Accounting and Finance (Master)

Brief overview

DegreeMaster of Arts (M.A.)
DepartmentMünster School of Business
SiteMünster
Special type of studyfull-time
IntakeWinter semester
Standard period of study4 semesters
Semester fee€ 264,94 / semester
CharacteristicsIntegrierte Auslandsphase: optional

Requirements and application

Admissions restrictions No local entrance restrictions
Pre-study placementNo
Additional entrance requirements

To find out which prerequisites for entry apply, please contact Münster School of Business directly or visit the Master’s programme in Accounting and Finance website at:

https://www.fh-muenster.de/master-accounting-finance/index.php

Aptitude test:
You must take a test to establish your aptitude for this degree programme. Please apply directly to Münster School of Business by 15 June.
ApplicationThe closing date for applications to take the aptitude test is 15 June. Please apply online to Münster School of Business (see above for the link). Once you have passed the aptitude test, apply online to enrol at Münster University of Applied Sciences by 15 August.

Detailed description of the degree programme

Expert knowledge is required in order to run a company successfully: only then can the complex tasks and processes involved be managed reliably. The core areas here are accounting and finance. These areas ensure that the driving force of a company functions smoothly and reliably, powering business successfully. In our Master’s programme in Accounting and Finance, you will learn the skills required for this – in an integrated, substantive and academic manner. This degree programme is designed for business graduates aiming for a specialist and/or management position in a commercial division of a medium-sized to large enterprise.

Objectives

During the programme, you will deepen and enhance your knowledge of accounting, controlling and finance. The knowledge you acquire will be interlinked; you will apply it to typical business practice issues. After obtaining your degree, you will possess specialised technical expertise in the core areas of invoicing, investment and finance (corporate finance) and controlling/risk management. You will also have sound knowledge of relevant related disciplines such as law, taxation, quantitative research methods and corporate communication. You will be able to recognise interdependencies between operational subdivisions and to develop comprehensive solutions – including for challenging intercultural management situations. You will present your findings confidently, in both German and English.

Occupational fields

You will be qualified to take on a commercial management position in a small or medium-sized enterprise or to seek an executive position in an international corporation. Your skills will make you the ideal person to fill specialist positions in controlling or accounting and finance, for example in:

- Nationally and internationally operating companies,
- Audit firms,
- Consulting firms,
- Financial and investment consulting divisions in banks.

Content and course sequence

Our degree programme is divided into three main areas of teaching. During the first two semesters, you will focus on expanding and deepening your technical, social and communication skills. Among other things, you will take modules from the General Management core elective courses. This will be followed in the third semester by specialist courses on topics such as accounting, controlling, corporate finance and corporate taxation. You will also learn mathematical methods and techniques. In core elective courses, on the other hand, you will acquire the interdisciplinary skills required to successfully manage businesses: seminars typically address leadership skills, languages, intercultural management and soft skills. We also offer courses on strategic investment management, merger and acquisition transactions, risk management, and corporate communication, enabling you to gain additional qualifications in important key areas.

In the fourth semester, you will put your theoretical knowledge into practice in a project and write your Master’s thesis.

Why choose us

  • Practical orientation

Münster School of Business has excellent contacts with renowned companies. The teaching staff have backgrounds in business practice, and have many years of professional experience.

  • International outlook

Depending on the optional modules you take, between 10 and 20% of classes are delivered in English. You will also have the chance to spend your second semester abroad, without delaying your graduation date.

  • Sustainability

At Münster University of Applied Sciences, we believe companies must be firmly anchored within society and should serve its interests. This is reflected in our efforts to raise your awareness of this topic. For this reason, debates and courses about topics such as business ethics, sustainability and the stakeholder value approach are an integral part of the degree programme.

Accounting and Finance (Master)

Kurzübersicht

AbschlussgradMaster of Arts (M.A.)
FachbereichWirtschaft
StudienortMünster
StudienformVollzeitstudium
StudienbeginnWintersemester
Regelstudienzeit4 Semester
Semesterbeitrag276,21 € (Sommersemester 2018)
BesonderheitenIntegrierte Auslandsphase: optional

Voraussetzungen und Bewerbung

NC Nein
VorpraktikumNein
Weitere Zugangsvoraussetzungen

Bitte wenden Sie sich wegen der Studienvoraussetzungen direkt an den Fachbereich oder besuchen Sie die Homepage des Master-Studiengangs Accounting and Finance unter folgender Adresse:

https://www.fh-muenster.de/master-accounting-finance/index.php

 

