Computer Science (Bachelor)

Brief overview

DegreeBachelor of Science (B. Sc.)
DepartmentDepartment of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
SiteSteinfurt
IntakeWinter semester
Standard period of study6 semesters
Semester fee€ 264,94 / semester

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions No local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementBefore you can be admitted to this Bachelor programme, you must demonstrate that you have completed at least 13 weeks of practical work. You may perform the practical work during a work placement, for example, or you may have a relevant apprenticeship accepted. During your practical work, you should have gained insight into typical working techniques and become acquainted with business organisation issues.

The pre-study placement must generally be completed before starting your degree programme, and must be demonstrated during enrolment. If you are unable to complete all 13 weeks before starting university, you must demonstrate completion of the remaining weeks by the start of the third semester at the latest.
ApplicationThe closing date for applications
is on 30.09.2017.

Apply online (in German)

Detailed description of the degree programme

Today, computers are an integral part of society. Thanks to software, shares can be traded on the stock exchange; companies can calculate costs themselves; parents can video chat to their daughters on their semester abroad; and the latest game on the console can be made even more realistic. The programme in Computer Science will transform you from a consumer into a creator of such technology.

Objectives

You will gain extensive theoretical and practical knowledge in the different branches of IT, which you will be able to combine into global solutions. You will use scientific methods to analyse processes and problems from the occupational field of IT, and will develop practice-oriented solutions. During the programme, you will tackle application-oriented issues from the wide field of IT, which may also refer to aspects beyond the subject area, preparing you for your future career.

Occupational fields

You will learn the fundamentals and applications of IT in a sound, practice-relevant manner, enabling you to work in a growth sector: as a developer, you will create new virtual worlds; as an administrator, you will supervise a bank’s network; or, as an IT consultant, you will accompany a company during the launch of a new software solution.

If you would like to enhance your IT skills after completing the Bachelor programme, you can progress to our Master’s programme in Computer Science, which we also offer as a part-time programme. Here, occupation and study – practice and further training are closely connected.

Content and course sequence

The Bachelor programme is divided into two stages: at the start of the programme, you will first learn the fundamentals of computer science and enhance your mathematical skills. Even in the first few semesters, you will work independently in teams and learn how to tackle theoretical content in an application-oriented manner. You will also learn the basics of business management.

At a later stage, you will enhance your subject expertise by taking software-oriented subjects such as object-oriented systems, software engineering, operating systems, databases, computer graphics, computer networks and IT security. You will also have a wide range of optional subjects to choose from.

During your block of practice in the final semester, you will gain insight into a company, where you will also write your Bachelor thesis.

Why choose us

Our Bachelor programme in Computer Science complies with the very latest standards: cutting-edge content, project-based work, a carefully designed programme structure, manageably sized learning groups, well-equipped labs and a strong emphasis on practical application will ensure you gain an excellent education.

Informatik (Bachelor)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradBachelor of Science (B. Sc.)
FachbereichElektrotechnik und Informatik
StudienortSteinfurt
StudienbeginnWintersemester
Regelstudienzeit6 Semester
Semesterbeitrag276,21 € (Sommersemester 2018)

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Nein
VorpraktikumFür die Studienaufnahme müssen Sie eine praktische Tätigkeit von mindestens 13 Wochen Dauer nachweisen. Die praktische Tätigkeit kann z.B. durch ein Praktikum erbracht werden oder durch die Anerkennung einer einschlägigen Ausbildung. Die praktische Tätigkeit soll Ihnen Einblicke in typische Arbeitstechniken erlauben und Sie mit Fragen der Betriebsorganisation vertraut machen.

Das Vorpraktikum ist grundsätzlich vor Aufnahme des Studiums abzuleisten und bei der Einschreibung nachzuweisen. Fehlende Praktikumszeiten müssen Sie spätestens zu Beginn des dritten Fachsemesters nachweisen.
Bewerbung zum StudiengangEine Bewerbung ist
im Moment nicht möglich.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Computer sind heute fester Bestanteil unserer Gesellschaft. Software sorgt dafür, dass an der Börse Aktien gehandelt werden können, ein Unternehmen die eigenen Kosten kalkulieren kann, die Eltern mit ihrer Tochter im Ausland Video-chatten können oder das neueste Spiel auf der Konsole noch realer wirkt. Der Studiengang Informatik lässt Sie vom Konsumenten zum Gestalter solcher Techniken werden.

Ziele

Sie erwerben umfangreiches theoretisches und praktisches Wissen in den unterschiedlichen Teilgebieten der Informatik und können diese zu Gesamtlösungen kombinieren. Sie analysieren Vorgänge und Probleme aus dem Berufsfeld der Informatik mit wissenschaftlichen Methoden und erarbeiten praxisgerechte Lösungen. Im Studium behandeln Sie anwendungsbezogene Fragestellungen aus dem weiten Bereich der Informatik, die auch einen außerfachlichen Bezug besitzen können, und bereiten sich damit auf ihre spätere berufliche Tätigkeit vor.

Berufsfelder

Fundiert und praxisnah lernen Sie die Grundlagen und Anwendungen der Informatik und haben die Möglichkeit, in einer Wachstumsbranche zu arbeiten: Sie erschaffen als Entwickler neue virtuelle Welten, betreuen als Administrator das Netzwerk einer Bank oder begleiten als IT-Beraterin ein Unternehmen bei der Einführung einer neuen Softwarelösung.

Wenn Sie Ihre Kompetenzen in der Informatik noch weiter vertiefen möchten, können Sie dazu unseren Masterstudiengang Informatik nutzen, den wir auch als Master in Teilzeit anbieten. Hier kann Beruf und Studium – Praxis und Weiterbildung eng miteinander verknüpft werden.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Das Studium gliedert sich in zwei Stufen: Zu Beginn befassen Sie sich mit den Grundlagen der Informatik und erweitern ihre mathematischen Kenntnisse. Bereits in den ersten Semestern arbeiten Sie eigenständig in Teams und lernen, mit theoretischen Inhalten anwendungsorientiert umzugehen. Zudem eignen Sie sich betriebswirtschaftliche Grundlagen an.

Im weiteren Verlauf des Studiums vertiefen Sie Ihr Fachwissen durch softwareorientierte Fächer wie Objektorientierte Systeme, Software Engineering, Betriebssysteme, Datenbanken, Computergrafik, Rechnernetze und IT-Sicherheit. Zusätzlich erwartet Sie ein umfangreiches Wahlangebot.

Im abschließenden Semester bekommen Sie in der Praxisphase Einblick in ein Unternehmen und schreiben im Anschluss daran überwiegend auch dort Ihre Bachelorarbeit.

Das spricht für uns

Unser Bachelorstudiengang Informatik entspricht modernsten Standards: Zeitgemäße Inhalte, projektbezogenes Arbeiten, durchdachter Studienaufbau, überschaubare Lerngruppen, gut ausgestattete Labore und hoher Anwendungsbezug bieten Ihnen eine hervorragende Ausbildung.

Studienverlaufsplan