Technical Orthopaedics (dual degree course) (Bachelor)

Brief overview

DegreeBachelor of Engineering (B.Eng.)
DepartmentDepartment of Engineering Physics
SiteSteinfurt
Special type of studydual study, including apprenticeship
IntakeWinter semester
Standard period of study8 semesters
Semester fee€ 264,94 / semester

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions No local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementNo
Additional entrance requirements

To be admitted to this Bachelor programme, you must have an apprenticeship position as an orthopaedic technician or an orthopaedic shoemaker. This means you must look for a suitable apprenticing company before enrolling for the programme. Once you have obtained an apprenticeship contract, including a general agreement on taking up a dual degree programme, you enrol at Münster University of Applied Sciences.

ApplicationIt is not possible
to apply at present.

Detailed description of the degree programme

Orthopaedic technicians enable people to lead a normal life despite amputations or paralysis. Modern production methods and the use of new materials such as carbon and microprocessor-controlled components have changed the profession considerably in recent years. Our dual programme in Technical Orthopaedics combines the conventional training to become an orthopaedic technician or orthopaedic shoemaker with a university degree in engineering, and prepares you optimally for new challenges.

Objectives

Our study modules are focused on business practice and will teach you the necessary biomechanical and medical/clinical expertise for your work in technical orthopaedics. After obtaining your degree, you will be able to successfully put into practice the engineering methods and knowledge that you have gained.

Occupational fields

Our dual degree programme combines theory and practice of technical orthopaedics, and is therefore a programme that keeps up with state-of-the-art developments. With the expertise you will have acquired here, you will be able to keep pace with the sector’s rapid developments. This will make you attractive to technical and industrial employers alike, and offer you a wide range of career opportunities: many of our students are taken on by the apprenticing company after obtaining their degree; others embark on a career in industrial product development. Others conduct research in institutes and labs on new care concepts in the biomechanical and clinical area. Product management, sales or product authorisation are also possible professional fields. Last but not least, the Bachelor’s degree opens the door to numerous Master’s programmes, such as in Rehabilitation Technology, Medical Engineering or Kinesiology.

Content and course sequence

The standard period of study is eight semesters. During the first two semesters, you will work four days a week at the apprenticeship company and attend vocational college one day a week. In addition, you can enrol for selected short intensive courses at our department, such as in construction design or materials engineering.

From the third semester on, you will attend courses at Münster University of Applied Sciences in Steinfurt. Initially, various modules on fundamentals of mathematics and science are covered in the curriculum. After that, the specialist stage begins, in which you will apply the basics to issues concerning orthopaedic technology and their technical components regarding measurement engineering, construction design, rehabilitation technology, and clinical biomechanics. In addition, you will acquire a basic knowledge of business administration, medical products legalisation and the health system.

Outside term time, you will continue to work for your apprenticing company and take your journeyman’s examination in the sixth semester. In the eighth semester, you will write your Bachelor thesis. After completing your degree, you will have two recognised qualifications: your journeyman’s certificate and a Bachelor of Engineering degree.

Why choose us

In Germany, our dual Bachelor programme is still unique. We collaborate closely with the Bundesfachschule für Orthopädie-Technik. In this way, we can offer you a multifaceted degree course. By combining an academic degree programme with training for a skilled trade, you will reduce your period of training and have good prospects in the job market.

EN

Technische Orthopädie (dualer Studiengang) (Bachelor)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradBachelor of Engineering (B.Eng.)
FachbereichPhysikingenieurwesen
StudienortSteinfurt
Studienformduales Studium, ausbildungsintegriert
StudienbeginnWintersemester
Regelstudienzeit8 Semester
Semesterbeitrag293,44 € (Wintersemester 2019/20)

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Nein
VorpraktikumNein
Weitere Zugangsvoraussetzungen

Für die Zulassung zum Studiengang benötigen Sie einen Ausbildungsplatz im Bereich der Orthopädie-Technik oder der Orthopädie-Schuhtechnik. Das bedeutet: Vor der Einschreibung für das Studium steht die Suche nach einem geeigneten Ausbildungsbetrieb. Sobald Sie einen Ausbildungsvertrag inklusive Rahmenvertrag über die Aufnahme eines dualen Studiums abgeschlossen haben, können Sie sich bei uns einschreiben.

