Therapy and Public Health Management (Speech Therapy or Physiotherapy - dual programme) (Bachelor)

Brief overview

DegreeBachelor of Science (B. Sc.)
DepartmentMünster School of Health
SiteMünster
Special type of studydual study, including apprenticeship
IntakeWinter semester
Standard period of study8 semesters
Semester fee€ 276,21 / semester
CharacteristicsOne-off flat-rate fees: speech therapy school: €300 physiotherapy school: €350

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions No local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementNo
Additional entrance requirementsIn order to enrol for this degree programme, you must demonstrate that you already have an apprenticeship contract with one of the cooperating technical schools. Apprenticeships are awarded by the speech therapy and physiotherapy schools.
Application- Applications to the speech therapy school must be submitted between 1 October and 30 November of the year before starting university
- Applications to the physiotherapy school must be submitted between 1 June and 15 November of the year before starting university
Once you have concluded an apprenticeship contract, apply online to Münster University of Applied Sciences.

Detailed description of the degree programme

Our Bachelor programme in Therapy and Public Health Management - Speech Therapy or Physiotherapy is a dual programme that includes an apprenticeship. The programme was developed jointly by the technical schools of the University Hospital Münster (UKM) and Münster University of Applied Sciences. We specifically link academic education with practical training. In this way, theory and practice are rolled into one in your degree programme. What makes these two therapeutic professions so interesting and unique?

Speech Therapy: Communication is our life: language, speech, voice, swallowing – these skills we use to engage in exchange with the world are taken for granted. University trained speech therapists are specialists in language, speech, breathing, voice, listening, swallowing, verbal and non-verbal communication and other related areas. Speech therapists promote linguistic development in children. They examine and treat people of all ages who have language, speech, voice and swallowing disorders. Working hand in hand with the patient, the aim is to promote the patient’s communication skills and quality of life, encouraging health and well-being.

Physiotherapy: Life is movement. University trained physiotherapists are specialists in human movement. They understand movement as a complex event with a wide spectrum: from the molecular micro level of an organism to the macro level in the sense of a person’s activities and participation in social life. Working hand in hand with the patient, they use movement as a therapeutic means. The aim is to improve the patient’s performance and quality of life, encouraging health and well-being.

The course content is mutually recognised for the state examination as well as for the Bachelor’s degree. Over four academic years, you will therefore gain two qualifications: state recognition as a speech therapist or physiotherapist and a Bachelor’s degree in Therapy and Public Health Management.

Objectives

As a university trained speech therapist or physiotherapist, you will plan and manage therapeutic and health care processes for your patients. You will value your patients as partners and as co-producers of health, approaching them with understanding and appreciation. In addition, your degree programme will enable you to manage and lead teams, and to cooperate productively with other professional groups. You will use the economic resources available to you with care. The welfare of the patient will always be central to your actions. You will be able not only to reflect on your own therapeutic actions, but also to assess the benefit and efficacy of established and innovative therapeutic methods based on academic criteria. In this way, you will ensure the quality of speech therapy or physiotherapy, contributing to their future development.

Occupational fields

Our Bachelor programme will offer you a wide range of career prospects. You may take up employment in traditional working environments such as practices, hospitals, rehabilitation and acute care clinics, public health departments, health insurance companies and educational institutions. However, new occupational fields in research, development and counselling will also be open to you.

What is more, you will be an academic pioneer: the programme in Therapy and Public Health Management which includes an apprenticeship is unique in Germany. As a graduate, you will be able to initiate and develop entirely new tasks and fields of work in the health system.

Last but not least, your Bachelor’s degree will give you access to numerous Master’s programmes. In-depth subject-related degree programmes or degree programmes from the areas of Health Care Management, Public Health, or Vocational Education are possible.

Content and course sequence

The Bachelor programme in Therapy and Public Health Management takes eight semesters. From the very beginning, you will complete modules where theory is closely combined with practice. You will take these modules at the technical school for speech therapy or physiotherapy of the University Hospital Münster, at Münster School of Health, at clinics within UKM and other healthcare institutions.

At technical school, you will learn the entire therapeutic process – from examination and diagnosis to targeted therapy and the review of its efficacy. In the process, you will benefit from innovative teaching and learning methods. Experienced therapists will provide support while you apply your knowledge to the treatment of patients.

At Münster University of Applied Sciences, we will simultaneously teach you the academic foundation for therapy and public health management – using a practical, application-oriented approach. And since healthcare work always means teamwork, you will learn alongside students from other healthcare professions from the beginning. Examples of the issues you will explore within the various study modules include: What do I, as a therapist, understand by health and illness? How does our health system work, and which legal and economic aspects must I observe as a therapist? How can scientifically based services for health promotion or rehabilitation be designed? What is appreciative interviewing, enabling me to act professionally, even in difficult situations? How do I understand and assess research, and how can I put research results into practice? How can I collect and analyse data, and use it for evidence-based therapy? How can I make working conditions conducive to health? What needs to be considered when it comes to quality management?

During your last two semesters at Münster University of Applied Sciences, you will enhance your knowledge of therapy and management, focusing on a particular area of knowledge in optional compulsory modules and during your project work. At the same time, you will be able to gain your first occupational experience as a therapist. You will finish your degree after writing your Bachelor thesis.

By combining an apprenticeship with an academic degree, you will develop your professional profile. Ultimately, you will gain two qualifications: state recognition after six semesters and a Bachelor of Science degree after eight semesters.

Why choose us

Our award-winning Bachelor programme in Therapy and Public Health Management is outstanding. The Ministry of Health of the Federal State of North Rhine-Westphalia designated it a ‘model degree programme’. As such, our dual programme acts as a pioneer and role model for the further professionalisation of healthcare.

What makes the Münster model special is that we link training with academic studies from the very first semester. The course content acquired during the apprenticeship and at university is mutually recognised for the state examination and the Bachelor’s degree. This will enable you to obtain both qualifications within the space of four academic years.

Throughout your programme, you will benefit from innovative forms of teaching and learning, such as a mentoring programme, peer counselling and team supervision. At the same time, we continue to develop our cooperation between learning locations within a sponsored practical research project to ensure that you are offered perfectly interlinked study modules.

Therapie- und Gesundheitsmanagement (Logopädie oder Physiotherapie - dualer Studiengang) (Bachelor)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradBachelor of Science (B. Sc.)
FachbereichGesundheit
StudienortMünster
Studienformduales Studium, ausbildungsintegriert
StudienbeginnWintersemester
Regelstudienzeit8 Semester
Semesterbeitrag276,21 € (Sommersemester 2018)
Besonderheiteneinmalige Entgeltpauschalen: Logopädieschule: 300 € Physiotherapieschule: 350 €

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Nein
VorpraktikumNein
Weitere ZugangsvoraussetzungenFür die Einschreibung ist der Nachweis eines Ausbildungsverhältnisses mit einer der kooperierenden Fachschulen notwendig. Die Vergabe der Ausbildungsplätze erfolgt durch die Schulen für Logopädie und Physiotherapie.
Bewerbung zum Studiengang- an der Schule für Logopädie 1. Oktober bis 30. November des Vorjahres
- an der Schule für Physiotherapie 1. Juni bis 15. November des Vorjahres
Bitte bewerben Sie sich erst nach Abschluss des Ausbildungsvertrages online an der FH Münster.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Unser Studiengang „Therapie- und Gesundheitsmanagement - Logopädie oder - Physiotherapie“ ist ein ausbildungsintegrierendes duales Studium, das gemeinsam von den Fachschulen des Universitätsklinikums Münster (UKM) und der FH Münster entwickelt wurde. Wir verknüpfen gezielt die wissenschaftliche und die praktische Ausbildung. So wird für Sie Theorie und Praxis im Studiengang zu einer Einheit. Was macht die beiden Therapieberufe so interessant und einzigartig?

Logopädie: Kommunikation ist unser Leben: Sprache, Sprechen, Stimme, Schlucken – wie selbstverständlich bedienen wir uns dieser Fähigkeiten, um mit der Welt im Austausch zu sein. Hochschulisch ausgebildete Logopädinnen handeln als Spezialisten für Sprache, Sprechen, Atmung, Stimme, Hören, Schlucken, verbale und nonverbale Kommunikation und anderen damit in Zusammenhang stehenden Bereichen. Logopädinnen fördern die Sprachentwicklung bei Kindern. Sie untersuchen und behandeln Menschen jeden Alters mit Sprach-, Sprech-, Stimm- und Schluckstörungen. In einem gemeinsamen Prozess mit dem Patienten ist es das Ziel, dessen Kommunikationsfähigkeit und Lebensqualität zu fördern und Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden zu ermöglichen.

Physiotherapie: Leben ist Bewegung. Hochschulisch ausgebildete Physiotherapeuten handeln als Spezialisten für die menschliche Bewegung. Sie verstehen Bewegung als ein komplexes Geschehen von großer Spannbreite: von der molekularen Mikroebene eines Organismus bis zur Makroebene im Sinne von Aktivitäten und Teilhabe einer Person am gesellschaftlichen Leben. Im gemeinsamen Prozess mit dem Patienten setzen sie Bewegung als therapeutisches Mittel ein. Ziel ist es, die Leistungsfähigkeit und Lebensqualität des Patienten zu verbessern und Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden zu ermöglichen.

Die Studieninhalte werden sowohl für das Staatsexamen als auch für den Bachelorabschluss wechselseitig anerkannt. In vier Studienjahren erhalten Sie dadurch zwei Abschlüsse: Ihre staatliche Anerkennung als Logopädin oder Physiotherapeut und den Bachelor in Therapie- und Gesundheitsmanagement.

Ziele

Als hochschulisch ausgebildete Logopädin oder Physiotherapeut planen und steuern Sie Therapie- und Versorgungsprozesse für Ihre Patienten. Sie schätzen ihre Patienten als Partner und als Co-Produzenten von Gesundheit und begegnen ihnen verständnisvoll und wertschätzend. Das Studium befähigt Sie zudem, Teams zu führen, zu leiten und produktiv mit anderen Berufsgruppen zusammenzuarbeiten. Die Ihnen zur Verfügung stehenden wirtschaftlichen Ressourcen setzen Sie verantwortungsbewusst ein. Im Vordergrund Ihres Handelns steht dabei stets das Wohl des Patienten. Sie sind in der Lage, sowohl Ihr eigenes therapeutisches Handeln zu reflektieren, als auch Nutzen und Wirksamkeit etablierter wie innovativer Therapieverfahren nach wissenschaftlichen Kriterien zu beurteilen. Auf diese Weise sichern Sie die Qualität der Logopädie bzw. Physiotherapie und tragen zu deren Weiterentwicklung bei.

Berufsfelder

Unser Bachelorstudiengang eröffnet Ihnen vielfältige berufliche Perspektiven. Sie können in klassischen Arbeitsumgebungen tätig werden, wie Praxen, Krankenhäusern, Rehabilitations- und Akutkliniken, Gesundheitsämtern, Krankenkassen und Bildungseinrichtungen. Aber auch neue Berufsfelder in Forschung, Entwicklung und Beratung stehen Ihnen offen.

Außerdem sind Sie akademischer Pionier: Das ausbildungsintegrierende Studium „Therapie- und Gesundheitsmanagement“ ist bundesweit einzigartig, sodass Sie ganz neue Aufgaben und Arbeitsfelder im Gesundheitswesen erschließen und entwickeln können.

