Business Administration (Bachelor)

Brief overview

DegreeBachelor of Arts (B.A.)
DepartmentMünster School of Business
SiteMünster
IntakeWinter semester & summer semester
Standard period of study6 semesters
Semester fee€ 276,21 / semester

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions Local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementApplicants must complete a 12-week pre-study placement.
The placement must be completed by the beginning of the third semester and proof of completion must be presented to the Service Office for Students. (Certificate issued by the employer stating the tasks performed and the beginning and end of the work placement.)
ApplicationThe closing date for applications
is on 15.01.2018.

Apply online

Detailed description of the degree programme

As its name suggests, the Business Administration degree programme prepares you for the world of business. Your degree programme at Münster University of Applied Sciences will be completely tailored around the challenges you are likely to face in your future career. You will acquire business-relevant expertise such as accounting, purchasing, sales and consultancy, enabling you to assume responsibility in these important areas even at the beginning of your career. You will learn this knowledge in a way that you can actually apply to your future career.

Objectives

After completing your degree, you will be able to responsibly solve business-related issues both independently and in a team. To do so, you will effectively apply the knowledge and methods you have learned in various settings. You will have a broad base of knowledge in business management areas, including purchasing, production, sales, marketing, human resources, organisational structures, logistics, financial management, accounting and controlling as well as taxes and auditing. You will also have knowledge from other areas such as mathematics, statistics, business informatics and law. During your studies, you will have learned to represent your own position convincingly and to analyse and assess the arguments brought forward by others. You will be able to act in an entrepreneurial manner. This means developing your own sense of initiative, acting with foresight, and implementing innovations profitably. When it comes to achieving your goals, you will be prepared to take on limited risks and able to assess them realistically.

Occupational fields

Having graduated from our programme, various job opportunities in senior specialist positions will be available to you. You will be able to work in industry, in trade, in service enterprises or administration, for example in one of the following areas:

  • Sales and marketing
  • Purchasing
  • Production
  • Organisation and information technology
  • Accounting and controlling
  • Consulting
  • Human resource management

Your Bachelor’s degree will also offer you the opportunity to pursue a postgraduate Master’s programme in a business-related subject area – whether you choose a full-time course immediately after, or a part-time course later, is up to you. We offer Master’s programmes in the following areas:

  • Logistics
  • Accounting & Finance
  • International Marketing & Sales
  • International Supply Chain Management
  • Auditing, Finance and Taxation

Content and course sequence

Our Bachelor programme is of a general nature. This means that after completing your degree, you will have a broad base of skills, enabling you to work in many economic sectors. Even after the first few semesters, you will understand, for example, how finance, taxes and business law are connected, and which management processes are necessary for business survival.

The advanced stage begins in the third semester. During this stage, you will learn, for example, how to lead a company successfully, how to ensure problem-free production based on good logistics, or how to keep down costs with sound financial planning. You will have the opportunity to apply your knowledge in simulations.

In the expansion stage (semesters five and six) you will choose your specialisation from around 20 modules. In the Business Administration with Practical Semester variant, you will use the fifth semester to gain extensive practical experience in a company.

Why choose us

  • Our teaching is practice-oriented: Your professors have a background in business practice, and have many years of professional experience working in a variety of fields. This means that they understand the economy and know what is important in the world of work. Our numerous contacts with companies will ease your transition from higher education to employment considerably. Practical projects and semesters will help you build up a professional network even while studying. In addition, more than 9,000 graduates and around 5,000 active alumni will offer you many points of connection and support.
  • The programme is international: In this age of globalisation, your training must be international as well. Our numerous links to international universities, for example, offer you many opportunities to spend a semester abroad.
  • We teach sustainable thinking: At Münster University of Applied Sciences, we believe companies must be firmly anchored within society and should serve its interests. This is reflected in our efforts to raise your awareness of this topic. For this reason, debates and events about issues from business ethics and sustainability are an integral part of the degree programme.
  • You will acquire key transferable skills: Communication, moderation and presentation skills are essential for your future success. We rely on new techniques of teaching and encourage you to acquire a great deal of abilities working both independently and as part of a team with other students.
  • We are building quality: The teaching and research work of our department is based around this principle, and endorsed by our excellent position in national university rankings.

Betriebswirtschaft (Bachelor)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradBachelor of Arts (B.A.)
FachbereichWirtschaft
StudienortMünster
StudienbeginnWintersemester & Sommersemester
Regelstudienzeit6 Semester (7 mit Praxissemester)
Semesterbeitrag276,21 € (Sommersemester 2018)

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Ja
VorpraktikumEs ist ein Vorpraktikum von 12 Wochen notwendig.
Das Praktikum ist bis zu Beginn des 3. Semesters zu absolvieren und im Service Office für Studierende nachzuweisen. (Bescheinigung des Arbeitsgebers mit Angabe der ausgeübten Tätigkeiten und des genauen Anfangs- und Enddatums).
Bewerbung zum StudiengangDie Bewerbungsfrist
endet am 15.01.2018.

Zur Online-Bewerbung

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Der Begriff Betriebswirtschaftslehre sagt bereits aus, worauf Ihr Studium Sie vorbereitet: auf den Betrieb. Das Studium an der FH Münster ist voll und ganz auf Ihre zukünftigen Aufgaben im Job zugeschnitten. Sie erwerben Know-how in betriebsrelevanten Bereichen, wie dem Rechnungswesen, Einkauf, Vertrieb oder der Beratung. So sind Sie schon beim Berufseinstieg in der Lage auf diesen wichtigen Gebieten Verantwortung zu übernehmen. Das Wissen vermitteln wir Ihnen praxisnah und anwendungsorientiert.