Muster des Rahmenvertrags

Bewerbung zum StudiengangDie Bewerbungsfrist
endet am 15.08.2019.

Zur Online-Bewerbung

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Orthopädietechniker und Orthopädieschuhtechniker sorgen dafür, dass Menschen trotz körperlicher Einschränkungen ein normales Leben führen können. Moderne Mess- und Fertigungsverfahren sowie neue Materialien haben das Berufsbild in den letzten Jahren verändert. Unser Studiengang verbindet die Ausbildung zum Orthopädie(schuh)techniker mit einem ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Hochschulstudium und bereitet Sie optimal auf die neuen und zukünftigen Anforderungen vor.

Ziele

Unser Bachelorstudiengang legt den Fokus auf eine fundierte ingenieurwissenschaft­liche Ausbildung, ist dabei aber durch Kooperationen mit der Industrie, dem Handwerk und der Klinik eng mit der Praxis verzahnt. Unsere an den Anforderungen Ihrer späteren beruflichen Praxis orientierten Studienmodule ver­mitteln Ihnen zudem die notwendigen biomechanischen, medizinisch-klinischen und wissenschaftlich-methodischen Kompetenzen.

Berufsfelder

Unser dualer Studiengang kombiniert Theorie und Praxis der Technischen Orthopädie und ist damit eine Ausbildung am Puls der Zeit. Dank der erworbenen Kompetenzen können Sie mit den rasanten Entwicklungen der Branche Schritt halten. Das macht Sie für handwerkliche wie industrielle Arbeitgeber interessant und bietet Ihnen vielfältige berufliche Perspektiven: Viele unserer Studierenden werden nach Abschluss des Studiums durch den Ausbildungsbetrieb übernommen, andere starten eine Karriere in der industriellen Produktentwicklung. Wieder andere forschen in Instituten und Laboren zu neuen Versorgungskonzepten im biomechanischen und klinischen Bereich. Auch das Produktmanagement, der Vertrieb oder die Produktzulassung sind mögliche Berufsfelder. Nicht zuletzt eröffnet der Bachelorabschluss Ihnen den Zugang zu diversen Masterstudiengängen, zum Beispiel in der Rehabilitationstechnik, der Medizintechnik oder den Bewegungswissenschaften.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Während der ersten beiden Semester arbeiten Sie an vier Tagen der Woche im ausbildenden Betrieb und besuchen an einem Tag das Berufskolleg. Zusätzlich können Sie in dieser Zeit freiwillig ausgewählte Blockveranstaltungen an unserem Fachbereich belegen, zum Beispiel in der Konstruktions- oder Werkstofftechnik.

Ab dem dritten Semester besuchen Sie die Veranstaltungen der FH Münster. Zu Beginn stehen Module zu den natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Grundlagen auf dem Lehrplan. Ab dem dritten Semester beginnt die Spezialisierungsphase, in der Sie die Grundlagen auf orthopädietechnische Fragestellungen anwenden und Ihre technischen Kompetenzen in Bereichen wie Messtechnik, Konstruktion und Rehabilitationstechnik oder klinische Biomechanik erweitern. Darüber hinaus erwerben Sie in dieser Phase Grundlagenwissen in der Betriebswirtschaftslehre und dem Medizinproduktrecht.

In der vorlesungsfreien Zeit arbeiten Sie weiter in Ihrem Ausbildungsbetrieb und können in der Regel ab dem sechsten Semester ihre Gesellenprüfung ablegen.

Im achten Semester schreiben Sie dann Ihre Bachelorarbeit. Bei der Variante "PraxisPlus" absolvieren Sie vor der Bachelorarbeit ein zusätzliches Praxissemester, in dem Sie Ihre handwerklichen Fähigkeiten gezielt vertiefen oder verschiedene Aspekte der zukünftigen Berufspraxis kennenlernen.

Das spricht für uns

Unser Studiengang ist in Deutschland einzigartig. Wir arbeiten eng mit dem Universitätsklinikum Münster sowie der Orthopädie-Schuh-Technik Möller zusammen.

Studienverlaufsplan

Studienverlaufsplan



Um unsere Webseite für Sie optimal zu gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Weitere Informationen und die Möglichkeit zum Widerruf finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.