Education of Health Professionals in Nursing (Master)

Brief overview

DegreeMaster of Arts (M.A.)
DepartmentMünster School of Health
SiteMünster
Special type of studyfull-time
IntakeWinter semester
Standard period of study4 semesters
Semester fee€ 276,21 / semester

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions Local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementNo
Additional entrance requirements

First professional degree:
Bachelor or Diplom degree in Nursing Education or related areas with an overall grade of 2.5 or better.

Master’s programmes for Education of Health Professionals start in the winter semester. The closing date for applications is 15 July. If you are unable to present documentary evidence of your Bachelor’s degree by then, you may submit a transcript plus a statement of your average grade. Information about deadlines and the minimum required achievements can be found on our website, together with the current cut-off date, by which time you must have presented proof of your Bachelor’s degree.


Occupation:
Initial vocational training in health and nursing care, paediatric health and nursing care, midwifery or elderly care.
ApplicationThe next application phase
commences in Mai 2018.

Detailed description of the degree programme

Health care professions are becoming increasingly demanding. Nursing staff face ever-growing challenges due to difficult conditions in practice, a changing nursing environment and changes in the health system. Consequently, the importance of training and continuing education for health professionals in nursing is also growing – and with it, the need for qualified teachers of nursing. Our Master’s programme in the Education of Health Professionals in Nursing will prepare you optimally for this work in vocational education.

Objectives

Münster School of Health’s Master’s programme in the Education of Health Professionals in Nursing provides the academic training required for this task. You will be able to teach nursing staff the technical and personal skills they require for the complex scope of duties involved in professional nursing. In addition, the Master’s degree will enable you to gain further academic qualifications in scientific research areas in the national and international educational area.

Occupational fields

With this Master’s degree, a wide range of career opportunities will be open to you. You will be able to teach – as a teacher of nursing in hospitals and communities, and at technical schools, nursing schools and other educational institutions involved in training and continuing education in the health system. You will also be qualified to perform the core activities of school development or quality assurance. In addition, the Master’s degree will enable you to pursue further academic qualifications in scientific research.

Content and course sequence

Our Master’s programme, lasting four semesters, combines nursing education expertise with imparting the competences required to teach nursing. In the process, teaching is clearly oriented to practical tasks.

Three thematic blocks structure the study programme in the first three semesters:

In Nursing and Health Sciences, you will expand the knowledge gained in your Bachelor programme, consolidating the expertise acquired there. Examples of modules include: Theoretical and Clinical Perspectives of Nursing; Ethics; Dealing with the Mentally Ill; Caring for Families; Foundations of Medicine; and Public Health.

The second thematic block addresses the production of scientific work. In modules such as Epistemology and Qualitative and Quantitative Data Analysis, you will learn the basics of research methodology and practise using scientific instruments.

The Education Science thematic block deals mainly with the central areas of activity in teaching nursing, such as curriculum development and conceptions of teaching and learning arrangements. In addition, there are courses on fields of research from education science and vocational education, as well as modules on education law and research in education. A three-month practical stage in Teaching and Delivery ensures that the course content is linked to work experience.

You will write your Master’s thesis in the fourth semester, concluding your degree programme with a Master of Arts title.

Why choose us

What characterises our degree programme is that theory and practice are closely interlinked. Rather than conveying specialist knowledge devoid of context based on the logic of isolated scientific disciplines, we teach on a case-related basis and in an interdisciplinary manner. Thanks to the practical stage, the programme structure itself also enhances the connection to professional practice. In addition, we engage in constant exchange with various healthcare facilities on the latest topics and current needs.




Download Degree Programme Information:

Bildung im Gesundheitswesen - Berufliche Fachrichtung Pflege (Master)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradMaster of Arts (M.A.)
FachbereichGesundheit
StudienortMünster
StudienformVollzeitstudium
StudienbeginnWintersemester
Regelstudienzeit4 Semester
Semesterbeitrag276,21 € (Sommersemester 2018)

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Ja
VorpraktikumNein
Weitere Zugangsvoraussetzungen
Erster Hochschulabschluss:
Bachelor- oder Diplom-Abschluss mit einer pflegepädagogischen Ausrichtung oder verwandten Bereichen und Gesamtnote von mindestens 2,5.
Der Masterstudiengang Bildung im Gesundheitswesen beginnt im Wintersemester. Bewerbungsschluss ist der 15. Juli. Sollten Sie Ihren Bachelorabschluss bis dahin noch nicht nachweisen können, können Sie vorab einen Notenspiegel plus Angabe der Durchschnittsnote einreichen. Angaben zu entsprechenden Mindestleistungen und Fristen finden Sie auf unserer Internetseite, ebenso wie die aktuelle Ausschlussfrist, bis zu der Sie den Nachweis über den Bachelorabschluss nachgereicht haben müssen.

Berufstätigkeit:
Berufliche Erstausbildung in der Gesundheits- und (Kinder-) Krankenpflege, Entbindungspflege oder Altenpflege.
Bewerbung zum StudiengangDie nächste Bewerbungsphase
beginnt im Mai 2018.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Pflegeberufe werden zunehmend anspruchsvoller. Erschwerte Bedingungen in der Praxis, ein sich wandelndes Pflegeumfeld und Veränderungen im Gesundheitswesen stellen das Pflegepersonal vor immer größere Herausforderungen. Dementsprechend wächst die Bedeutung der Aus-, Fort- und Weiterbildung der Pflegefachkräfte – und damit der Bedarf an qualifizierten Pflegelehrenden. Unser Masterstudiengang Bildung im Gesundheitswesen - Fachrichtung Pflege bereitet Sie optimal auf diese berufspädagogische Arbeit vor.

Ziele

Mit dem Masterstudiengang Bildung im Gesundheitswesen - Fachrichtung Pflege, bietet der Fachbereich Gesundheit die für diese Aufgabe notwendige akademische Ausbildung. Sie sind in der Lage, dem Pflegepersonal die notwendigen fachlichen und persönlichen Kompetenzen für das komplexe Aufgabenfeld der professionellen Pflege zu vermitteln. Zudem eröffnet der Masterabschluss Perspektiven zur weiterführenden akademischen Qualifizierung für wissenschaftliche Forschungsfelder im nationalen und internationalen Bildungsraum.

Berufsfelder

Mit dem Masterabschluss stehen Ihnen vielfältige Tätigkeitsfelder offen. Sie können pädagogisch arbeiten – als Pflege-Lehrende in Kliniken, Gemeinden, an Fachschulen, Pflegeschulen und weiteren Bildungseinrichtungen in der Aus-, Fort- und Weiterbildung des Gesundheitswesens. Darüber hinaus werden Sie qualifiziert für Handlungsfelder der Schulentwicklung oder Qualitätssicherung. Der Masterabschluss eröffnet Ihnen zudem die Möglichkeit, sich in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung akademisch weiterzuqualifizieren.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Unser viersemestriger Masterstudiengang kombiniert pflegepädagogische Fachkompetenz mit pflegedidaktischer Handlungskompetenz, wobei die Lehre sich klar an den Aufgaben der Praxis orientiert.

Drei Themenblöcke strukturieren das Studium in den ersten drei Semestern:

Im Bereich „Pflege- und Gesundheitswissenschaften" vertiefen Sie Ihr Wissen aus dem Bachelorstudium und festigen die dort erworbenen Fachkompetenzen. Hierfür gibt es Module wie „Theoretische und klinische Perspektiven der Pflege“, „Ethik“, „Der Umgang mit psychisch Kranken“, „Die Betreuung von Familien“, „Medizinische Grundlagen“ oder „Public Health“.

Im zweiten Themenblock geht es um das wissenschaftliche Arbeiten an sich. In den Modulen „Wissenschaftstheorien“ und „Qualitative und quantitative Datenanalyse“ erlernen Sie forschungsmethodische Grundlagen und üben den Einsatz wissenschaftlicher Instrumente.

Der Themenblock „Bildungswissenschaften“ beschäftigt sich vorrangig mit den zentralen Handlungsfeldern der Pflegedidaktik, zum Beispiel der „Curriculumentwicklung“ oder der „Gestaltung von Lehr- und Lernarrangements“. Hinzu kommen Forschungsbereiche aus der Erziehungswissenschaft und der Berufspädagogik sowie Module zum Bildungsrecht und zur Bildungsforschung. Eine dreimonatige Praxisphase im Bereich „Lehre und Vermittlung“ verknüpft die Studieninhalte mit der Berufspraxis.

Im vierten Semester schreiben Sie Ihre Masterarbeit und schließen Ihr Studium mit dem Titel „Master of Arts“ ab.

Das spricht für uns

Was unseren Studiengang auszeichnet, ist die enge Verknüpfung von Theorie und Praxis. Wir vermitteln Fachwissen nicht isoliert aus der Logik der einzelnen Wissenschaftsdisziplinen heraus, sondern stets fallbezogen und interdisziplinär. Auch der Studienaufbau selbst fördert durch die Praxisphase den Bezug zur beruflichen Praxis. Außerdem stehen wir im ständigen Austausch mit verschiedenen Einrichtungen des Gesundheitswesens über aktuelle Themen und Anforderungen.




Studiengangsinformationen zum Download: