Civil Engineering (Bachelor)

Brief overview

DegreeBachelor of Engineering (B.Eng.)
DepartmentDepartment of Civil Engineering
SiteMünster
IntakeWinter semester
Standard period of study6 semesters
Semester fee€ 264,94 / semester

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions Local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementBefore you can start this Bachelor programme, you must have completed a 13-week pre-study placement, six weeks of which was in masonry or reinforced concrete construction. If you have already completed a relevant apprenticeship or work experience, this time will count towards your pre-study placement. The pre-study placement must generally be completed before starting your degree programme, and must be demonstrated during enrolment. If you are unable to complete all 13 weeks before starting university, you must demonstrate completion of the remaining weeks by the start of the third semester at the latest.
ApplicationIt is not possible
to apply at present.

Detailed description of the degree programme

Bridges span water and tunnels pass through mountains. Buildings are stable and secure, withstanding all weathers. Our cities are not engulfed by waste and waste water. All these things are to the credit of civil engineers. They plan, design and calculate, construct and maintain buildings and all kinds of infrastructural projects. The programme in Civil Engineering, involving a high degree of practical relevance, will prepare you perfectly for these tasks. In addition, you will be able to choose your learning content to match your interests, with a choice of four specialisations: Construction Management, Transport, Waste and Water Management, and Structural Engineering.

Objectives

After completing the degree programme, you will have all of the technical and practical skills needed to independently plan, implement and maintain buildings and infrastructural projects. You will be able to work independently and within a team in collaboration with other technical disciplines.

Occupational fields

After completing the programme, a range of occupational fields will be open to you, depending on your specialisation. Examples of potential employers include planning offices, public bodies and building companies. Alternatively, you could be self-employed and set up your own company.

Our Master’s programme in Civil Engineering offers you the possibility to pursue postgraduate studies after completing your Bachelor’s degree, enabling you to develop your professional profile. It is also available as a part-time programme.

Content and course sequence

The Bachelor programme is structured into three stages: during the first two semesters, you will learn the scientific/technical foundations required in the profession. Examples include content from engineering mechanics, mathematics, construction chemistry and construction physics. Building on this knowledge, you will then pursue your core studies in the third and fourth semesters, where you will choose your first specialisations. Basic knowledge in engineering will now be on the curriculum. You will focus on in-depth studies during the last two semesters. In this final year, you will be able to concentrate fully on your strengths and interests. You will be able to choose from four specialisations:

  • In Water and Waste Management, you will specialise in the conceptual design, planning, construction and operation of structures and mechanical equipment in hydraulic engineering, water resources management, and waste management. You will be qualified to work in the areas of waste water purification, waterway planning or recycling processes.
  • In Structural Engineering, you will learn how to plan and design support structures for all kinds of buildings, bridges, tunnels and other infrastructure. Content covers actual construction design through to noise and fire protection, and the economic feasibility of a particular project.
  • Transport will prepare you for professional issues concerning all aspects of infrastructure: from road traffic and rail transport to airport planning. You will learn how to plan, create and select dimensions for road infrastructure and transport systems and to conceptually design modern rail transport structures.
  • In Construction Management, you will address the tasks required to implement a building project on-site – from planning and coordinating a building site to settling accounts.

The Construction Management, Transport, and Water and Waste Management specialisations involve an eight-week block of practice.

In the Civil Engineering PLUS variant of the degree programme, you will extend your programme by a seventh practical semester, enabling you to gain extensive practical experience in a company.

Why choose us

Our Bachelor programme offers you an application-oriented course of study with a high degree of practical relevance. By involving visiting lecturers from industry, you will gain knowledge that has been applied in practice. During the block of practice, you will then be able to apply this knowledge yourself.

Thanks to the wide range of options and specialisations, our degree programme offers you a high degree of flexibility from the third semester onwards, enabling you to adapt your study programme to your preferences and strengths.

In our department, you will find a positive relationship between students and professors, based on respect. Fixed contacts and clear, binding information ensure a climate of mutual trust.




Download Degree Programme Information:

Bauingenieurwesen (Bachelor)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradBachelor of Engineering (B.Eng.)
FachbereichBauingenieurwesen
StudienortMünster
StudienbeginnWintersemester
Regelstudienzeit6 Semester (7 in der Variante Bauingenieurwesen PLUS)
Semesterbeitrag276,21 € (Sommersemester 2018)

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Ja
VorpraktikumFür die Studienaufnahme ist ein Vorpraktikum von 13 Wochen erforderlich, davon sechs Wochen im Mauerwerks- oder Stahlbetonbau. Wenn Sie einschlägige Ausbildungs- und Berufstätigkeiten nachweisen können, rechnen wir diese an. Das Vorpraktikum ist grundsätzlich vor Aufnahme des Studiums abzuleisten und bei der Einschreibung nachzuweisen. Fehlende Praktikumszeiten müssen Sie spätestens zu Beginn des dritten Fachsemesters nachweisen.
Bewerbung zum StudiengangDie nächste Bewerbungsphase
beginnt im Mai 2018.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Brücken führen über Gewässer und Tunnel durch Gebirge. Gebäude trotzen sicher und robust jedem Wetter. Unsere Städte versinken nicht in Abwasser und Abfall. All dies ist der Verdienst von Bauingenieuren. Sie planen, konstruieren und berechnen, bauen und unterhalten Bauwerke und Infrastrukturprojekte aller Art. Der Studiengang Bauingenieurwesen bereitet Sie optimal und mit hohem Praxisbezug auf diese Tätigkeiten vor. Zudem können Sie die Lehre individuell nach Ihren Interessen gestalten und aus vier Vertiefungsrichtungen wählen: Baubetrieb, Verkehrswesen, Abfall- und Wasserwirtschaft sowie Konstruktiver Ingenieurbau.

