finden Sie auf unserer Homepage.
Bewerbung zum StudiengangNach bestandener Eignungsprüfung können Sie Ihre Einschreibung online beantragen.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

In der Sozialen Arbeit stellen Sie sich den sozialen Problemen einer komplexer werdenden Gesellschaft. Sie entwickeln und koordinieren Unterstützungsangebote und helfen Menschen in schwierigen Lebenslagen, sich im Alltag zurechtzufinden. Hier ist Fachwissen gefragt. Wenn Sie Ihre Qualifikation im sozialen Bereich ausbauen möchten, ohne Ihre Berufstätigkeit aufzugeben, ist unser berufsbegleitender Studiengang BASA-online der richtige für Sie. Ein hoher Anteil an Online-Lehre sowie Präsenzlehre in Blockform ermöglichen es Ihnen, Beruf und Studium miteinander zu vereinbaren.

Ziele

Das Studium vermittelt Ihnen berufliche Kompetenzen für alle Arbeitsfelder der Sozialen Arbeit. Unser Lehrangebot konzentriert sich zunächst auf arbeitsfeldübergreifendes Wissen. Sie eignen sich Grundwissen für den Beruf und über die aktuelle Fachdiskussion an. Sie lernen, Ihre berufliche Arbeit zu begründen und Ihr sozialarbeiterisches Handeln zu reflektieren sowie sich mit Anderen über Informationen, Ideen, Probleme und Lösungen zu verständigen. Im weiteren Verlauf des Studiums erweitern Sie Ihre Fach- und Methodenkompetenzen in einem frei wählbaren Handlungsfeld – zum Beispiel in der Sozialen Arbeit mit Kindern und Jugendlichen, mit alten Menschen, in der intergenerativen Arbeit, der Rehabilitation, der Bildung oder im Bereich der Delinquenz. Am Ende des Studiums werden Sie in der Lage sein, Ihre weitere Wissensaneignung und die fachliche Auseinandersetzung in einer weitgehend autonomen Weise fortzuführen.

Berufsfelder

Sie studieren, weil Ihnen Ihr Arbeitgeber eine Leitungsfunktion in Aussicht stellt? Weil Sie gern in ein neues Arbeitsfeld wechseln möchten? Weil Sie Ihre berufliche Existenz sichern müssen oder weil Sie sich für Ihren Aufgabenbereich nicht ausreichend qualifiziert fühlen? Unser Studiengang bereitet Sie auf vielfältige Aufgabenfelder der Sozialen Arbeit vor, zum Beispiel:

  • Jugendhilfe, Hilfen zur Erziehung
  • Behindertenhilfe
  • Suchtberatung, Sozialpsychiatrie
  • Arbeit mit Migranten
  • Kinder- und Jugendarbeit, Kinderschutz
  • Soziale Dienste
  • Sozialplanung, Sozialmanagement
  • Erwachsenenbildung
  • Geriatrie
  • Resozialisierung
  • Schuldnerberatung
  • Schulsozialarbeit

Wenn Sie während des Studiums die erforderlichen Praxiszeiten erbringen, erhalten Sie mit dem Bachelorzeugnis die staatliche Anerkennung als Sozialarbeiter/-pädagoge. Zudem ermöglicht Ihnen Ihr Bachelorabschluss den Zugang zu einem anschließenden Masterstudium. Unser Fachbereich bietet folgende Masterstudiengänge an:

  • Soziale Arbeit und Forschung
  • Jugendhilfe
  • Sozialmanagement
  • Clinical Casework
  • Beratung, Mediation, Coaching

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

BASA-online ist ein berufsbegleitender Studiengang, für den Sie etwa 20 bis 25 Stunden in der Woche aufbringen müssen. Die Studiendauer beträgt acht Semester. Zudem ist eine einschlägige berufliche Tätigkeit im Umfang von mindestens 15 Wochenstunden während des Studiums verpflichtend.

Unser Studienkonzept verknüpft Präsenzveranstaltungen und virtuelles Lernen.

In den Online-Seminaren (ca. 75% des Studiums) erwerben Sie Fachwissen zu der Theorie und Praxis Sozialer Arbeit und den mit ihr in Bezug stehenden wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen wie Erziehungswissenschaft, Psychologie, Soziologie, Rechtswissenschaft, Medizin, Ökonomie. Die Studieninhalte erarbeiten Sie im Selbststudium und/oder in einer kleinen Gruppe, mit der Sie sich kontinuierlich austauschen. Unser Lehrpersonal unterstützt und begleitet Sie dabei via Internet. Auf einer Online-Lernplattform stehen Ihnen Studienmaterialien und Kommunikationswerkzeuge (Foren, Chatrooms, E-Mail, Live Classroom etc.) zur Verfügung.

In den Präsenzseminaren (ca. 25 % des Studiums) vermitteln wir Ihnen Studieninhalte, die praktische Übungen, intensive Reflexion und direkte Kommunikation erfordern. Hier lernen Sie z. B., Konzepte zu entwickeln, Projekte durchzuführen oder Beratungssettings zu gestalten. Pro Jahr gibt es sechs Präsenzseminare, die jeweils ganztägig an drei aufeinanderfolgenden Werktagen stattfinden. Die Teilnahme ist verpflichtend.

Sie studieren in einer Studiengruppe, die Ihnen kontinuierlichen Austausch und Unterstützung während des Studiums ermöglicht. Ein vorgegebener Studienverlaufsplan sowie eine frühzeitige Termingestaltung bieten Ihnen Planungssicherheit. Während der Online-Seminare können Sie Ihre Lernphasen weitestgehend selbst organisieren und dabei örtlich wie zeitlich flexibel bleiben.

Der Studiengang wird in Kooperation mehrerer deutscher Hochschulen (BASA-online-Verbund) angeboten. Im Vertiefungsbereich haben Sie die Möglichkeit, auch Online-Seminare anderer Hochschulstandorte auszuwählen.

Das spricht für uns

Praxisnähe:

  • Praxisreflexion und -begleitung
  • Exkursionen
  • Praxisprojekt
  • Kooperationspartner aus der Praxis

Internationalität:

  • örtliche Flexibilität bei Auslandsaufenthalt
  • Unterstützungsangebote für ausländische Studierende
  • Möglichkeit eines Praxisprojekts im Ausland

Lehr- und Lernkultur:

  • aktivierende Lehre
  • selbstorganisiertes Studium
  • Lernen in Kleingruppen, auch virtuell
  • Tutorengestützte Studieneingangsphase

 Ausstattung:

  • Methodenlabore
  • Werkstätten
  • Computerpools



Lesen Sie auch hier: