Biomedical Engineering (Master)

Brief overview

DegreeMaster of Science (M. Sc.)
DepartmentDepartment of Engineering Physics
SiteSteinfurt
Special type of studyfull-time
IntakeWinter semester & summer semester
Standard period of study4 semesters
Semester fee€ 276,21 / semester

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions No local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementNo
Additional entrance requirements

First professional degree:

The admission requirement is a relevant undergraduate degree in an engineering or science subject with an overall grade of ‘good’ (2.5) or better. In exceptional cases, you can also prove your eligibility by demonstrating that you have accomplished particularly qualifying tasks in your professional activities after completing your undergraduate degree; that you performed with particular proficiency in the second half of your undergraduate degree; or that your outstanding final thesis had a particular relevance to biomedical engineering. Applicants who have completed an undergraduate degree in engineering or science that is of no relevance to biomedical engineering may be admitted in exceptional cases. The Examination Committee will decide whether or not you qualify for the programme.

ApplicationThe closing date for applications
is on 28.02.2018.

Apply online

Detailed description of the degree programme

Biomedical engineering enables failed organs to function properly again. We can use biomedical engineering to measure optimum doses of medication, or to produce insulin by genetic engineering. Its use also enhances patient safety while they are being cared for. Intense research produces insights that save lives – for example, biomedical engineering makes early diagnosis and many subsequent treatments possible in the first place.

Objectives

In a targeted and practice-oriented manner, our Master’s programme will qualify you to carry out research and development in medical engineering and the life sciences. After completing this programme, you will have the ideal profile for undertaking activities in the medical engineering and biotechnological industry.

Occupational fields

With a Master’s in Biomedical Engineering, you will have outstanding job prospects in the biotechnology industry, in medical engineering companies and in the biopharmaceutical industry, as well as in hospitals. Alternatively, your degree will entitle you to pursue a doctorate.

Content and course sequence

The degree programme consists of a compulsory area and core elective courses. This mix will enable you to acquire not only basic knowledge, but also specialist knowledge according to your interests and strengths.

From the compulsory area, you will gain key knowledge in the following areas:

  •     Biomedical imaging and image processing
  •     Biomedical sensors or measurement engineering
  •     Diagnostics and therapy
  •     Life science statistics
  •     and other special fields in medical engineering

You will be able to choose your core elective courses from the catalogue of modules: perhaps you are interested in topics involving biomedical engineering, for example. In our programme, you will learn the latest clinical laboratory methods – even developing genetic engineering diagnostics and therapeutics. Are you more into medical engineering? Then you will simply concentrate on the many subjects offered in this field, such as Current Methods of Therapy and Diagnosis, Biosignal Processing, Ergonomics, and Development Systematics.

In the second half of the programme, you will put theory into practice, spending a semester independently implementing your own research project. You will decide whether you want to undertake your project in one of our labs, at an external research institute, at the University Hospital Münster or in industry. The same applies to your Master’s thesis. One exciting option could be to combine your research project and Master’s thesis with a period abroad.

Why choose us

  • Modern equipment: We have state-of-the-art labs with equipment that meets high demands: extensive measurement and microscopy equipment as well as a robot screening system will give you the chance to professionally hone your scientific expertise. A fully equipped operating theatre with a heart-lung machine and an intensive care room provide a realistic setting for your research project and the practical side of your studies.
  • Research performance: The Department of Engineering Physics is actively involved in research. This will give you the chance to collaborate in challenging scientific projects – many of which in cooperation with partners from industry and business. Our campus also has several research institutions of its own, such as the Laser Center, the EUREGIO Biotech Center and the Centre for Medical Engineering and Ergonomics.

Biomedizinische Technik (Master)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradMaster of Science (M. Sc.)
FachbereichPhysikalische Technik
StudienortSteinfurt
StudienformVollzeitstudium
StudienbeginnWintersemester & Sommersemester
Regelstudienzeit4 Semester
Semesterbeitrag276,21 € (Sommersemester 2018)

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Nein
VorpraktikumNein
Weitere Zugangsvoraussetzungen

Erster Hochschulabschluss:
Zulassungsvoraussetzung ist ein einschlägiger Hochschulabschluss auf dem Gebiet der Ingenieur- oder Naturwissenschaften mit einer Gesamtnote von mindestens "gut" (2,5). Der Nachweis kann ausnahmsweise auch erbracht werden durch besonders qualifizierte Leistungen in der beruflichen Tätigkeit nach dem Hochschulabschluss, besonders qualifizierte Leistungen in der zweiten Hälfte des ersten Hochschulstudiums oder eine besonders biomedizintechnik-relevante und qualifizierte Abschlussarbeit. Absolventen eines nicht einschlägigen ersten ingenieur- oder naturwissenschaftlichen Hochschulstudiums können ausnahmsweise zugelassen werden. Die erforderlichen Feststellungen trifft der Prüfungsausschuss.