Eignungsprüfung:
Es ist eine Prüfung zur Feststellung der Studiengangsbezogenen Eignung abzulegen. Die Bewerbung muss bis zum 15.06. direkt im Fachbereich erfolgen.
Bewerbung zum StudiengangDer Bewerbungsschluss für die Prüfung zur Eignungsfeststellung ist der 15. Juni. Sie bewerben sich direkt im Fachbereich (Link siehe oben). Erst nach bestandener Eignungsprüfung können Sie Ihre Einschreibung bis zum 15.08. an der Fachhochschule Münster online beantragen.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang

Um ein Unternehmen erfolgreich zu managen, braucht es Expertenwissen: Nur so lassen sich die komplexen Aufgaben und Prozesse zuverlässig steuern. Kernbereiche sind hier das Rechnungs- und das Finanzwesen. Sie sorgen dafür, dass der Motor einer Unternehmung zuverlässig und reibungslos läuft und das Geschäft erfolgreich antreibt. Unser Masterstudiengang Accounting & Finance vermittelt Ihnen die dafür notwendigen Kompetenzen – gebündelt, fundiert, wissenschaftlich. Er richtet sich an Absolventen eines betriebswirtschaftlichen Studiengangs, die Fach- und/oder Führungspositionen in kaufmännischen Bereichen mittlerer bis großer Unternehmen anstreben.

Ziele

Im Studium vertiefen und erweitern Sie Ihre Kenntnisse in den Bereichen Rechnungswesen, Controlling und Finanzen. Ihr Wissen erwerben Sie vernetzt und wenden es auf typische Problemstellungen aus der Betriebspraxis an. Nach dem Studium verfügen Sie spezialisiertes Fachwissen in den Kernbereichen Rechnungslegung, Investition und Finanzierung (Corporate Finance) und Controlling/Risikomanagement. Darüber hinaus besitzen Sie fundierte Kenntnisse in angrenzenden, relevanten Disziplinen wie Recht, Steuern, Quantitative Forschungsmethoden und Unternehmenskommunikation. Sie erkennen Wirkungszusammenhänge zwischen betrieblichen Teilbereichen und sind in der Lage, ganzheitliche Lösungen zu entwickeln – auch für problematische interkulturelle Managementsituationen. Ihre Ergebnisse präsentieren Sie überzeugend, egal ob auf Deutsch oder Englisch.

Berufsfelder

Sie können eine kaufmännische Leitung im Mittelstand übernehmen oder Führungspositionen in internationalen Konzernen anstreben. Ihre Qualifikation macht Sie zur perfekten Besetzung für Fachpositionen im Controlling, Rechnungs- und Finanzwesen, zum Beispiel:

- in national und international tätigen Unternehmen,
- in Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaften,
- in Beratungsunternehmen,
- in der Finanz- und Vermögensberatung von Banken.

Inhalte und Studienverlauf

Unser Studiengang gliedert sich in drei große Lehrbereiche. Die ersten beiden Semester legen den Schwerpunkt auf die Erweiterung und Vertiefung Ihrer fachlichen, kommunikativen und sozialen Kompetenzen. Unter anderem belegen Sie hier Module aus dem Wahlpflichtbereich „General Management“. Im dritten Semester folgen fachspezifische Veranstaltungen zu Themen wie Rechnungswesen, Controlling, Corporate Finance und Unternehmenssteuern. Hier lernen Sie auch mathematische Methoden und Verfahren. Im Wahlpflichtbereich hingegen erwerben Sie fachübergreifende Qualifikationen für ein erfolgreiches Management: Führungskompetenz, Sprachen, Interkulturelles Management oder Soft Skills sind typische Seminarinhalte. Lehrangebote zum strategischen Beteiligungsmanagement, zu Mergers & Acquisitions-Transaktionen, zum Risikomanagement oder zur Unternehmenskommunikation ermöglichen Ihnen zudem, sich in wichtigen Schlüsselbereichen zusätzlich zu qualifizieren.

Im vierten Semester wenden Sie Ihr theoretisches Wissen dann in einem Praxisprojekt an und schreiben Ihre Masterarbeit.

Das spricht für uns

  • Praxisorientierung

Unser Fachbereich unterhält beste Kontakte zu renommierten Unternehmen. Die Lehrenden stammen aus der Praxis und verfügen über mehrere Jahre Berufserfahrung.

  • Internationalität

Der Anteil englischsprachiger Veranstaltungen beträgt je nach belegtem Wahlmodul zehn bis zwanzig Prozent. Zudem haben Sie im zweiten Semester die Möglichkeit ohne Zeitverlust ein Auslandssemester zu absolvieren.

  • Nachhaltigkeit

Unternehmen sind mit der Gesellschaft verankert und müssen dieser dienen – daran glauben wir und es ist uns wichtig, Sie für diesen Sachverhalt zu sensibilisieren. Diskussionen und Veranstaltungen zu Themen wie Wirtschaftsethik, Nachhaltigkeit oder dem Stakeholder-Value-Ansatz sind daher fest im Studienverlauf verankert.