Nicht zuletzt ermöglicht Ihnen Ihr Bachelorabschluss den Zugang zu zahlreichen Masterstudiengängen. Infrage kommen vertiefende fachbezogene Studiengänge, genauso wie Studiengänge aus den Bereichen Gesundheitsmanagement, Public Health oder Berufspädagogik.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Therapie- und Gesundheitsmanagement ist ein Studiengang über acht Semester. Sie absolvieren von Beginn an miteinander in Theorie und Praxis verzahnte Module an der Fachschule für Logopädie bzw. Physiotherapie des Universitätsklinikums am Fachbereich Gesundheit der FH Münster sowie in den Kliniken des UKM und in anderen Einrichtungen des Gesundheitswesens.

An der Fachschule erlernen Sie den gesamten Therapieprozess – von der Untersuchung über die Diagnostik bis hin zur zielgerichteten Therapie und der Überprüfung ihrer Wirksamkeit. Dabei profitieren Sie von innovativen Lehr- und Lernmethoden. Erfahrene Therapeuten unterstützen Sie dabei, Ihr Wissen direkt in der Patientenbehandlung anzuwenden.

An der FH Münster vermitteln wir Ihnen zeitgleich die wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen für das Therapie- und Gesundheitsmanagement – praxisnah und anwendungsorientiert. Und da die Arbeit im Gesundheitswesen immer Teamwork ist, lernen Sie schon hier gemeinsam mit Studierenden aus anderen Gesundheitsberufen. Inhaltlich setzen Sie sich innerhalb der unterschiedlichen Studienmodule unter anderem mit den folgenden Fragen auseinander: Was verstehe ich als Therapeut unter Gesundheit und Krankheit? Wie funktioniert unser Gesundheitssystem, und welche rechtlichen und wirtschaftlichen Grundlagen habe ich als Therapeutin zu beachten? Wie lassen sich wissenschaftlich fundierte Angebote zur Gesundheitsförderung oder Rehabilitation gestalten? Was ist eine wertschätzende Gesprächsführung, die mir auch in schwierigen Situationen hilft, professionell zu agieren? Wie verstehe und bewerte ich Forschung und wie setze ich Forschungsergebnisse in die Praxis um? Wie gewinne und analysiere ich Daten und wie nutze ich sie für eine evidenzbasierte Therapie? Wie kann ich Arbeitsbedingungen gesundheitsförderlich gestalten? Was gilt es beim Qualitätsmanagement zu beachten?

In den letzten beiden Semestern an der FH Münster vertiefen Sie Ihre Kenntnisse in Therapie und Management und können Wissensschwerpunkte in Wahlpflichtmodulen und während Ihrer Projektarbeit setzen. Parallel dazu können Sie erste berufliche Erfahrungen als Therapeut sammeln. Mit Ihrer Bachelorarbeit beenden Sie dann Ihr Studium.

Durch die Kombination einer Ausbildung mit einem wissenschaftlichen Studium schärfen Sie Ihr berufliches Profil. Denn Sie erhalten zwei Abschlüsse: Nach sechs Semestern die staatliche Anerkennung und nach acht Semestern den Bachelor of Science.

Das spricht für uns

Unser Studiengang „Therapie- und Gesundheitsmanagement“ ist ausgezeichnet – und zwar im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes. Das Gesundheitsministerium des Landes NRW verlieh ihm den Titel „Modellstudiengang“. Als solcher ist unser dualer Studiengang Vorreiter und Vorbild für die weitere Professionalisierung der Berufe im Gesundheitswesen.

Die Besonderheit des Münsteraner Modells ist, dass wir vom ersten Semester an Ausbildung und Studium verknüpfen. Die jeweiligen Ausbildungs- bzw. Studieninhalte werden wechselseitig für das Staatsexamen und den Bachelorabschluss anerkannt. Auf diese Art und Weise können Sie beide Abschlüsse innerhalb von vier Studienjahren erwerben.

Während Ihres gesamten Studiums profitieren Sie von innovativen Lehr- und Lernformen, zum Beispiel einem Mentorenprogramm, kollegialer Beratung oder Teamsupervision. Gleichzeitig entwickeln wir in einem geförderten Praxisforschungsprojekt die Lernortkooperation stetig weiter, um Ihnen bestmöglich miteinander vernetzte Studienmodule anzubieten.

Studienverlaufsplan