Bewerbung zum StudiengangDie Bewerbungsfrist
endet am 28.02.2018.

Zur Online-Bewerbung

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Biomedizinische Technik macht ausgefallene Organe wieder funktionsfähig. Mit ihrer Hilfe können wir Medikamente optimal dosieren und Insulin gentechnisch produzieren. Ihr Einsatz verbessert die Sicherheit der Patienten während ihrer Versorgung. Die intensive Forschung liefert Erkenntnisse, die Leben retten – zum Beispiel macht die Biomedizinischen Technik frühzeitige Diagnostik und viele der daran anschließenden Therapien überhaupt erst möglich.

Ziele

Unser Masterstudiengang qualifiziert Sie gezielt und praxisnah für den Forschungs- und Entwicklungsbereich in der Medizintechnik sowie den Life-Sciences. Nach dem Studienabschluss verfügen Sie über das optimale Profil, um Aufgaben in der medizintechnischen und biotechnologischen Industrie zu übernehmen.

Berufsfelder

Ihr Master in Biomedizinischer Technik bietet hervorragende Berufsaussichten in der Biotechnologiebranche, in medizintechnischen Unternehmen, in der biopharmazeutischen Industrie bis hin zum Einsatz im Krankenhaus. Alternativ eröffnet Ihnen der Abschluss auch die Möglichkeit, zu promovieren.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Der Studiengang setzt sich aus einem Pflichtbereich und einem Wahlpflichtbereich zusammen. Auf diese Art und Weise können Sie sich neben dem Basiswissen auch spezielle Fachkenntnisse aneignen, die Ihren Interessen und Neigungen entsprechen.

Im Pflichtbereich erwerben Sie zentrale Kenntnisse in den Bereichen:

  • Biomedizinische Bildgebung und Bildverarbeitung
  • Biomedizinische Sensorik oder Messtechnik
  • Diagnostik und Therapie
  • Biowissenschaftliche Statistik
  • und weiteren Spezialgebieten der Medizintechnik

Im Wahlpflichtbereich stellen Sie sich Ihren Lehrkatalog individuell zusammen: Interessieren Sie sich zum Beispiel für Themen der Medizinischen Biotechnologie? Bei uns erlernen Sie aktuellste labormedizinische Methoden – bis hin zur Entwicklung gentechnischer Diagnostika und Therapeutika. Ihr Thema ist eher die Medizintechnik? Dann konzentrieren Sie sich einfach auf Fächer wie „Aktuelle Therapie- und Diagnoseverfahren“, „Biosignalverarbeitung“, „Ergonomie“ und „Entwicklungssystematiken“ und vieles mehr.

In der zweiten Hälfte Ihres Studiums wenden Sie Ihr Wissen praktisch an. Ein Semester lang führen Sie eigenständig ein Forschungsprojekt durch. Ob Sie das Projekt in einem unserer Labore, einem externen Forschungsinstitut, am Universitätsklinikum oder in der Industrie durchführen, bleibt Ihnen überlassen. Dasselbe gilt für Ihre Masterarbeit. Eine spannende Option kann hier auch sein, Forschungsprojekt und Masterthesis mit einem Auslandsaufenthalt zu verbinden.

Das spricht für uns

  • Moderne Ausstattung: Wir verfügen über modernste Labore, deren Ausstattung hohen Ansprüchen genügt: Umfangreiche Mess- und Mikroskopietechnik und ein Roboter-Screening-System ermöglichen Ihnen, Ihr wissenschaftliches Know-how professionell anzuwenden. Ein komplett ausgerüsteter Operationssaal mit Herz-Lungenmaschine sowie ein Intensivstationszimmer bieten Ihnen eine realistische Umgebung für Ihr Forschungsprojekt und Ihr praktisches Studium.
  • Forschungsstärke: Unser Fachbereich ist sehr aktiv in der Forschung. Das bietet Ihnen die Gelegenheit, in anspruchsvollen, wissenschaftlichen Projekten mitzuarbeiten – viele davon sind Kooperationen mit Partnern aus Industrie und Wirtschaft. Mit dem „Laserzentrum“, dem „EUREGIO Biotech-Center“ sowie dem „Zentrum für Medizintechnik und Ergonomie“ beheimatet unser Campus zudem eigene Forschungseinrichtungen.