Ziele

Nach Abschluss Ihres Studiums können Sie betriebswirtschaftliche Problemstellungen eigenständig und im Team verantwortungsvoll lösen. Dabei wenden Sie Ihr Fachwissen und die erlernten Methoden effektiv an. Sie haben breite Kenntnisse in den betriebswirtschaftlichen Bereichen Einkauf, Produktion, Vertrieb, Marketing Personal, Organisation, Logistik, Finanzwirtschaft, Rechnungswesen und Controlling sowie Steuern und Wirtschaftsprüfung. Darüber hinaus verfügen Sie auch über Wissen an den Schnittstellen zu anderen Gebieten wie Mathematik und Statistik, der Wirtschaftsinformatik und zum Recht. Im Studium haben Sie gelernt, Ihre eigenen Positionen überzeugend zu vertreten, die Argumentationen anderer zu prüfen und einzuschätzen. Sie sind in der Lage unternehmerisch zu handeln. Das heißt: Sie entwickeln Eigeninitiative, werden vorausschauend aktiv und setzen Innovationen gewinnbringend um. Wenn es darum geht, gesteckte Ziele zu erreichen, sind Sie bereit, begrenzte Risiken zu tragen und können diese realistisch einschätzen.

Berufsfelder

Als Absolvent unseres Studiengangs bieten sich Ihnen vielfältige Einsatzmöglichkeiten in gehobenen Fachpositionen. Sie können in der Industrie, im Handel, in Dienstleistungsunternehmen oder Verwaltungen arbeiten, zum Beispiel in einem der folgenden Bereiche:

  • Vertrieb / Marketing
  • Einkauf
  • Produktion
  • Organisation / Informationstechnologie
  • Rechnungswesen / Controlling
  • Beratung
  • Personalwesen

Ihr Bachelorabschluss eröffnet Ihnen zudem die Möglichkeit, einen weiterführenden Masterstudiengang in einem betriebswirtschaftlichen Fachgebiet anzuschließen – ob direkt in Vollzeit oder später berufsbegleitend bleibt Ihnen überlassen. Wir bieten Masterstudiengänge in verschiedenen Bereichen an:

  • Logistik
  • Accounting & Finance
  • International Marketing & Sales
  • International Supply Chain Management
  • Auditing, Finance and Taxation

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Unser Bachelorstudiengang ist generalistisch aufgebaut. Somit sind Sie nach Ihrem Studium breit aufgestellt und können in vielen Wirtschaftsbereichen tätig werden. Bereits nach den ersten Semestern wissen Sie zum Beispiel, wie Finanzen, Steuern und Wirtschaftsrecht zusammenhängen und welche Managementprozesse nötig sind, um erfolgreich am Markt zu bestehen.

Ab dem dritten Semester beginnt die Aufbaustufe. Nun lernen Sie unter anderem, wie man erfolgreich ein Unternehmen führt, mit einer guten Logistik für eine reibungslose Produktion sorgt oder mit fundierten Finanzplanungen die Kosten niedrig hält. In Planspielen können Sie Ihre Kenntnisse direkt anwenden.

In der Erweiterungsstufe (Semester fünf und sechs) wählen Sie dann aus etwa 20 Modulen Ihr Spezialisierungsgebiet. In der Studiengangsvariante „Betriebswirtschaft mit Praxissemester“ nutzen Sie das fünfte Semester, um umfangreiche praktische Erfahrungen im Unternehmen zu sammeln.

Das spricht für uns

  • Unsere Lehre ist praxisnah: Ihre Professoren kommen aus der Praxis und verfügen über mehrere Jahre Berufserfahrung in verschiedenen Branchen. Das bedeutet: Sie kennen die Wirtschaft und wissen, worauf es in der Arbeitswelt ankommt. Unsere zahlreichen Unternehmenskontakte erleichtern Ihnen den Übergang vom Studium in den Job erheblich. In Praxisprojekten und -semestern können Sie schon während des Studiums ein berufliches Netzwerk aufbauen. Zudem bieten Ihnen unsere mehr als 9.000 Absolventen und rund 5.000 aktiven Alumni viele Anknüpfungspunkte und Hilfestellungen.
  • Das Studium ist international: In Zeiten der Globalisierung möchten wir Sie unterstützen, Ihre Ausbildung international zu gestalten. Unsere zahlreichen Kooperationen mit ausländischen Hochschulen bieten Ihnen zum Beispiel Möglichkeiten für ein Auslandssemester.
  • Wir schulen nachhaltiges Denken: Unternehmen sind mit der Gesellschaft verankert und sollten dieser dienen: Davon sind wir an der FH Münster überzeugt und möchten auch Sie im Studium für dieses Thema sensibilisieren. Daher sind Diskussionen und Veranstaltungen zu Fragestellungen aus den Bereichen Wirtschaftsethik und Nachhaltigkeit fest im Studienverlauf verankert.
  • Sie erwerben Schlüsselqualifikationen: Kommunikations-, Moderations- und Präsentationskompetenz sind unabdinglich für Ihren späteren Erfolg. Wir setzen auf neue Formen der Lehre und aktivieren Sie während des Studiums, sich diese Fähigkeiten in der Teamarbeit mit anderen Studierenden eigenständig anzueignen.
  • Wir bilden Qualität: Diesen Grundsatz lebt unser Fachbereich in der täglichen Lehre und Forschung. Das zeigen auch die sehr guten Platzierungen, die wir in bundesweiten Rankings belegen.

Studienverlaufsplan