Ziele

Nach Abschluss des Studiums verfügen Sie über alle erforderlichen technischen Fähigkeiten und praktischen Kenntnisse, um Bauwerke und Infrastrukturprojekte eigenverantwortlich zu planen, durchzuführen und zu erhalten. Sie arbeiten sowohl selbstständig als auch im Team in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen technischen Disziplinen.

Berufsfelder

Nach Studienabschluss stehen Ihnen je nach Vertiefungsrichtung vielfältige Berufsfelder offen. Mögliche Arbeitgeber sind beispielsweise Pla­nungsbüros, öffentliche Einrichtungen oder Bauunternehmen. Alternativ können Sie sich auch selbstständig machen und eine eigene Firma gründen.

Zudem bietet Ihnen unser Masterstudiengang „Bauingenieurwesen“ die Möglichkeit, sich nach Ihrem Bachelorabschluss weiterzubilden und Ihr berufliches Profil zu schärfen – auch berufsbegleitend.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Das Bachelorstudium gliedert sich drei Phasen: In den ersten zwei Semestern erwerben Sie die naturwissenschaftlich-technischen Grundlagen für den Beruf. Dazu gehören zum Beispiel Inhalte aus der Technischen Mechanik, Mathematik, Bauchemie und Bauphysik. Darauf aufbauend schließt sich im dritten und vierten Semester das Fachstudium mit ersten Spezialisierungen an. Auf dem Lehrplan steht nun ingenieurwissenschaftliches Basiswissen. In den letzten beiden Semestern folgt das Vertiefungsstudium. Hier können Sie sich voll und ganz auf Ihre Stärken und Interessen konzentrieren. Sie haben die Wahl zwischen vier Vertiefungsrichtungen:

  • In der Vertiefungsrichtung „Wasser- und Abfallwirtschaft“ spezialisieren Sie sich auf die Konzeption und Planung, den Bau und Betrieb von Bauwerken und maschinentechnischen Einrichtungen im Wasserbau, in der Siedlungswasserwirtschaft und in der Abfallwirtschaft. Sie qualifizieren sich für Tätigkeiten in den Bereichen Abwasserreinigung sowie der Planung von Wasserstraßen oder Recyclingvorgängen.
  • Das vertiefende Studium im Bereich „Konstruktiver Ingenieurbau“ bereitet Sie auf die Planung und Konstruktion von Tragwerken für Gebäude jeder Art, Brücken, Tunnel und andere Infrastrukturbauten vor. Die Inhalte reichen von der eigentlichen Konstruktion bis hin zum Schall- oder Brandschutz und zur Wirtschaftlichkeit des jeweiligen Projektes.
  • Der Bereich „Verkehrswesen“ bereitet Sie auf berufliche Problemstellungen rund um das Thema Infrastruktur vor: vom Straßen- über den Eisenbahnverkehr bis hin zur Flughafenplanung. Sie lernen das Planen, Gestalten und Dimensionieren von Straßenanlagen und Verkehrssystemen sowie das Konzeptionieren moderner Schienenverkehrsbauwerke.
  • In der Vertiefungsrichtung „Baubetrieb“ erwarten Sie Aufgaben rund um die Umsetzung eines Bauvorhabens vor Ort – angefangen bei der Planung einer Baustelle über ihre Koordination bis hin zur Abrechnung.

Die Vertiefungsrichtungen „Baubetrieb“, „Verkehrswesen“ sowie „Wasser- und Abfallwirtschaft“ beinhalten jeweils eine achtwöchige Praxisphase.

In der Studiengangsvariante „Bauingenieurwesen PLUS“ erweitern Sie Ihr Studium um ein siebtes Praxissemester, in dem Sie umfangreiche praktische Erfahrungen im Unternehmen sammeln.

Das spricht für uns

Wir bieten Ihnen mit unserem Bachelorstudiengang ein anwendungsorientiertes Studium mit hohem Praxisbezug. Durch die Einbindung von Gastdozenten aus der Praxis erhalten Sie ein in der Anwendung bewährtes Wissen. In der Praxisphase können Sie dieses Wissen dann selber praktisch anwenden.

Aufgrund der vielfältigen Wahlmöglichkeiten und Vertiefungsrichtungen bietet Ihnen unser Studiengang schon ab dem dritten Semester ein hohes Maß an Flexibilität, sodass Sie Ihr Studium nach eigenen Vorlieben und Stärken gestalten können.

An unserem Fachbereich herrscht ein respektvoller Umgang zwischen Studierenden und Professoren. Feste Ansprechpartner und klare, verbindliche Angaben sorgen für ein vertrauensvolles Klima.

Studienverlaufsplan




Studiengangsinformationen zum Download: